PDA

View Full Version : MX Apex, RAM problems/ SLOT A_1



VSS-HH
01-01-2018, 09:37 PM
Hi ,

MXA mainboard for RAM overcloking?probably yes but my motherboard is not suitable for this,
I already have 4 mainboards from the Maximus X series,

Bios is all the time in the Beta version, RAM Slot A_1 blocks overcloking RAM memory,

My RAM Memory on the Strix Z370i motherboard is + 100Mhz more, and the motherboard does not cost much,

I thought with Apex X is something better but it is probably still in BETA phase ????,

how is it possible with Z370i = my RAM OC4000Mhz C18 Dual Full stable and the Apex X 3940MHzC17/c18 / C19 / C20 is Max ???? , Yes Slot A_1 on Apex X does not allow more than 1970 Mhz Single,
Slot B_1 at 2000Mhz C18 Single without any problems,
http://fs5.directupload.net/images/171020/fdncb66v.jpg
okay ,
I set the MXA upper stable limits 3900MHz C17 MemTest 600% and other diagnostic programs 100% stable, after 6 weeks of use I am greeted with Qcode 55 WTF ...,

later

I buy RAM 4400C19 memory, I think 100Mhz can be done OC to 4500Mhz, and here on Apex X,
4500MHz even does not have POST @ 1.5V @ CL20 @ 1.55v @ CL21 hahha I'm thinking I'll check the Slot A_1 and 2220Mhz Single CL19 @ CL20 @ 1.5V ..... it's max and up to one MHz more = No POST, only BIOS v701 ist POST@2350MHz on A_1
I'm checking Slot B_1 BIOS v800&v900 2400Mhz Single is easy to post WTF ...

the XMP profile works fine, @ 4400C19,
4400C17 No POST @VDIMM1.5V No POST @ VDIMM1.55V No POST qcode 55/49/b1/b2 etc.....

Strix Z370i + 4400 RAM DUAL @ C17 IS POST without problems @ OEM 1.4V;)

http://fs1.directupload.net/images/171020/wfaaq8ou.png


I use the same Power Supply Processor and SSDs,I set the RAM stetUp manually and all CL

Raja@ASUS
01-02-2018, 08:30 AM
Try loading the overclocker profiles before you apply manual settings.

VSS-HH
01-02-2018, 08:12 PM
@RAJA, thank you for the answer, but I think the motherboard is very weak,

I have already done this, there is no improvement on MXA,Strix 370i 4000c17 :cool:
http://fs1.directupload.net/images/171020/bt5e4im3.jpg

how to rewrite whole profile from strix to MXA = No POST , QCODE 55/49 / b1 / b2..etc ,

I can not catch on MXA POST @ 4000Mhz, DRAM RTL / IOL checked all possible options

SLOT A_1 generates very big problems

Raja@ASUS
01-03-2018, 08:02 AM
For 4200 and 4133, just adjusting the XMP for this Trident-Z kit seems to work fine for me:

DDR4-4200 @ 17-18-18
70114

DDR4-4133 @ 17-17-17
70115

4000 seems to need some tuning. I'll have the guys look at it. In the meantime, you can try the Samsung 2X8GB presets within the DRAM timing section of the Apex EFI.

VSS-HH
01-03-2018, 08:45 AM
tuning 2x16 with Strix 370i @ 4000C17 took me two weeks, but it was easier to have POST without problems,
on MXA @ 4000 I do not have POST in slot A_1, and I am testing different constellations for over two months without any effect, lack of POST makes it very difficult to search for a solution,

MXH on the same HW 2x16 max 3866C18,

As I already wrote, I tested 4 mainboards and it turns out that MXA is not the best, or MXA has low condition


@RAJA you may have some idea ?? BIOS 1003 is good?

Raja@ASUS
01-03-2018, 08:50 AM
MXH on the same HW 2x16 max 3866C18,



MXH or MXA?

As I wrote above, the 4000 ratio probably needs some tuning on our side.

VSS-HH
01-03-2018, 09:22 AM
to exclude the RAM problem, I tested on different boards, and there is definitely a problem on MXA with SLOT A_1,

MX Hero is really a weak board for OC RAM, even when switching off two slots is weak OC,

I do not know what's wrong with MXA and slot A_1

Raja@ASUS
01-03-2018, 09:26 AM
to exclude the RAM problem, I tested on different boards, and there is definitely a problem on MXA with SLOT A_1,

MX Hero is really a weak board for OC RAM, even when switching off two slots is weak OC,

I do not know what's wrong with MXA and slot A_1

It's likely just some tuning needed for the 4000 ratio. No issues at 4133+.

VSS-HH
01-03-2018, 09:47 AM
my 2x16GB Kitīs will not go on 4133

my 2x8 Kitīs
http://www.bilder-upload.eu/upload/cbd3cb-1511033826.png

the problem with A_1 is at 2x8 @ 4400 and low CL, 4266 and low CL has no problem 4500 No Post, there is a problem 2x16 @ 4000

Raja@ASUS
01-03-2018, 11:23 AM
4400 isn't worth it anyway. Around 4133-4200 is best for good 2X8GB kits.

VSS-HH
01-03-2018, 12:40 PM
4400 isn't worth it anyway. Around 4133-4200 is best for good 2X8GB kits.
:confused:
7012070120

Silent Scone@ROG
01-03-2018, 04:44 PM
:confused:
7012070120


The reason it isn't worth it, is because of the performance deficit due to the timings needed. Although I know you were just trying to be funny.

Raja@ASUS
01-03-2018, 06:06 PM
Yep, frequency doesn't mean much on its own.

Menthol
01-03-2018, 06:14 PM
I don't have any 16GB modules but on my Hero I can run 2x8 4133RGB without issue 17-18-18-2T, on my Apex my 2x8 4266 kit works very well, tried 4400 booted fine but couldn't get easily stable, need to work more on that speed
This is CPU 5.2/cache50
70130

VSS-HH
01-03-2018, 08:12 PM
The reason it isn't worth it, is because of the performance deficit due to the timings needed. Although I know you were just trying to be funny.

what you see here is fun......you have some experience, share it.... ,

I want to have 4000C17 on MXA, my motherboard is sucked, there is no POST on these settings, simple Strix will do 4000C17 without problems, what's funny here ??


@Menthol ,
I have a request, you can check if you have a difference in the RAM clock in the Slots A_1vsB_1, what will be the maximum of the RAM clock, thank you

Menthol
01-03-2018, 08:41 PM
VSS-HH,
Raja and Silent Scone are experts compared to myself, I wouldn't trust my findings if I did what you ask. I shoudn't have posted here I guess I was just a little to excited at my results.
Sorry I apologize for interfering in this thread

VSS-HH
01-04-2018, 09:44 AM
Raja, this is not how it looks from the perspective of the user,
see what is on the MXA homepage, and you write me here with MHZ are not important, I did not expect this after your post,
Do you know why I bought MXA ?? only because it offered the highest RAM clock,
and after Strix z370i I did not expect that it would run RAM better.
your Profile in BIOS 1003 MXA for 2x16 @ 3733 sets the memory to 3466,

my 2x16 @ 3900C17 profile is only stable on bios v802, BIOS v901 and 1003 lack of stability I have no intention of investing days to test each Bios, OC up to 4000 on MXA for my kit's 2x16 is impossible,

#present these two images to the department responsible for the software/BIOS of the mainboards:
all hardware is the same only the mainboard is different

Raja@ASUS
01-04-2018, 09:55 AM
Pushing boundaries isn't just about memory frequency. Latency is important. At frequencies over DDR4-4200, you have to relax too many timings and lose performance. Yes, it's faster to run at a lower speed and tighter timings, hence my comment. You can use the following formula to judge the latency:

time in ns = (tCLK *2000)/DDR4 Mem Frequency.

As you can see, frequency on its own means nothing.

I'm not sure if something is getting lost in translation, but I did state in post 4 (https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?98703-MX-Apex-RAM-problems-SLOT-A_1&viewfull=1#post695347) that I would have the guys look at the DDR4-4000 ratio. They will test and see what they find. Given you private messaged me in German, you may want to contact ASUS support in Germany as you can communicate in your native language with them. I don't speak German, sorry.

VSS-HH
01-04-2018, 10:17 AM
2x16 kits is important that in slot A_1 it does not work @ 2000, Slot B_1 works on two ICs without problem @ 2000, so Dual does not work on @ 4000,

I plan to test Ram Kit's 2x16 on the motherboard of another manufacturer, also possible on another MXA will not be a problem?

Raja@ASUS
01-04-2018, 11:54 AM
2x16 kits is important that in slot A_1 it does not work @ 2000, Slot B_1 works on two ICs without problem @ 2000, so Dual does not work on @ 4000,

I plan to test Ram Kit's 2x16 on the motherboard of another manufacturer, also possible on another MXA will not be a problem?


Re-pasting this again in case you missed it:




I'm not sure if something is getting lost in translation, but I did state in post 4 (https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?98703-MX-Apex-RAM-problems-SLOT-A_1&viewfull=1#post695347) that I would have the guys look at the DDR4-4000 ratio. They will test and see what they find. Given you private messaged me in German, you may want to contact ASUS support in Germany as you can communicate in your native language with them. I don't speak German, sorry.

VSS-HH
01-05-2018, 09:20 AM
@RAJA,
ask your friends what changes are ME Update v901 BIOS,
after BIOS installation v901 is Update ME, after Installation 1003 there is no Update ME,
back to BIOS v802 my previously stable Profile OC RAM is already unstable,
that is, in summary ME update must introduce some changes,
I did not expect such big changes,
I had to post a new Profile for OC RAM

70177

Raja@ASUS
01-05-2018, 09:46 AM
ME/MRC can change memory OC. Nothing surprising about that.

VSS-HH
04-01-2018, 01:22 PM
needed a good trick to run 2x16 for 4000 [3200@4000], but after months of testing it was successful , I do not know if it's stable at 1000% but I get up for 4k :cool:
7270072703

VSS-HH
04-21-2018, 07:30 AM
What are your opinions about the new bios 1301?

ROG MAXIMUS X APEX BIOS 1301
Support RAID on CPU function in Z370 series.
Improved DRAM compatibility
yesterday I installed bios 1301, I captured stable settings from 1003 bios and blue screen right away:confused:

I know that the settings are not P & P for the bios version, there must be some big changes in the new bios,
on bios 1003 I had problems with 2x16GB 4000 C16, at 1301 for the test I set 16-17-38 and Vdimm with reserve and it is post without a problem, just like 4133C17.

everything is great but could someone explain what changes are in the new bios and which IC points have received changes?