PDA

View Full Version : Need link to Win7 x64 Recovery ISO and assistance with re-install to SSD



NuclearPanda
01-18-2012, 06:05 PM
Hi all!

Just got a refurb'd G73SW-1BTY from Newegg for a steal. Of course, there is no included recovery partition.


Seeing as I purchased a seperate 120gb SSD to throw in as my main OS drive, I'd like to do a complete wipe of the system and reinstall everything to run off the SSD.

I tried using a link that I saw someone (I think it was Chastity?) post to an ISO of the Win7 x64 but the link is not working. Can anyone help me out with this? Id like to start playing and tinkering with this tonight when I get home from work.

I appreciate any and all help, as well as any tips from you ROG veterans out there.



On a side note, Ive never installed an SSD or any hard drive in a lappy before. Anything I should be aware of? Is it pretty much plug and play? I took off the bottom cover and I can easily see where it goes. Should I switch the two drives around first (take out the HDD and put it in the open slot and put the SSD in place of it?) Does it matter? Also, do I need any seperate cables to hook the SSD to the motherboard (it doesnt look like I do, there are no ports on the SSD other than how it slides into the connection).

Sorry for the noob questions. Ive never had an SSD before.

Thanks so much everyone!

NuclearPanda
01-18-2012, 06:46 PM
I also tried the following link which I located here on the forums and for some reason it just doesn't load up. :(


http://pcaudio.dyndns.info/stuff/Win7_x64_InstallDVD.rar

BrodyBoy
01-18-2012, 07:20 PM
On a side note, Ive never installed an SSD or any hard drive in a lappy before. Anything I should be aware of? Is it pretty much plug and play? I took off the bottom cover and I can easily see where it goes. Should I switch the two drives around first (take out the HDD and put it in the open slot and put the SSD in place of it?) Does it matter? Also, do I need any seperate cables to hook the SSD to the motherboard (it doesnt look like I do, there are no ports on the SSD other than how it slides into the connection).

Sorry for the noob questions. Ive never had an SSD before.

Thanks so much everyone!
It's pretty staritforward once you're in there. Although it isn't required, because you can set the boot disk in the BIOS, I would suggest you put the SSD in drive bay #1...the one where your current OS dirve is. That bay has an direct M/B connector, so no cables needed. It just slides into the connector.

You do need the cable/SATA board/caddy parts to install a drive in bay #2. If your system is currently a one-disk system, you should look for those parts somewhere in the packaging, if they are not already in the drive bay.

I'll send you a PM about the other stuff.

NuclearPanda
01-18-2012, 07:28 PM
You do need the cable/SATA board/caddy parts to install a drive in bay #2. If your system is currently a one-disk system, you should look for those parts somewhere in the packaging, if they are not already in the drive bay.



Thanks so much for helping Brody. I've been lurking these forums for a few weeks while I was making my decision whether or not to buy the machine and you've always appeared super helpful so I appreciate your assistance.

I opened up the machine (quickly, on lunch break from work) just to see where the drives go. Mind you, this is a refurb machine from Newegg so there was nothing in the packaging other than the laptop/battery/powercord.

There was nothing inside of the drive bay, it just looks like it's open and I can see how the SSD would just slide into the connector there. I don't see any other open connections on the SSD itself, so I'm not sure how I would connect anything else or to where. Do you have any helpful pictures or guides I could look at so I don't mess this up?

Seeing as nothing came with the system, do you think I could probably stop by my local PC store to pick up the needed parts? What will I be asking for?

This is the SSD I purchased:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233206

BrodyBoy
01-18-2012, 07:39 PM
EDIT: Now that I know you've got a G73......

I don't know exactly which parts, if any, you might need for the seconf HDD. Most laptops have two SATA conenctors without requireing extra parts, so maybe that's the case with the G73?

If your model has two direct SATA connectors, it doesn't matter which drive you put in which bay. You can simply set the #1 boot device in the BIOS setup.

NuclearPanda
01-18-2012, 07:52 PM
Ok, I'm in upstate NY. That REALLY sucks that I can't get the caddy for the drive and stuff locally at a specialized electronics/pc shop.


Also, for the record, I have a G73SW-1BTY, not a G74.


Looking at your picture, mind looked different when I opened up the back. Kind of the reverse. I made some indications on your picture through MS Paint quick (best I can do here at work. haha). This is what is up with mine.

http://img39.imageshack.us/img39/6360/pcstuff.png

The primary 750GB HDD is on the right side, in a caddy I can see. The left side is open, though I drew in the connectors I can see in red. Also, there is nothing plugged in where that white ribbon is.


Sorry for being such a noob. I suppose if all else fails I can just take out the HDD and throw in the SSD as the only drive until I get parts to install the original drive as secondary.



*EDIT* As for the connectors I can see (I drew them in in red), it just looks like I can slide the SSD directly right into it. I don't see anywhere to plug anything in at all from that connector or anything to that plug I marked as unplugged. I'll have to take a look again when I get home or something.

BrodyBoy
01-18-2012, 07:58 PM
If you have two integrated SATA connectors, as I mentioned earlier, you don;t need the parts in that photo. You can even get by without a drive caddy, of you have to, by putting some foam padding around the drive to hold it in place. Though, I think the drive caddies for the G73 models are readily available....you might as well order one.

NuclearPanda
01-18-2012, 08:04 PM
Im guessing it's integrated? The connection to slide the SSD into the system is just there and exposed. Again, I'm a noob when it comes to all this. I just built my first desktop PC this past spring so this is all new to me.


When you say "foam padding", what would you suggest? I don't want to just stick something in there and have the whole damn thing catch on fire. lol

Also, where would i order the caddy? Have a link?

BrodyBoy
01-18-2012, 09:04 PM
Here's the drive caddy (http://us.estore.asus.com/index.php?l=product_detail&p=3018) for the G73.

Any little pieces of foam or rubber will work....there's nothing hot or electrical going on in there, so it won't catch fire. :) When I did this in my N73, I used those little foamy non-skid feet that came with a picture frame, as I recall. Basically just a little piece underneath to keep it from flexing up & down, and then a piece or two behind it to keep it pushed against the SATA connector. The connector itself is a pretty firm connection, so the drive isn't going anywhere. You're just trying to make it so the other end can't move around at all.

NuclearPanda
01-18-2012, 10:10 PM
Ok. I think I will forgo the drive caddy and maybe use some weather stripping foam behind the drive and a little on top to keep it snug.

Im downloading a copy of the Windows 7 ISO now and will burn that to disc. Do we have a list of updated and working drivers for the G73SW handy around here?

NuclearPanda
01-18-2012, 11:34 PM
And one more question. Is it necessary to flash the BIOS if it came already pre-installed with the most recent 205 BIOS version (I just checked and it does have the 205 already) or can I just do a wipe and reinstall Windows fresh?

BrodyBoy
01-19-2012, 12:25 AM
And one more question. Is it necessary to flash the BIOS if it came already pre-installed with the most recent 205 BIOS version (I just checked and it does have the 205 already) or can I just do a wipe and reinstall Windows fresh?
If you're already running the latest BIOS, no need to do anything with that.

As for the drivers, that list I gave you is complete. Those are the drivers you need....it was just a matter of making sure they were the correct versions for your model.

NuclearPanda
01-19-2012, 12:40 AM
Thanks so much Brody. I'll give it a shot and post back when Im finished with the reinstall. Hopefully everything goes well

NuclearPanda
01-19-2012, 04:29 AM
Ok, well i was able to do a clean reboot and reinstall of the system and got the SSD installed. I need to figure out why its not showing the second (original) drive when i boot into windows but i can figure that out I think.


THe big question is now for some reason the keyboard does NOT light up. I did not flash the bios so I didnt think it would be a problem.

Also, the link for the keyboard fix in the original thread that Chastity made does NOT work for me. Could you point me in the right direction on how to fix the keyboard issue? Thanks so much



*edit* Nevermind. I reinstalled the ATK package and now it works. Now to figure out the HDD

dstrakele
01-19-2012, 04:50 AM
Does the HDD appear in Disk Management? The partition(s) on it will need to be formatted and assigned a drive letter to appear in Windows Explorer.