PDA

View Full Version : New bios 1003 for Asus X hero input / questions



bass junkie xl
01-02-2018, 09:54 PM
BIOS
Version 1003
2018/01/028.23 MBytes
ROG MAXIMUS X HERO (WI-FI AC) BIOS 1003
Improve system performance.
Improved DRAM compatibility

has any one used this yet ? currently im on bios 802 with
8700k @ 5 ghz 1.33v adaptive -delided
g.skill rgb 16gb 3000 mhz @ manual over clock @ 4000 cl 18-19-19-38 auto vccio / vcssa
and its stable 24hr in tests

should i even flash it ?

does this bios fix the audio crackling / un balanced sound in the drivers ?

any input would be nice

erica647
01-03-2018, 12:16 AM
Where did you get this BIOS version? I don't see it up on the site yet.

Riplex
01-03-2018, 12:20 AM
Just look on the driver site on Asus.com. There is a new Bios 1003 for Asus Maximus X Formula too !

erica647
01-03-2018, 12:25 AM
Still not coming up for me... wonder if it's locale-related or if it's been pulled for some reason.

Menthol
01-03-2018, 12:28 AM
Give it a little while, if your board has an updated bios it will show soon, look in the other tab

Riplex
01-03-2018, 12:30 AM
Look here:

https://www.asus.com/de/Motherboards/ROG-MAXIMUS-X-HERO/HelpDesk_Download/

erica647
01-03-2018, 01:13 AM
So this isn't for the WiFi AC model?

bass junkie xl
01-03-2018, 02:01 AM
i flashed to version 1003 just fine evything works

1 new issue with bios 1003

i have 2 fans pluged in to to cpu opt near cpu and when i turn those fans up the fan header at the bootom right side of board also turns up to

issues fixed

1 issue is fixed is cpu z not reporting proper vcore cpu volts it does now work properly

on going issue
no vrm temps in hardware monitor or bios


crackling bad audio with un blanced sound :( ugh i was hoping ti was fixed

my 4000 mhz ram over clock from 3000 is still stable and my 5 ghz 1.33v adaptive is still stable

this is for asus rog x hero ( wifi )
link : https://www.asus.com/ca-en/Motherboards/ROG-MAXIMUS-X-HERO-WI-FI-AC/HelpDesk_Download/

erica647
01-03-2018, 02:53 AM
i flashed to version 1003 just fine evything works

1 new issue with bios 1003

i have 2 fans pluged in to to cpu opt near cpu and when i turn those fans up the fan header at the bootom right side of board also turns up to

issues fixed

1 issue is fixed is cpu z not reporting proper vcore cpu volts it does now work properly

on going issue
no vrm temps in hardware monitor or bios


crackling bad audio with un blanced sound :( ugh i was hoping ti was fixed

my 4000 mhz ram over clock from 3000 is still stable and my 5 ghz 1.33v adaptive is still stable

this is for asus rog x hero ( wifi )
link : https://www.asus.com/ca-en/Motherboards/ROG-MAXIMUS-X-HERO-WI-FI-AC/HelpDesk_Download/

Thank you for the link! :)

Tuff253
01-03-2018, 05:36 AM
1 issue is fixed is cpu z not reporting proper vcore cpu volts it does now work properly



Can you define not reporting proper vcore cpu volts? Do you mean it no longer shows overshoot or something else?

bass junkie xl
01-03-2018, 05:43 AM
Can you define not reporting proper vcore cpu volts? Do you mean it no longer shows overshoot or something else?

before cpuz would show always this cpu voltege no matter what
0.620 v or 0.0310 v
after new 1003 bios cpuz reports 100 % correct voltege for me 1.34v :) so its fixed with this bios and i dont need to always use hardware monitor all the time now

bass junkie xl
01-03-2018, 07:40 PM
2 new problems with bios 1003 now i have noticed .
its a new issue with the fan headers
i have top cpu_opt hooked to a top 140mm fan whhen adjusting that fun
ext_fan at bottom of board adjust with cpu_opt .......

probleme 2

ext_fan 3 i have my water pump to it and now can not run less then 100 % 24/7 in manual pmw mode ..... if i change
minamum % to less then 100 % it goes back to 100 .... i have to use the pre sets of silent or standanrd or its allways 100 % now .....
and i already tried the q fan auto adjusment thing to let me me know what min % evrything can run @

new bios fixes cpu z reporting worng voltege but brakes 2 fan headers and doesnt fix audio crackling :(

other issue why can i not run my fans less then 60 % or 100 % on this baord ????????
i dont need my fans @ 1800 rmps jet when siting here
i have tried pwm mode / dc mode / auto and then i ran the q fan auto dete4ct mode as well .........

William Clement
01-04-2018, 07:02 PM
2 new problems with bios 1003 now i have noticed .

new bios fixes cpu z reporting worng voltege but brakes 2 fan headers and doesnt fix audio crackling :(


Do you use Aida64 or other programs that uses the embbeded controller?
Because that was causing high dpc for me on acpi.sys. After I turned that off in aida64 my dpc is stable and no more cracks.

Some people where nvidia driver cause high dpc (sound craking) resolved it by turning off fast boot in windows.

Maybe check your dpc with LatencyMon/Dpclat to check what is causing it.


Anyway I also am using 1003 on my formulax still rocking 8700k@5,1ghz / 3600@cl16 stable. With avx downset0

Tuff253
01-04-2018, 11:00 PM
Do you use Aida64 or other programs that uses the embbeded controller?
Because that was causing high dpc for me on acpi.sys. After I turned that off in aida64 my dpc is stable and no more cracks.

Some people where nvidia driver cause high dpc (sound craking) resolved it by turning off fast boot in windows.

Maybe check your dpc with LatencyMon/Dpclat to check what is causing it.


Anyway I also am using 1003 on my formulax still rocking 8700k@5,1ghz / 3600@cl16 stable. With avx downset0


Prime95/cinebench scores or it didn't happen

emsir
01-05-2018, 06:13 AM
2 new problems with bios 1003 now i have noticed .
its a new issue with the fan headers
i have top cpu_opt hooked to a top 140mm fan whhen adjusting that fun
ext_fan at bottom of board adjust with cpu_opt .......

probleme 2

ext_fan 3 i have my water pump to it and now can not run less then 100 % 24/7 in manual pmw mode ..... if i change
minamum % to less then 100 % it goes back to 100 .... i have to use the pre sets of silent or standanrd or its allways 100 % now .....
and i already tried the q fan auto adjusment thing to let me me know what min % evrything can run @

new bios fixes cpu z reporting worng voltege but brakes 2 fan headers and doesnt fix audio crackling :(

other issue why can i not run my fans less then 60 % or 100 % on this baord ????????
i dont need my fans @ 1800 rmps jet when siting here
i have tried pwm mode / dc mode / auto and then i ran the q fan auto dete4ct mode as well .........

Why do you have your waterpump connected to ext_fan 3? Ext_fan is strictly for case fans and NOT waterpump!! Why do you think there are waterpump headers on the morherboard? Some people are just making problems and don't know how to connect things. You are the one causing problems NOT Bios 1003. Try to learn how to connect things on your motherboard.

bass junkie xl
01-05-2018, 10:52 AM
Why do you have your waterpump connected to ext_fan 3? Ext_fan is strictly for case fans and NOT waterpump!! Why do you think there are waterpump headers on the morherboard? Some people are just making problems and don't know how to connect things. You are the one causing problems NOT Bios 1003. Try to learn how to connect things on your motherboard.

does exactly the same thing when i plug it in to w + pump header i was using chassis ffan # 3 as i didnt need to stretch the cord so far .

previous bios didnt have this issue .

does the same thing on a few headers .

also when i adjust fan header cpu_opt wich is near the cpu top of board my chasis fan 2 @ bottom of board both are not controllable by them selves
if i turn up cpu opt chasis fan 2 goes up explain that ? didn't previously

MikelMolto
01-05-2018, 12:37 PM
There is a big difference between a Fan Header and a Water pump header.
A Water pump should not be regulated same like a Fan. If a Water pump is regulated then from a Software from the supplier of the Water pump.

mcmarky
01-05-2018, 06:23 PM
BIOS
8700k @ 5 ghz 1.33v adaptive -delided


I am trying to use adaptive voltage as well, but CPU-Z and HWInfo show me higher CPU voltages as I set in UEFI. Only in manual/override voltage the values are identic.

bass junkie xl
01-05-2018, 09:59 PM
There is a big difference between a Fan Header and a Water pump header.
A Water pump should not be regulated same like a Fan. If a Water pump is regulated then from a Software from the supplier of the Water pump.


i totaly under stand

my 360mm aio is a swifttec h320 x 2 and the pump gets power from a sata conection power plug the fan header is just for control the pump i like to have it
@ 1700 rmp @ 50 c and under and @ 65 c i like to have it @ 2000 rpm 75 c @ 100 %

my probelme was i cant control the pump even if i hook it to +w_pump does the same thing on bios 1003

bass junkie xl
01-05-2018, 10:05 PM
I am trying to use adaptive voltage as well, but CPU-Z and HWInfo show me higher CPU voltages as I set in UEFI. Only in manual/override voltage the values are identic.

you have to enable

SVID SUPPORT = ENABLE
SVID BEST CASE CINARIO

for adaptive to work

then type in the max voltege u want example 1.32v leave offset to auto

re test

i have 8700k @ 5 ghz adaptive
1.32v - 1.34v on load
load line calibration = 6
svid support=on
svid best cinario

Nokrahs
01-06-2018, 02:03 AM
BIOS
Version 1003
2018/01/028.23 MBytes
ROG MAXIMUS X HERO (WI-FI AC) BIOS 1003
Improve system performance.
Improved DRAM compatibility

has any one used this yet ? currently im on bios 802 with
8700k @ 5 ghz 1.33v adaptive -delided
g.skill rgb 16gb 3000 mhz @ manual over clock @ 4000 cl 18-19-19-38 auto vccio / vcssa
and its stable 24hr in tests

should i even flash it ?

does this bios fix the audio crackling / un balanced sound in the drivers ?

any input would be nice

I don't overclock my I7 8700K so running only my XMP Profile for the GSKILL 3200 Kit and everything
else on Intel defaults. no "sync-all-cores" or "MCE".

however, worked pretty good with the 0802 Bios but with the 1003 (same settings) I can't see a core clock over 4500 on any of the 6 cores.
tested with AIDA64Extreme . rolled back to 0802 and it works again (core clocks between 800-4700).

the new version might be fine if you OC but not for me. it makes things worse.

Nickelsig229
01-06-2018, 02:57 AM
I get an error saying "selected file is not a proper bios"


I have been waiting in hopes that they would release a bios where the xmp could id my memory and run it stable. I paid for qvl corsair memory and it is running at 1866 instead of the 3600. I would even settle for 3200 at this point.

bass junkie xl
01-06-2018, 05:34 AM
I don't overclock my I7 8700K so running only my XMP Profile for the GSKILL 3200 Kit and everything
else on Intel defaults. no "sync-all-cores" or "MCE".

however, worked pretty good with the 0802 Bios but with the 1003 (same settings) I can't see a core clock over 4500 on any of the 6 cores.
tested with AIDA64Extreme . rolled back to 0802 and it works again (core clocks between 800-4700).

the new version might be fine if you OC but not for me. it makes things worse.

couldnt u fix that by doing this

turn multy core enhancment off

manual type in 47 core ratio
sync all cores
that would be the same thing and i bet it wont down clock i dont use multy core enhancment as manualy typig in is the same .

bass junkie xl
01-06-2018, 05:40 AM
I get an error saying "selected file is not a proper bios"


I have been waiting in hopes that they would release a bios where the xmp could id my memory and run it stable. I paid for qvl corsair memory and it is running at 1866 instead of the 3600. I would even settle for 3200 at this point.

have you tried playing with vccio / vcssa volts ?

some xmps apply to much or to little of those 2 try 1.275 vcssa / 1.25v vccio @ 3600 if nto try 3466 then try 3200

then pump the vccio / vcssa up again and test try 1.3v vcssa 1.28v vccio

i have my g.skill rgb 16gb 3000 mhz xmp cl 14-14-14-34 manual over clocked to
4000 mhz cl 18-19-19-39 vccio=auto vcssa=auto no issue at all
my vccio auto = 1.32v and my vcssa auto = 1.320 those are on auto i could lower them to but thats another day main thing is there stable 1000 mhz over xmp and decent ish timmings .

you shouldnt have a issue on this board play around with those 2 options

Nokrahs
01-06-2018, 02:17 PM
couldnt u fix that by doing this

turn multy core enhancment off

manual type in 47 core ratio
sync all cores
that would be the same thing and i bet it wont down clock i dont use multy core enhancment as manualy typig in is the same .

Greetings!

first of all, thanks for the suggestions. however, as I said "I do not overclock" which means my CPU runs within Intel Specifications.
single core up to 4700MHz, four cores up to 4500MHz and 2 cores up to 4600MHz and six cores up to 4300MHz.
that's the "AUTO" setting in the Bios for clock speed.

"per core" and everythin on "Auto" is the same. "sync-all-cores" is overclocking all cores to a frequency e.g. 5000MHz while Intel default settings
balance the frequency across all cores depending on the given task the "sync-all-cores" just goes all out max frequency for all cores which
is overclocking, generates more heat and uses more power usually.

"MCE" is off anyways.on a fresh bios with "optimized settings loaded" I simply pick "XMP" and select "No" for optimized power settings. only my
GSKILL runs at 3200 with the correct settings and higher voltage. setting my PWM Fans to Standard, disabling sensors I dont need and switch CPU Power Management from AUTO to ON. that's pretty much all I change in the UEFI.

with the 0802 Bios I get correct clocks in "Intel default mode (Auto)" everything runs just fine. CPU is juggling load across all cores between 800 and 4700 for every core individually.

with 1003 I'm sitting at 4500MHz max clock even for single core tasks. CPU never goes beyond that for single (4700) or dual (4600) core tasks.
CPU and DRAM are detected correctly in the Bios with max 4700MHz and 3200MHz. I just don't get the settings to run in Windows10 later on.

Benchmarks are the same as before but that's not surprising me because all cores are usually in use @4300MHz as they should.
so Cinebench is sitting at around 1450 with stock settings and around 1530 with "all cores synced to 4700MHz and about 1610 @5000MHz .
but I want to run the CPU defaults for now, not the overclocked settings. My temps with stock are never higher than 60C on any core and CPU is
pulling about 50% less power from the wall. I don't need the additional 8-10% Performance at the moment.

I don't know if there is a Issue with the new Bios or the Tools reading clock speeds . I used CPU-Z, Aida64Extreme and NZXT CAM so far for that.

SherardG
01-06-2018, 03:00 PM
Crackling sound due to NVIDIA Drivers. Don't allow your computer to go to sleep and disable if you can any non-realtek audio solutions. I am still on BIOS v 0505 since the next update after that will severely screw with my manual configuration as LLC values are far different. Though the newer patches are more stable and provide far less stock voltage on defaults.

bass junkie xl
01-06-2018, 08:45 PM
Crackling sound due to NVIDIA Drivers. Don't allow your computer to go to sleep and disable if you can any non-realtek audio solutions. I am still on BIOS v 0505 since the next update after that will severely screw with my manual configuration as LLC values are far different. Though the newer patches are more stable and provide far less stock voltage on defaults.

i never got to try 505 on my hero i tried 802 and 1003 so far .

i have a usb razer kraken head set with the razer snapcs sound panel app

if i disable fast start up and my razer osound panel app and all start up apps the crackling is still there and 20 % un blanced sound

Taint3dBulge
01-07-2018, 02:22 AM
Ahhh, it seems like there are some problems with this new bios.

Everything is seeming to run "ok" but i just flashed it. The only thing is, my ram OC using the 901 wont work with the 1003 in the APEX. Try to run 4000mhz 17-17-17-34 T1, but can only get it to boot with 18-18-18 35 T2. so maybe im going to go back to 901. Anyone else have this problem

Menthol
01-07-2018, 03:15 AM
1003 works fine on my Apex, haven't noticed having to change anything by any measurable margin to tune ram at same speed and timings but it is not unusual to have to do so, it is a different bios

SherardG
01-07-2018, 05:17 AM
i never got to try 505 on my hero i tried 802 and 1003 so far .

i have a usb razer kraken head set with the razer snapcs sound panel app

if i disable fast start up and my razer osound panel app and all start up apps the crackling is still there and 20 % un blanced sound

I also use Razer Synapse with Razer Surround Pro (I have a Kraken Pro v2 but the analog one). I think you are still using hybrid sleep. It has something to do with NVIDIA Drivers. Try to force a restart and see if the issue still persists.

Watching your thread to see if I should update to the new BIOS :D And the ext_fan headers are for fans only and have a 1 amp throughput. Try the water pump header which is same as high amperage fan header @ 3 amps.

bass junkie xl
01-07-2018, 09:53 AM
Ahhh, it seems like there are some problems with this new bios.

Everything is seeming to run "ok" but i just flashed it. The only thing is, my ram OC using the 901 wont work with the 1003 in the APEX. Try to run 4000mhz 17-17-17-34 T1, but can only get it to boot with 18-18-18 35 T2. so maybe im going to go back to 901. Anyone else have this problem


4000mhz 17-17-17-34 T1 ........ wow thats insane what voltege ?? what kit is it normaly ?

thats odd i have g.skill 16gb 3000 cl 14-14-14-34 2t xmp @ manual stable 4000 mhz @ 18-19-19-39 2t 1.4 v vccio =auto vcssa=auto secondarys on auto and this manual oc was stable on 802 and this 1003 for me anyways

bass junkie xl
01-07-2018, 10:00 AM
I also use Razer Synapse with Razer Surround Pro (I have a Kraken Pro v2 but the analog one). I think you are still using hybrid sleep. It has something to do with NVIDIA Drivers. Try to force a restart and see if the issue still persists.

Watching your thread to see if I should update to the new BIOS :D And the ext_fan headers are for fans only and have a 1 amp throughput. Try the water pump header which is same as high amperage fan header @ 3 amps.

i went to power options hybrid / fast start up is off and my pc gets shut off and on 3 times a day and never runs unatended .
crackling still there
shut down all apps crackling still there

yeah i moved my aio 360mm water pump around to a few diffrent headers same thing only one that goes below 60 % is h+amp weird .

i ran dpc latency checker and my intel netowrk card is giving me 90 - 590 ms latency isnt to bad but kinda high ...
nvidia giving me up to 90 - 1050 ms it jumps to 1100 when launchign game other then that its under 150 ms
storage port.sys gives me up 2100 ms when loading some maps in games its a intel 600p

most of the time im in the 90 - 350 ms dpc latency so not the werst of what i have seen .

update : when using rear front speakers out on the realtek with my head set ( analog ) i dont have crackling
if i use front panel audio ( head set ) i get crackling

shankly1985
01-07-2018, 04:16 PM
Everything seems to be working fine so far here. I7 8700k OC to 4.7 all cores.
I do however hope this fixes a SSD loading issue I been having.

If I PC running for couple hours games will stop loading from my Samsung SSD. Very strange issue.

mcmarky
01-09-2018, 12:03 PM
Is it possible to add the time delay of fan control in the Q-Fan menue as it included in the AI-Suite FAN XPERT? :)

MoonFrost
01-13-2018, 05:28 AM
i went to power options hybrid / fast start up is off and my pc gets shut off and on 3 times a day and never runs unatended .
crackling still there
shut down all apps crackling still there

yeah i moved my aio 360mm water pump around to a few diffrent headers same thing only one that goes below 60 % is h+amp weird .

i ran dpc latency checker and my intel netowrk card is giving me 90 - 590 ms latency isnt to bad but kinda high ...
nvidia giving me up to 90 - 1050 ms it jumps to 1100 when launchign game other then that its under 150 ms
storage port.sys gives me up 2100 ms when loading some maps in games its a intel 600p

most of the time im in the 90 - 350 ms dpc latency so not the werst of what i have seen .

update : when using rear front speakers out on the realtek with my head set ( analog ) i dont have crackling
if i use front panel audio ( head set ) i get crackling

I have the asus formula x, I bought some cable mod cables and some extentions for the audio and USB. I dont know if it was the added length, interference with something in the back, or something else, but that gave me crackling. I had to remove the pretty cable and plug the one that came with my case. It went back to normal with no crackling.

Id advise taking a look at your front panel audio cable, and maybe try replacing it, or isolate it as much as possible away from other cables that would cause interference.

SherardG
01-13-2018, 11:11 PM
i went to power options hybrid / fast start up is off and my pc gets shut off and on 3 times a day and never runs unatended .
crackling still there
shut down all apps crackling still there

yeah i moved my aio 360mm water pump around to a few diffrent headers same thing only one that goes below 60 % is h+amp weird .

i ran dpc latency checker and my intel netowrk card is giving me 90 - 590 ms latency isnt to bad but kinda high ...
nvidia giving me up to 90 - 1050 ms it jumps to 1100 when launchign game other then that its under 150 ms
storage port.sys gives me up 2100 ms when loading some maps in games its a intel 600p

most of the time im in the 90 - 350 ms dpc latency so not the werst of what i have seen .

update : when using rear front speakers out on the realtek with my head set ( analog ) i dont have crackling
if i use front panel audio ( head set ) i get crackling

Hello,

Try using your stock cables that came with the case. You may be using custom cables and crackling is not happening on kernel/software level any longer, but due to hardware interference, it can also be that the front panel cables are detecting bad impedance, at this rate, even volume controls won't work so well.


Everything seems to be working fine so far here. I7 8700k OC to 4.7 all cores.
I do however hope this fixes a SSD loading issue I been having.

If I PC running for couple hours games will stop loading from my Samsung SSD. Very strange issue.

Please check your memory chip and SSD Controller temps; they might be so hot that SSD performance is throttled. JEDEC values for consumers for performance, endurance, and data retention is 40C, 8 hours per day on active use with < 1 sector in 10^15 bits read, and maximum retention of data on power off for one year is 30C with functional failure requirement </= 3%; this is especially true for aggressive thermal changes. Also, keep in mind that SSDs do not do a good job of reporting un-recoverable errors; it would start doing so (well enough to notice on your error logging) only when your drive is about to fail, which is not a good sign!

bloot
01-14-2018, 03:39 PM
Still no VRM temp on my Maximus X Hero :(

swddeluxx
01-14-2018, 09:08 PM
Still no VRM temp on my Maximus X Hero :(


The VRM Temp Sensor is only with Maximus Hero X Wi-Fi Boards!, I have two Boards there(Maximus X and Maximus X Wi-Fi).

Feklar
02-03-2018, 08:12 PM
The VRM Temp Sensor is only with Maximus Hero X Wi-Fi Boards!, I have two Boards there(Maximus X and Maximus X Wi-Fi).

I just built a 8700k with Hero non Wi-Fi. Updated bios to 0802. There is no option for monitoring vrm temps in the bios but AIDA64 does show vrm temps and it works perfectly.

Foylez
03-23-2018, 04:04 PM
Hello, i saw on the asus page there is a new bios Version out there. "Version 1101" i found it first under Windows 10 64 but after a couple of minutes it wasnt available anymore.
But you can find it under Windows 8 64. Whats new with this Version ?

https://ufile.io/ca50p (here u can download it. KEEP IN MIND its for Windows 8.1 64Bit)

Zammin
03-24-2018, 01:49 AM
Hello, i saw on the asus page there is a new bios Version out there. "Version 1101" i found it first under Windows 10 64 but after a couple of minutes it wasnt available anymore.
But you can find it under Windows 8 64. Whats new with this Version ?

https://ufile.io/ca50p (here u can download it. KEEP IN MIND its for Windows 8.1 64Bit)

It's showing up for me: https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/ROG-MAXIMUS-X-HERO-WI-FI-AC/HelpDesk_BIOS/

Although it is strange that there are no change log notes. For example the previous versions say things like "improved system performance" etc.