PDA

View Full Version : G752VY RH71 Black Screen after Asus logo



neverborn
10-03-2017, 03:03 AM
Hey all, been lurking here for a while.

So my sister uses the ROG (120GB SSD, 1TB HDD) for freelance work, but I'm the designated repair man. The laptop (huuuge!) doesn't want to boot to Windows. She says she used it normally a few days ago, shut it down, then this. Thinks some updates may have been installed, but not sure which ones and what kind.

I tried booting up from a Win10 CD and, here are some notes
1. X: = command line sees the Windows partition (I assume this is the SSD)
2. C: = Primary partition where her files are at. She says in Windows, this is really D:, and not C:
3. D: = CD drive

I've tried
-fixing boot partition, but no matter what the CLI wont see the Windows installation (no of installations found: 0)
-tried restoring (both options) but it says this drive is locked
-gone into BIOS (currently 206) where I've disabled Secure boot, disabled Wake on Lid open, enabled CSM
-FN+F7 to toggle screen off and on
-running a command (https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/85195-check-if-windows-10-using-uefi-legacy-bios.html) to check and turns out its running Legacy BIOS mode, instead of UEFI
-no joy

SATA section says configuration is RAID (no AHCI option). However both drives (SSD and HDD) are showing as non-raid disks.

I'm familiar with fixing bad boot partitions, but hybrids like this (SSD and HDD) are new to me. I was going to update the bios to version 213 (read about 303 causing a boot loop) hoping that AHCI would fix the issue, but I thought I'd check in in here first. I've been back-reading a lot but could've missed something.

Many thanks!

ForgeOfGods-G752VS
10-03-2017, 11:30 AM
It can be becouse of intel rapid storage. If you set in bios drive mode ACHI or ATA and then install IRST driver u wont be able to boot it again. Try set disk drive mode to IRST if avaiable and reinstall widows then.

neverborn
10-04-2017, 02:21 AM
Thanks for your reply!

However, I'm not trying to re-install Windows (well, I will as a last resort); right now I just want to boot to the current installation. Also, as I mentioned I'm not able to select AHCI since that option isn't available in BIOS version 206.

neverborn
10-09-2017, 02:41 AM
Basically I'm now trying to decide whether

1. re-install Windows - I'm hoping the SSD gets detected on setup, if I'm able to locate the iRST drivers. I also might have to pay for Windows again since I'm not able to acquire the exact version currently installed, nor its key

or

2. flash a newer bios (206 to 213) - simple, but risky



Help!

Clintlgm
10-09-2017, 03:01 AM
Well I would advise installing BIOS 303 for a start.
You can download a Windows Install media from MSMCT (https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10) and then boot it up UEFI, then run a repair install (https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/16397-repair-install-windows-10-place-upgrade.html). Sounds like your having a driver issue that is preventing you from loading windows.
Once you get back in check all your hardware drivers against the ones you have in your eSupport folder, or just install them and update as needed from Asus support Downloads. (https://www.asus.com/us/support/)

Then turn off Driver updates from WU (https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/48277-enable-disable-driver-updates-windows-update-windows-10-a.html) then keep them update manually from Asus or from the manufactor web site. Windows default hardware drivers don't work that well on these notebooks.

neverborn
10-09-2017, 01:36 PM
I'm going to try that tonight - at least the BIOS upgrade part.
After which, should I switch to AHCI? I didn't get a chance to play with the laptop when we first got it so I don't know the default setting.

I'm trying to avoid a clean install since that's likely to require a new key - since I'm unable to boot to Windows I can't list down the existing one.

Also, that page about the in-place upgrade says:
1. only be able to do a repair install of Windows 10 from within Windows 10

2. installation media (ex: ISO or USB) must be the same edition and same or newer build as your currently installed Windows 10
[I do not know the exact edition]

Clintlgm
10-09-2017, 01:43 PM
As far as I know the G752 come set up to run on the RST drive RAID would be the correct setting. if you switch to AHCI you'll have to reinstall in that mode. There is a work around using Macrium Reflect you'll have to search up that old thread I think maybe it was Justinthyme search his thread from a year or so back when they first came out with BIOS that had a the setting to switch to AHCI.

neverborn
10-09-2017, 02:52 PM
Updates:

1. BIOS flash to 303 was uneventful
2. Asus logo a bit spruced up, showed twice and got stuck again
3. restarted, went into BIOS and disabled Secure Boot, enabled CSM etc
4. Tried to boot, got into System Recovery etc. Tried a Startup Repair, which said "system could not be repaired, see logs ie SrtTrail.txt"
5. SrtTrail.txt says
number of repair attempts 1
number of root causes 1
..lots of checks "Completed Successfully. Error code = 0x0"
at the end:

Boot status indicates that the OS booted successfully (obviously it didn't)

6. restarted - Asus logo came up twice, then stuck at black screen
7. went away for around 5 mins, then got back to a BSOD - Stop code: SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION

Clintlgm
10-09-2017, 06:57 PM
Yes CSM setting prevent the repair install, that is only selected if your running a 32 bit version in BIOS/MBR, your system is 64 bit, UEFI/GPT so the repair could not see your disk/SSD

I would back up that eSupport folder somehow as you can't replace it.

Maybe an RMA is your best route or if your within the return to Retailer return it and get another one. Asus Support (https://www.asus.com/support/Download-Center/)

I just reread your OP, you would need to boot the CD/DVD Install media UEFI most likely its booting MBR that's why it can't see you windows install.

You would do this, from an off notebook, press the on button and at the same time spam the Esc key, that will bring up a Boot menu from where you would select UEFI CD/DVD CD/DVD is a very slow unreliable install media, your much better off downloading this from MCT (https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10) and create a USB thumb drive to work with.

JustinThyme
10-09-2017, 07:05 PM
Are you on an M2 SSD?
If so CSM should be disabled. And leave the the PCH drive configuration on raid.
This is a bit of a misconception, it should be labeled raid on/off Default is raid and it doent have to have a raid array present.
If you are trying to do a repair from disk it wont see the drive unless you load the IRST driver at the F6 prompt.
Try doing a recover
spam F8 at startup to get to the repair partition if you haven't gone and deleted it.
Then just reset to factory state.

fankaisong
10-09-2017, 11:18 PM
I have the same issue, however, if I turn off my laptop after black screen and turn it back on, everything will be normal. I guess it just need a second start. it occurs randomly.

neverborn
10-11-2017, 05:55 AM
Hey, thanks for chiming in. I disabled CSM and was able to get to recovery.

I initiated the reset but got a low disk space warning, so i got into the command line and moved most of the stuff from SSD to HDD.
Reset (keeping files) went well after that!

So now I'm back in. Messed around with drivers a bit because touchpad wouldn't work at first (boo ATK and AsusGesture!), Disabled auto update from Windows and then immediately created a System Restore point. I don't want to go through all that again!

Best guess is a failed / corrupted Windows Update, possibly related to drivers. I'm trying to download updates now and having issues, but that's a different problem.

Again, thanks to everyone for your input! This forum rocks.


Are you on an M2 SSD?
If so CSM should be disabled. And leave the the PCH drive configuration on raid.
This is a bit of a misconception, it should be labeled raid on/off Default is raid and it doent have to have a raid array present.
If you are trying to do a repair from disk it wont see the drive unless you load the IRST driver at the F6 prompt.
Try doing a recover
spam F8 at startup to get to the repair partition if you haven't gone and deleted it.
Then just reset to factory state.