PDA

View Full Version : G752 reinstall safe yet?



Darnassus
01-02-2018, 12:41 PM
So.. I got a few issues on the laptop. I just want to reinstall Win10 and start again..

Anyhow, as we all know, the SSD nVME has big issues since it isn't native when trying to reinstall an OS... sometimes the drive doesn't show up, sometimes the drive shows itself as 1gb available.. sometimes the drive says it's 65536gb large..

Has there been any updates or tools made to make this process safe and able to be performed without issue..?


If wiping and installing fresh from USB is still dangerous.. then does anyone have any experience using the "Reset Windows" feature? https://www.laptopmag.com/articles/reset-windows-10-pc

If using "Reset Windows 10" feature works well, then I think I'll just do that instead.


Thanks. Just really don't want to be stuck in another rut with this stupid NVME rubbish..

JustinThyme
01-02-2018, 05:30 PM
There are a few ways to look at this. If you still have the factory image this is your best bet, just reset PC and you are back to the factory state. To remove anything you dont want Ccleaner shows items that the windows uninstall does not and does a much better job at it.
If you choose to reinstall completely and wipe your drive then make sure you save the eSupport folder first. It has all the drivers and software. For most of it updated drivers can be downloaed but there are a few that cannot, most important one is sound studio that wihout it the sound on the G752 is horrendous. I strongly discourage this method though unless....

Do factory reset
by new drive
Clone OEM drive to new drive
Put OEM drive away for safe keeping

Then you can do whatever you wish as you have an insurance policy of being able to recover to a factory state without having to send the machine off to ASUS and pay to have the drive reimaged.

Clintlgm
01-03-2018, 06:52 AM
Sure I think all the G752 latest BIOS now support SATA set to AHCI, Start your install media in UEFI mode. When the install starts hit the F10 + Shift that will bring up CMD prompt use diskpart to Clean and convert to GPT. Finish your install, update the windows native drivers to good drivers nothing to it.
Remove your 1TB drive so that you only have the SSD in that your installing to no chance or errors

Darnassus
01-03-2018, 07:17 PM
There are a few ways to look at this. If you still have the factory image this is your best bet, just reset PC and you are back to the factory state. To remove anything you dont want Ccleaner shows items that the windows uninstall does not and does a much better job at it.
If you choose to reinstall completely and wipe your drive then make sure you save the eSupport folder first. It has all the drivers and software. For most of it updated drivers can be downloaed but there are a few that cannot, most important one is sound studio that wihout it the sound on the G752 is horrendous. I strongly discourage this method though unless....

Do factory reset
by new drive
Clone OEM drive to new drive
Put OEM drive away for safe keeping

Then you can do whatever you wish as you have an insurance policy of being able to recover to a factory state without having to send the machine off to ASUS and pay to have the drive reimaged.


I wanted to do that but when I bought another drive, it wouldn't show up. I don't know if it was because the controller died on the motherboard for some reason, or something else. I have no clue. It was showing the symptoms above.

I guess yeah it'd be best if I buy a whole new Drive and build on that.. and if all goes sour, well at least I can just go back and cope.

What I would love to know, is if it's possible to interface with an M2 NVME (PCIE) stick with a USB attachment. That way I can actually enter the device without needing to rely on the bad support and can properly wipe it.

I don't know, perhaps it was because my last G752 turned on during transit and cooked itself in the box.. and that's what broke the NVME controller. It was booting to BIOS the moment I pulled it out.. so perhaps it's actually safe.. I just don't know. All the other reports on the difficulty still make me think it can permanently be screwed... but I REALLY need to wipe and start clean..

Clintlgm
01-03-2018, 11:04 PM
Your problems is your notebook comes from Asus with the BIOS SATA setting to RAID, you need to install the RAID Driver to see the drive in windows install.
As I mention earlier the latest BIOS's allow you to change the SATA setting to AHCI, So a RAW new SSD will show up to install too. A RAID disk would need to be Cleaned and converted to GPT then the windows install will see the SSD.

Darnassus
01-04-2018, 08:22 PM
Your problems is your notebook comes from Asus with the BIOS SATA setting to RAID, you need to install the RAID Driver to see the drive in windows install.
As I mention earlier the latest BIOS's allow you to change the SATA setting to AHCI, So a RAW new SSD will show up to install too. A RAID disk would need to be Cleaned and converted to GPT then the windows install will see the SSD.



Unless I SOMEHOW did this wrong, it didn't work..

Just curious. If the NVME was turned to MBR, what would happen?

Gps3dx
01-04-2018, 11:00 PM
Unless I SOMEHOW did this wrong, it didn't work..

Just curious. If the NVME was turned to MBR, what would happen?

you've got a Ferrari ( NVME ) and you want to drive it in the city's traffic (MBR) ?
no sense there...
GUID is the latest tech of "partitioning structure" (https://www.howtogeek.com/193669/whats-the-difference-between-gpt-and-mbr-when-partitioning-a-drive/)for drives and was created with ssd in mind.
MBR was developed in the stone age of rotational disks...

also if you want to downgrade and work with mbr, you'll have to ENABLE "CSM" option in the bios ( i.e LEGACY BIOS enabled) since windows 7,8,10 can't boot MBR while booting using UEFI.

more info about that in my windows re-installation guide ( see my sig ).

what I guess you should strive for is to disable RAID on NMVE, then set it as AHCI.
then, when you boot windows installation it should detect it as NVME since win10 got built-in NVME drivers.
there are few guides about it and specific for G752 around here... SEARCH IT.

Darnassus
01-06-2018, 03:35 AM
you've got a Ferrari ( NVME ) and you want to drive it in the city's traffic (MBR) ?
no sense there...
GUID is the latest tech of "partitioning structure" (https://www.howtogeek.com/193669/whats-the-difference-between-gpt-and-mbr-when-partitioning-a-drive/)for drives and was created with ssd in mind.
MBR was developed in the stone age of rotational disks...

also if you want to downgrade and work with mbr, you'll have to ENABLE "CSM" option in the bios ( i.e LEGACY BIOS enabled) since windows 7,8,10 can't boot MBR while booting using UEFI.

more info about that in my windows re-installation guide ( see my sig ).

what I guess you should strive for is to disable RAID on NMVE, then set it as AHCI.
then, when you boot windows installation it should detect it as NVME since win10 got built-in NVME drivers.
there are few guides about it and specific for G752 around here... SEARCH IT.

I know all this, but I mean what would happen? Would it screw up the device?

MrRuckus
01-08-2018, 07:18 PM
I know all this, but I mean what would happen? Would it screw up the device?

Screw it up as in not boot, most likely. Cause physical damage, I dont think it could. Just change the way its read and written to.

SATA drives run in legacy modes, I dont think it would do anything but run at a slower rate like they do.

I have ran into a similar scenario with my G752 once. I had it in my laptop bag and had just simply closed the lid. Put it in the cloth sleeve it
came in, put it in the bag and covered the vents without realizing it was still on. Put it in my car and went to my sons football game. Came out to the car and heard the fans running. Pulled it out and it was HOT AF. Thought for sure I cooked something or jacked up the display being so hot, luckily all was well, once it cooled.

I used the factory reload when I gave it to my son and it was completely painless. Good luck on the reload, definitely not a fun time for sure.

Darnassus
01-12-2018, 10:07 AM
So far Wireless randomly drops out for 1 min, and my Volume keeps resetting to 54, no idea why. I try to turn up volume, or turn it back down.. resets it to 54 like 5 sec later..

ForgeOfGods-G752VS
01-12-2018, 10:54 AM
So.. I got a few issues on the laptop. I just want to reinstall Win10 and start again..

Anyhow, as we all know, the SSD nVME has big issues since it isn't native when trying to reinstall an OS... sometimes the drive doesn't show up, sometimes the drive shows itself as 1gb available.. sometimes the drive says it's 65536gb large..

Has there been any updates or tools made to make this process safe and able to be performed without issue..?


If wiping and installing fresh from USB is still dangerous.. then does anyone have any experience using the "Reset Windows" feature? https://www.laptopmag.com/articles/reset-windows-10-pc

If using "Reset Windows 10" feature works well, then I think I'll just do that instead.


Thanks. Just really don't want to be stuck in another rut with this stupid NVME rubbish..

To reinstall windows u dont need to change ANYTHINK , dont need any guides or clones, waste of time, just put Intel Rapid Storage driver to your flash drive (where from you install windows) and once u get to the choose drive menu click install driver and broswe to that driver, install it and here u go, you see your vnme :) ez af ;)

Darnassus
01-12-2018, 01:29 PM
To reinstall windows u dont need to change ANYTHINK , dont need any guides or clones, waste of time, just put Intel Rapid Storage driver to your flash drive (where from you install windows) and once u get to the choose drive menu click install driver and broswe to that driver, install it and here u go, you see your vnme :) ez af ;)

Yeah if only.. one time, the Laptop wouldn't recognise the driver properly. The device only showed 1gb of space, or 16384gb space, on a 256GB stick...

No matter what you'd do the NVME wouldn't correctly show itself. So this is why I'm so unsure about doing a wipe without knowing EVERYTHING there is to know to ensure the success.

I just wish AsusTek branch who designed the laptop wasn't dumb enough to allow the need for a custom driver to recognise a hard drive.. native support or go SATA.. :f

Darnassus
01-12-2018, 04:06 PM
Bought a 960 EVO.. it'll be my test dummy, hopefully all goes smoothly as it's meant to..

Can someone link the EXACT driver needed for SSD recognition for Win10 installation?

Clintlgm
01-12-2018, 04:40 PM
Did you change your BIOS, the SATA setting to AHCI?

ForgeOfGods-G752VS
01-12-2018, 06:06 PM
I did reinstall maybe 6 times allready to my G752VSK, if you see corupted space on the drive that might be faulty drive, for me allways once i install it with IRS driver everythink works perfect, download your drivers from support.asus.com its named Intel Rapid Storage Controller i think, and in bios have to be set not ACHI but IRS , if you set ACHI u wont get it work

Darnassus
01-12-2018, 07:35 PM
I did reinstall maybe 6 times allready to my G752VSK, if you see corupted space on the drive that might be faulty drive, for me allways once i install it with IRS driver everythink works perfect, download your drivers from support.asus.com its named Intel Rapid Storage Controller i think, and in bios have to be set not ACHI but IRS , if you set ACHI u wont get it work

I used three different sticks.. same result. It was as if the controller on the board got screwed..

Installing Windows on a PC then moving it over worked, but caused crashes frequently.

I had to send the unit back.

Darnassus
01-12-2018, 07:42 PM
Did you change your BIOS, the SATA setting to AHCI?

Not changed any bios setting, shouldn't have to if it already works.

haihane
01-12-2018, 08:06 PM
Not changed any bios setting, shouldn't have to if it already works.

i'm curious,
what's the current sata setting? IDE? AHCI? (would you mind going into bios and just seeing the sata mode without changing anything)

Darnassus
01-12-2018, 08:32 PM
If I remember correctly, it's in RAID, even if there's only one stick.. which is why so many users get confused also. AHCI didn't exist until a BIOS update?


I have one of these..

70483

I wonder if it'll allow me to interface with the NVME if this issue happens again.

Clintlgm
01-12-2018, 09:48 PM
If I remember correctly, it's in RAID, even if there's only one stick.. which is why so many users get confused also. AHCI didn't exist until a BIOS update?


I have one of these..

70483

I wonder if it'll allow me to interface with the NVME if this issue happens again.

All the adapters I have seen so far only support M.2 SATA SSD, do the spect's say it wil work for NVME?

Clintlgm
01-12-2018, 10:05 PM
Not changed any bios setting, shouldn't have to if it already works.

You asked if its safe to reinstall windows 10. they answer Is yes
you have 2 options
1 Install in Factory default RAID mode, you will have to install the RST driver during the install in order to see your SSD as a partition to install too. BIOS (SATA) Setting would need to be set to RAID

2 Install in AHCI Mode which won't require you to install the RAID driver as the NVME driver is native in the Windows 10 install media. You BIOS( SATA) setting would need to be set to AHCI.

The RST driver in in your eSupport Folder Intel IRST

Darnassus
01-12-2018, 10:29 PM
I heard about that. Just another problem.. that PCIE part.

I wonder if there's still an adaptor of some kind..

Darnassus
01-12-2018, 11:15 PM
Anyone to link the IRST driver that is KNOWN to work?

Clintlgm
01-13-2018, 07:20 PM
Anyone to link the IRST driver that is KNOWN to work?

Intel IRST Driver (https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/27400/Intel-Rapid-Storage-Technology-Intel-RST-?product=55005)



f6flpy-x64.zip (64-bit Operating System) / f6flpy-x86.zip (32bit Operating System):

SetupRST.zip

unzip it to your USB Thumb Drive you using to Install windows. Be sure to Boot the Thumb Drive UEFI. This works for me

Darnassus
01-22-2018, 06:50 AM
I had a leap of faith, did the install.. it worked out. Thank you Clint, the driver works.. I'll be keeping it on a USB in my bank locker it's that precious to me now. :f

Fresh install went great. Going to keep the other NVMe in a safe place regardless in case it some reason botches in the future.

Darnassus
01-22-2018, 06:53 AM
By the way I didn't touch a damn thing in BIOS.

Just turned off Secure Boot and Fast Boot, so I could launch the USB. That's it.

Clintlgm
01-22-2018, 03:26 PM
By the way I didn't touch a damn thing in BIOS.

Just turned off Secure Boot and Fast Boot, so I could launch the USB. That's it.

For future reference, if you make your USB install Thumb drive using MCT. it will boot UEFI with secure boot enabled. fast boot is nothing but problems so I leave it disabled. I also turn off Hybrid shut down in windows. This is done in your power settings advanced (https://in.answers.acer.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/37059/~/windows-10%3A-enable-or-disable-fast-startup) I also turn off sleep for me its nothing but trouble on these notebooks there are to many systems that will not restart on waking up. These forums and others forums are filled with people complaining about there trackpad won't work on wake up or lots of other issues you have probably read some of them.

Darnassus
01-26-2018, 01:38 AM
For future reference, if you make your USB install Thumb drive using MCT. it will boot UEFI with secure boot enabled. fast boot is nothing but problems so I leave it disabled. I also turn off Hybrid shut down in windows. This is done in your power settings advanced (https://in.answers.acer.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/37059/~/windows-10%3A-enable-or-disable-fast-startup) I also turn off sleep for me its nothing but trouble on these notebooks there are to many systems that will not restart on waking up. These forums and others forums are filled with people complaining about there trackpad won't work on wake up or lots of other issues you have probably read some of them.

Yep. Just disable Fast Startup through Battery Config.


70918

Clintlgm
01-26-2018, 02:07 AM
Yep. Just disable Fast Startup through Battery Config.


70918
Yes turning that off will save you all kinds of grief.