PDA

View Full Version : AN HERO X 8700K default settings not stable



denny3141
01-08-2018, 06:59 AM
I can't pass OCCT CPU test at default bios settings (don't touching anything). Error occurs sometimes at first 1-20 seconds. All long run tests seems to be ok.
The temperature isn't issues because i'm using watercooling.
Is it designed behaviour or i have faulty hardware?

Deepcuts
01-08-2018, 07:19 AM
I suggest grabbing memtest86 ISO, write it to a USB and test your memory.
My brand new system was not stable also and didn't even think about testing the RAM at 1st. I was 100% sure it was ok....for some reason.
After testing I found out one stick was faulty, causing random bsods.

denny3141
01-08-2018, 08:42 AM
Deepcuts, yes i did it for 4 hours without errors.

Raja@ASUS
01-08-2018, 09:56 AM
Try disabling "ASUS Multicore Enhancement" in UEFI, and then re-run the test.

denny3141
01-08-2018, 01:07 PM
Try disabling "ASUS Multicore Enhancement" in UEFI, and then re-run the test.

Doesn't help, still got this error on first seconds.

emsir
01-08-2018, 02:09 PM
I can't pass OCCT CPU test at default bios settings (don't touching anything). Error occurs sometimes at first 1-20 seconds. All long run tests seems to be ok.
The temperature isn't issues because i'm using watercooling.
Is it designed behaviour or i have faulty hardware?


OCCT CPU test only supports Kaby Lake and Skylake chips, so your problem is you need to do some research about the software you are using to test your PC.

Raja@ASUS
01-08-2018, 02:47 PM
OCCT CPU test only supports Kaby Lake and Skylake chips, so your problem is you need to do some research about the software you are using to test your PC.


Runs fine on my system:

70301

denny3141
01-08-2018, 02:53 PM
OCCT CPU test only supports Kaby Lake and Skylake chips, so your problem is you need to do some research about the software you are using to test your PC.

Which OCCT version are you talking about? I'm using 4.5.1 version and its shows coffe lake at info block. Previous version showed kaby lake.

Raja@ASUS, large data set also ok for me, the problem occurs only at small data set and not always. Some times you have 10 succesful in a row but next will fail at 5 - 10 seconds after start.

Raja@ASUS
01-08-2018, 02:59 PM
Small data set is usually CPU stability related. If it's only happening sometimes (one in 10 times), I'd try a different CPU intensive stress test. See if you still get failures. As you're only running at stock frequencies, Prime95 small FFTs should be okay for a comparison.

denny3141
01-08-2018, 03:17 PM
I tried p95 with small fft before and now again. Never got errors, all fine.
This error reproduced only at OCCT.

Raja@ASUS
01-08-2018, 03:47 PM
Then I would not worry about it.

AntonioL
01-08-2018, 08:30 PM
*Hi,

I have encountered exactly the same issue after updating to BIOS 0605 on a Z370-F: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?98305-Z370-E-15-december-BIOS-0605-amp-5605/page3

Only OCCT test fails after a few seconds (or it will run for as much time I let it), all other stress tests work fine.
I could not reproduce this error under Windows 7, only under Windows 10. Maybe Intel Speed Shift is the cause ? After disabling the option under BIOS, I did not have any fail of OCCT, but I did not try many times as I was fed up, so I gave up and switched back the functionality. Since, I did not have any crash.*

denny3141
01-08-2018, 08:51 PM
AntonioL, very interesting, at least i'm not alone.

How the overclocking abilites of your cpu? Mine is very poor, windows 10 boot fails even at 1.4 Vcore with target 4.8GHz, so i suppose this is a combination of weak CPU instance and some settings you mentioned.

Exalanoto
01-08-2018, 09:07 PM
I had massive problems with my setup at first, i had random BSOD's and random complete shutdowns with restarts.

Mine is now stable, and has been stable for a long time now. In my case it was VCCIO voltage problem. But i can post some pictures of my Bios and you can try those settings iff youd like. i have the 8700k and Maximus X hero

denny3141
01-08-2018, 09:09 PM
Please post them then

Exalanoto
01-08-2018, 09:22 PM
70318703197032070321703227032370324

Exalanoto
01-08-2018, 09:24 PM
You need to put in the specs of youre own ram, as mine might not work.

im running G.skill Trident 3600mhz 2x8gb

denny3141
01-08-2018, 09:56 PM
Thanks for posting, but my OCCT error still here. Disabling Speed Shift also doesn't help.

AntonioL
01-08-2018, 10:09 PM
AntonioL, very interesting, at least i'm not alone.

How the overclocking abilites of your cpu? Mine is very poor, windows 10 boot fails even at 1.4 Vcore with target 4.8GHz, so i suppose this is a combination of weak CPU instance and some settings you mentioned.

I think my CPU is average. I can oc all cores at 4.8 GHz at about 1.25V, but temps become too high at heavy loads as the cooler is a Pure Rock.

As everything else works flawlessly, I decided not to pay more attention to OCCT.

I tried to tweak many things, as I explain in my post on the other thread, but no attempt succeeded.*