PDA

View Full Version : Maximus X Hero (Wifi) Random Restarts



forrest.kugell
12-13-2017, 10:33 AM
Hi everyone,

I am having problems with my Maximum X Hero (Wifi) motherboard. I get random restart when trying to pass prime95 blend tests. At all stock settings I get random restarts 4-5 hours in and when I set up an overclock I get restarts within 2 hours. The following are my system specifications,

i7 8700k
Corsair H110i Top Exhaust
Asus Maximus X Hero (Wifi)
Asus Strix GTX 1080
16GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 (3000Mhz 15-16-16-35)
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Corsair 750D Airflow Edition
Corsair RM850X

I had a MSI Z370 Gaming M5 and with all the same hardware I never had these restart issues, so thinking it was the motherboard I returned it and got a new one and I still have the same problem.

When I do overclock these are the settings I adjust
AI Overclock Tuner to Manual
ASUS MultiCore Enhancement to Disabled
All cores to 4.7Ghz
DRAM Frequency to 3000Mhz
CPU SVID Support to DIsabled
CPU Core/Cache Current Limit to 255.5
CPU Core/Cache Voltage to Manual
CPU Core Voltage Override 1.3V (I think this is overkill based off my other motherboard but I wanted to make sure this voltage wasn't the problem)
DRAM Voltage to 1.35
DRAM CAS# Latency to 15
DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay to 16
DRAM RAS# ACT Timer to 35
CPU LLC to Level 6
CPU Current Capability to 140%
Intel SpeedStep to Disabled
Long Duration Package Power Limit to 4095
Package Power Time Window to 127
Short Duration Package Power Limit to 4095

I am running on BIOS version 0505 which after just checking is not the newest version, I will update to that when I get home today.

BIOS aside I was wondering if anyone would have any idea what my problem would be.

forrest.kugell
12-14-2017, 12:08 AM
Updated to 0802 and I still get random restarts at stock settings

Raja@ASUS
12-14-2017, 03:08 AM
Load defaults, disable mce, set svid behaviour to best case, and leave everything else on auto. See if you still get restarts. If so, let me know which fft length causes the restart.

forrest.kugell
12-14-2017, 03:29 AM
Load defaults, disable mce, set svid behaviour to best case, and leave everything else on auto. See if you still get restarts. If so, let me know which fft length causes the restart.

I will give that a try in the morning, I just reinstalled windows to see if that could have been the problem. Is there a way to tell what FFT I am on when I get a restart? Like I said it is hours into the testing before I get the restart on default settings and roughly 2 hours when I have my OC set up.

Raja@ASUS
12-14-2017, 06:33 AM
You'll have to look at what Prime95 is running around those timeframes.

forrest.kugell
12-14-2017, 04:35 PM
You'll have to look at what Prime95 is running around those timeframes.

I got a random restart with the settings we talked about, SVID best case and MCE disabled, it was somewhere before 5 hours of runtime, when I get back I will set up a camera or something to take pictures every 5 to 10 seconds to figure out what FFT causes the restart. I'm also going to pick up some RAM from a best buy and I can test with that at some point just to be safe. (the current ram was stable XMP on another board so I think it's fine but best to check I guess) I'll see if they have any QLV ram.

forrest.kugell
12-15-2017, 01:42 AM
You'll have to look at what Prime95 is running around those timeframes.

So I set up my old phone to take a picture every 5 seconds, and this attached image is 0-5 seconds before my computer restarted,

69603

I know the quality really sucks I am trying to figure out exactly what was running at that time, I wish there was a list of FFTs run on prime 95....

Thread 1 56K (next to run is 1440k)
Thread 2 1440k (next to run is 56k)
Thread 3 72k (next to run is 1600k)
Thread 4 72k (next to run is 1600k)
Thread 5 1728k (next to run is 112k) or is it 1600k (next to run is 84k) or is it 56K (next to run is 1440k)
Thread 6 1728k (next to run is 112k) or is it 1600k (next to run is 84k) or is it 56K (next to run is 1440k)
Thread 7 72k (next to run is 1600k)
Thread 8 72k (next to run is 1600k)
Thread 9 56k (next to run is 1440k)
Thread 10 56k (next to run is 1440k)
Thread 11 72k (next to run is 1600k)
Thread 12 72k (next to run is 1600k)

Edit 2: Out of curiosity I bought some Corsair DDR4 3000Mhz from bestbuy, set it up with a mild OC and still got a random restart, the following is when I restarted,

69606

I will retry with the same BIOS settings as before now with the new RAM which I should have done in the first place... (either way it shows that RAM is not the problem 100% which is too bad I like the Corsair RAM more...)

Update: So I ran stock settings MCE Disabled and SVID Behavior best case, my pc did not restart with the new ram *yet...* it passed 9 hours and is going on a second round through the ffts. Another thing that might or might not make a difference is I didnt open up the Asus software / corsair link/ core temp / cpuz / HWMonitor during this stress test, the only thing up was prime95.

Update 2: So I kept running with the update from before and I ran for 10 hours 39 minutes fine, that allowed me to get through the normal trouble FFT sizes twice. I then opened the ASUS ROG software, core temp, cpuz, HWMonitor, and Corsair Link and ran the blend stress test again without restarting. I got to the 800k and 24k FFTs before I had a problem, this time I did not restart but my screens went black and my keyboard and mouse turned off, the PC seemed to still be running. There was the error code 4F on the debugger, I am not sure if this error code poped up or if it happened when the computer was trying to restart.

Update 3: Another fresh install of windows and a new SSD and we are still getting random restarts at various FFTs.

Update 4: To check my sanity I put the MSI board back in again before returning it to see if I got random restarts, currently with a modest 4.7Ghz OC and using XMP ram settings I have completed the blend test well past the normal ASUS restart point twice, I am going to run it longer overnight now for a 3rd longer pass.

Raja@ASUS
12-16-2017, 05:45 AM
What happens when you don't use XMP for the new memory? Does the system still crash or restart?

FWIW, CPU current capability at 140% might be a bit too low for Prime95 small FFT loops. They pull a lot of current!

forrest.kugell
12-16-2017, 03:01 PM
What happens when you don't use XMP for the new memory? Does the system still crash or restart?

FWIW, CPU current capability at 140% might be a bit too low for Prime95 small FFT loops. They pull a lot of current!

I still get restarts using no XMP for the new memory, I am doing blend not small FFT but isnt 140% the max setting?. It sees to restart randomly anywhere in the bend loop. I am not sure what the problem is as I havent had any problems with another board. I have swapped out every component but the PSU with the ASUS board as well

Raja@ASUS
12-16-2017, 03:13 PM
The max ocp varies by board model. Typically, if its happening without xmp, the issue is caused by vcore. Check how much voltage you need on the other board and adjust accordingly.

forrest.kugell
12-16-2017, 05:51 PM
The max ocp varies by board model. Typically, if its happening without xmp, the issue is caused by vcore. Check how much voltage you need on the other board and adjust accordingly.

The Vcore needed on the MSI is 1.25 and that still causes restarts on the hero, I went up to 1.3 on the hero just to be sure it wasn't a Vcore problem

Raja@ASUS
12-16-2017, 05:56 PM
Is that what you're setting or what you're measuring under full load? Set and actual voltages can differ by a fair margin.

forrest.kugell
12-17-2017, 05:07 AM
Is that what you're setting or what you're measuring under full load? Set and actual voltages can differ by a fair margin.

The 1.3 is what I measure on the ASUS board, if I set 1.3 I get 1.312 under full load with the LLC I use. With the MSI I get slight cvore boost but no more than .01 or .02 volt. The MSI voltage is measured with CPUZ/HWMonitor, the ASUS is measured with the AI Sweet and CPUZ/HWMonitor (CPUZ and HWMonitor report half of what AI sweet does, exactly half)

Raja@ASUS
12-17-2017, 06:20 AM
I'd increase Vcore further on the ASUS board, as the shown and actual voltage can have some variance. Add more voltage, see where the pass threshold is. Last time I compared an MSI board to ours using a DMM and oscilloscope, I found the actual voltages (measured with DMM/scope) required for stability to be identical.

forrest.kugell
12-19-2017, 02:00 AM
I'd increase Vcore further on the ASUS board, as the shown and actual voltage can have some variance. Add more voltage, see where the pass threshold is. Last time I compared an MSI board to ours using a DMM and oscilloscope, I found the actual voltages (measured with DMM/scope) required for stability to be identical.

I will increase the vcore when I put the asus board back in tomorrow, sadly the MSI board is going back (it arrived physically damaged) I am going to hold out with the ASUS board as I hope to get it working. I will give an update Wednesday morning if I remember, else Wednesday night

Raja@ASUS
12-19-2017, 02:03 AM
I'll be off work from Dec 20th to Jan 3rd. Responses may be delayed during that timeframe.

forrest.kugell
12-20-2017, 02:30 AM
I'll be off work from Dec 20th to Jan 3rd. Responses may be delayed during that timeframe.

That is okay, have a great holiday! Really I do appreciate you helping me out with this problem. I was trying 1.375 volts but was hitting 99C so I am not going to try voltage that high (the 12k FFTs do a number for heat output in blend)

forrest.kugell
01-04-2018, 06:09 PM
I'll be off work from Dec 20th to Jan 3rd. Responses may be delayed during that timeframe.

So I think i have figured out the reason for the random restarts, it is either the Asus AI suite 3 software or the Corsair Link 4 software being open. I need to do a few more tests to make sure but I believe one of those was causing the random restarts. I did a run for 14 hours with MCE disabled and SVID to best case and also did a run for 16 hours with an overclock of 4.7GHz (On prime95 blend). I am currently running the realbench stress test with the overclock and next i will test IDA64. I will also test to figure out which software program was causing the restarts.

Update: So I passed the realbench stress test no problems. I started the AIDA64 stress test and i got a random restart after 31 minutes. When my computer restarted I got an error from ASUS AI Suite 3 that said 'The Sever Threw an Exception' so I restarted my pc again and got the same error, I am now retesting AIDA64. (this was all done with the AU suite 3 and corsair link 4 closed (when I say closed I mean the GUI is not open))

Raja@ASUS
01-13-2018, 05:43 AM
Generally, Ai suite And the Corsair utility don't play well together. You can try without one of them installed. If that doesn't help, uninstall both. If that doesn't help either, then it's system instability rather than a software conflict.

forrest.kugell
01-14-2018, 12:54 AM
Generally, Ai suite And the Corsair utility don't play well together. You can try without one of them installed. If that doesn't help, uninstall both. If that doesn't help either, then it's system instability rather than a software conflict.

Is the solution do not install one of them or to not have the applications running at the same time?

Raja@ASUS
01-14-2018, 05:07 AM
Usually, not to have them installed or running at the same time. Should not take you long to test.

booya
04-20-2018, 04:48 PM
Is the solution do not install one of them or to not have the applications running at the same time?
How did it end? No more restarts?