PDA

View Full Version : RAM vdroop



SightUp1
11-26-2017, 09:53 PM
If it matters, I have a z370-F with a 8700k.

In my BIOS I have my RAM voltage set to 1.35. For some reason it sets it to 1.3530 but that's another issue. But when it's set to 1.35 in the BIOS, upon restarting, it droops to 1.31-32. What should I do? Leave it alone? Should I set it to 1.37 So it actually shows 1.35 in the BIOS?

morph.
11-27-2017, 12:26 AM
Are you having ram stability issue, posting or booting?

If your ram can run with less voltage than the specified that is a good thing, means everything is running more optimally and cooler!

SightUp1
11-27-2017, 12:30 AM
During loads mostly.

morph.
11-27-2017, 02:32 AM
so no stability issues (Crashing/ bsod's etc)...?

Just voltage droop?

JustinThyme
12-01-2017, 02:12 PM
If it matters, I have a z370-F with a 8700k.

In my BIOS I have my RAM voltage set to 1.35. For some reason it sets it to 1.3530 but that's another issue. But when it's set to 1.35 in the BIOS, upon restarting, it droops to 1.31-32. What should I do? Leave it alone? Should I set it to 1.37 So it actually shows 1.35 in the BIOS?

Once you are booted into the OS whats it showing?
Are you having any stability issues?

Silent Scone@ROG
12-01-2017, 02:30 PM
Wouldn't concern yourself with this, at all. Software isn't going to tell you anything worth knowing. To know exactly what's happening you'd need to measure at the socket or on the DIMM itself. If the memory is stable, then that's all that is needed.

Praz
12-01-2017, 02:32 PM
Hello

RAM voltage VDROOP for the majority of usage can be considered non-existent for consumer class motherboards. The actual amount is so low that noise and other anomalies will mask the actual droop unless considerable effort is expended during the measurement process. If the problem being experienced is a difference of voltage between what is set and the actual value physical measurements are required as software is not an accurate indicator. When making the measurement ensure the equipment being used has the necessary resolution to accurately display the difference being seen. Also the proper connection of the probes are necessary to eliminate trace and plane impedance induced errors.