PDA

View Full Version : Memory QVL list?



Nerror
10-07-2017, 01:52 PM
Hi there, I am trying to find a memory QVL list for the Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC) I ordered. On the product page they direct me to asus.com, but I can't find any list there.

The RAM I am curently looking at is this: Corsair Vengeance LPX 2x16GB 4000Mhz (CMK32GX4M2F4000C19). It being a high-end Corsair kit I'd be surprised if it isn't on the QVL list, or at least compatible, but I would like to be completely sure because it's a bit pricey.

Addon question: I am going for the 8700K, delidded, thermal grizzly conductonaut, OC to 5Ghz thing, and I am wondering if there's a chance I'll actually be able to hit the 4000MHz on the RAM, or if I need to set my sights a bit lower. I understand the CPU is a factor as well, and setting the correct VCCIO and SA voltages and other settings manually, it's not just the motherboard.

Edit: Found it - https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/ROG-MAXIMUS-X-HERO-WI-FI-AC/HelpDesk_QVL/

Nate152
10-07-2017, 02:08 PM
Hi Nerror

Welcome to the ROG forum.

Yeah 4000MHz is hit or miss and you'll need a good cpu, I'd suggest going with 16GB as you'll have a much better chance of hitting 4000MHz, if it can't do it you can always run it at a lower speed.

If you want to play it safe and you're stuck on 32GB go with 3200MHz - 3400MHz.

Menthol
10-07-2017, 02:57 PM
I was able to download the QVL list from the support page, as Nate says the 16gb modules are tougher to run at high speeds than the 8GB modules, on the Hero a 4X8 GB kit would have a better chance running those speeds than a 2X16GB kit

67931

Nerror
10-07-2017, 08:43 PM
Thank you both :)

As usual it comes down to money vs speed I guess. 4x8 GB at 4000MHz is more expensive than 2x16, but has a better chance at higher speed. Or I could just go for one of the 3200MHz kits instead and not worry about overclocking it. I shall sleep on it! :p

Does the amount of modules, 2 vs 4, (let's say they all run at 3200 MHz) affect the possible max CPU overclock?

JustinThyme
10-07-2017, 09:30 PM
Keep in mind that speed isnt everything in throughput. Latency plays a part as well. Before buying check the QVL and compare slower sticks with lower latency.

Latency/speedx1000=commit time in milliseconds where less is more.

Chino also did a nice write up recently with a lot of effort and time spent on testing high speed memory. Thanks @Chino

His conclusion?
In the end its not worth the rediculous prices and you are better off going with something slower and budget by how much you need and not how fast.
I opted for 3800 Mhz corsair dominator in a new build even though it supports to 4200MHz. Why? My 8x8 64GB kit was right under $1000. 64GB 4200MHz kit is $300 more for the Gskill trident. They have a Corsair Vengeance 4200Mhz kit that is actually less but I steer clear of the vengeance modules as every one Ive tried ended up being sent back as they wouldn't even run at the default speeds of the mobo let alone the XMP profile.

Nerror
10-07-2017, 10:37 PM
Ah thank you for that :)

Good reads:
Article: https://rog.asus.com/articles/maximus-motherboards/testing-the-impact-of-ultra-high-speed-memory-on-x299-performance/
Forum thread: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?96258-Testing-The-Impact-Of-Ultra-High-Speed-Memory-On-X299-Performance

Nerror
10-08-2017, 11:13 AM
Oh, yeah, I found the product page and the QVL, but I had to use google to find it. Asus' own internal search doesn't show the Maximus X Hero on the site for me, nor is it listed in the dropdown menus. I'll update OP.

https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/ROG-MAXIMUS-X-HERO-WI-FI-AC/HelpDesk_QVL/

JustinThyme
10-14-2017, 11:19 AM
Oh, yeah, I found the product page and the QVL, but I had to use google to find it. Asus' own internal search doesn't show the Maximus X Hero on the site for me, nor is it listed in the dropdown menus. I'll update OP.

https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/ROG-MAXIMUS-X-HERO-WI-FI-AC/HelpDesk_QVL/

They are working on the website layout again. This always has a learning curve. What I suggest is once you find your product page, bookmark it.

The F34R Channel
10-15-2017, 07:59 AM
QVL is irrelevant. Just buy what you like.

In terms of memory speeds and latencies, TPU did an excellent CFL article:

Intel i7-8700K Coffee Lake Memory Benchmark Analysis

https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Intel/Core_i7_8700K_Coffee_Lake_Memory_Performance_Bench mark_Analysis/

Nerror
10-15-2017, 11:38 AM
QVL is irrelevant. Just buy what you like.

In terms of memory speeds and latencies, TPU did an excellent CFL article:

Intel i7-8700K Coffee Lake Memory Benchmark Analysis

https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Intel/Core_i7_8700K_Coffee_Lake_Memory_Performance_Bench mark_Analysis/

Yes, thank you, I saw that article a couple of days ago. Very nice. :)

It's a shame they didn't also include the minimum FPS in games, since that's where the frequency has the biggest effect.

Silent Scone@ROG
10-15-2017, 02:23 PM
Hi Nerror

Welcome to the ROG forum.

Yeah 4000MHz is hit or miss and you'll need a good cpu, I'd suggest going with 16GB as you'll have a much better chance of hitting 4000MHz, if it can't do it you can always run it at a lower speed.

If you want to play it safe and you're stuck on 32GB go with 3200MHz - 3400MHz.


Where did you find this information regarding what (Coffeelake) CPU can do 4000Mhz?

Nate152
10-15-2017, 09:56 PM
Where did you find this information regarding what (Coffeelake) CPU can do 4000Mhz?

What makes you think coffeelake can't run ram at 4000MHz ?

He's using the i7-8700k which the i7's (usually) have a stronger IMC than the i3's - i5's.
The Maximus X Hero supports up to 4133MHz.

G.Skill is producing up to 4600MHz kits for coffeelake and in this article they have an i5 (which I imagine is the 8600k) running 32GB at 4000MHz with the Maximus X Hero, this should settle any doubts you may have.

http://wccftech.com/gskill-ddr4-trident-z-4600-intel-coffee-lake-z370/

According to the article, what I posted was actually conservative.

Nerror - Do you have your 32GB kit running at 4000MHz ?

Raja@ASUS
10-16-2017, 04:52 AM
On the CPUs I have tested, the IMCs were variable. As a result, I do not expect that all will manage DDR4-4000 unconditionally stable on a four-slot board. Even on a two-slot board, I had one doing over 4300, while the other barely managed 4133.

Crysto
10-16-2017, 05:52 AM
On the Hero X I tried to run this kit on two different 8700k's https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-4000c18d-16gtzr at the XMP speeds and neither would boot. Post code error 55 'Memory not installed'. Same at 3866, but booted at 3733 and 3600. Have adjusted timings at 3600 to match the C16-3600 G.Skill kit and has passed memtest86 overnight. Tried tweaking VCCIO, VSA, 'Maximus Tweak' mode, and DRAM voltage, with no success at 4000.
Unsurprisingly for this kit no Z370 boards are listed under QVL on the G.Skill site.

Nate152
10-16-2017, 05:54 AM
Intel should come up with a way to make their cpu's more consistent so the i7's can run at least 16GB of what the board is rated. As it stands you're more or less taking a chance with (the more expensive) high speed ram. I know it's based on the silicon lottery but we the people should feel more secure about purchasing high speed ram. Sure we can bin cpu's but that gets expensive fast and in the end you can only use one cpu.

So what would Intel need, new more accurate machines that makes the cpu's ? It's not like they're starving for money and I feel it could be done.

Intel rates coffee lake for up to 64GB at 2666MHz, that covers their butt pretty good. But when the motherboard supports up to 4133MHz the cpu shouldn't be the limiting factor.

Raja@ASUS
10-16-2017, 11:31 AM
Intel should come up with a way to make their cpu's more consistent so the i7's can run at least 16GB of what the board is rated. As it stands you're more or less taking a chance with (the more expensive) high speed ram. I know it's based on the silicon lottery but we the people should feel more secure about purchasing high speed ram. Sure we can bin cpu's but that gets expensive fast and in the end you can only use one cpu.

So what would Intel need, new more accurate machines that makes the cpu's ? It's not like they're starving for money and I feel it could be done.

Intel rates coffee lake for up to 64GB at 2666MHz, that covers their butt pretty good. But when the motherboard supports up to 4133MHz the cpu shouldn't be the limiting factor.


Intel does not validate speeds beyond stock. That's up to the board vendor. This isn't going to change on either side no matter how much we debate ideals. So, for the masses, the safe rule of thumb is always to remove at least two ratios from the board-validated speed.