PDA

View Full Version : No ASUS Service Centres in Canada?

AdelaisAer
01-17-2012, 11:42 PM
Are there none in Canada? Because I checked on the site and there don't seem to be any. If and when I get my laptop, and I want to update the BIOS, I am scared of doing it myself in fear of the laptop dying, regardless of me following the guide here in the forums. :S

BrodyBoy
01-17-2012, 11:58 PM
I understand your reluctance, considering your recent experience. But really, you just happened to have some bad luck....the chances of that happening again are very low. I've been updating BIOSes for easily 25 years, dozens of them, and never once had a bricked machine. That's not to say I do something better or that I won't get snakebit at some point, but it's just to illustrate that it's a fairly rare occurrence.

It's probably just as easy to return a machine than to get it to an Asus service center.

AdelaisAer
01-18-2012, 12:00 AM
I understand your reluctance, considering your recent experience. But really, you just happened to have some bad luck....the chances of that happening again are very low. I've been updating BIOSes for easily 25 years, dozens of them, and never once had a bricked machine. That's not to say I do something better or that I won't get snakebit at some point, but it's just to illustrate that it's a fairly rare occurrence.

It's probably just as easy to return a machine than to get it to an Asus service center.

Alright. :( Sorry, I just get really paranoid when these things happened. I am used to using a crappy Toshiba that does not require updates since Toshiba rarely even release updates for it, let alone BIOS updates (which install automatically using WinFlash).

BrodyBoy
01-18-2012, 12:02 AM
Did I link you the .pdf instructions? And you know NOT to use WinFlash, right?

AdelaisAer
01-18-2012, 12:10 AM
Yup. I've seen the PDF. I've used all the guides here on the forum to update my last 2 G74SX machines with it. :3