PDA

View Full Version : Trident Z 4266MHz - how to run?



Meloman
01-11-2018, 03:19 PM
Hello everyone,
My hardware:
- Asus ROG Maximus X Hero (bios v. 1003)
- F4-4266C19D-16GTZA (2x8 GB) - in A2 and B2 slots.
I cannot boot up my system (Win 10 Pro 64) when I set DRAM in XMP mode, so please help, how to run manually?
Which specific BIOS settings should be changed?
DRAM specification:
tCL - 19, tRCD - 19, tRP - 19, tRAS - 39, command rate - 1 (?).

Raja@ASUS
01-11-2018, 03:56 PM
You wont be able to achieve DDR4-4266 on this board. Better to aim for something between DDR4-3600 to DDR4-3866. Speeds over DDR4-4000 with two-DIMM kits are best suited to the Maximus X Apex. Even then, its better not to run over DDR4-4200, because you have to sacrifice performance.

bass junkie xl
01-11-2018, 07:34 PM
Hello everyone,
My hardware:
- Asus ROG Maximus X Hero (bios v. 1003)
- F4-4266C19D-16GTZA (2x8 GB) - in A2 and B2 slots.
I cannot boot up my system (Win 10 Pro 64) when I set DRAM in XMP mode, so please help, how to run manually?
Which specific BIOS settings should be changed?
DRAM specification:
tCL - 19, tRCD - 19, tRP - 19, tRAS - 39, command rate - 1 (?).

i have my 3000 mhz cl 1-14-14-34 xmp kit @ manual oc of 4000 mhz cl 18-19-19-38 1.4v

try 4000 mhz speed 18-19-38 in the dram timming tab first 3 u see 18 then 19 then 38 1.4v reboot see if she likes it

Phillyflyer
01-12-2018, 12:02 AM
I have the Asus Maximus X Code...running a quad kit of GSkill Trident Z RGB 3600mhz CL16 with no issues whatsoever...infact..they are currently running at 4133mhz CL 17 with 1.37v.
Please do the following :
Insert only 1 stick and boot @ default 2133mhz..once up and running...shut down...install remaining ram...reboot into bios...change to XMP....scroll down..set your memory frequency of a your ram to whatever it's supposed to be...( in OP's case...4266mhz)....go to dram timings and set mode to Mode 1.....reboot and you should be good to go...if not...just up your dram voltage to 1.37v.

Phillyflyer
01-12-2018, 12:06 AM
Just another quick note....with 1.4 volts to dram...I have also had board running 4300mhz with CL 18 timings.

MarthaMay
01-12-2018, 12:15 AM
You wont be able to achieve DDR4-4266 on this board. Better to aim for something between DDR4-3600 to DDR4-3866. Speeds over DDR4-4000 with two-DIMM kits are best suited to the Maximus X Apex. Even then, its better not to run over DDR4-4200, because you have to sacrifice performance.


True DAT! :D

Don't these ROGers know the next step up from 3200/14 is the two brand new GSkill kits at 4500/19 and 4600/19?

And they both are not even ready for prime time yet. Even on the Apex 10. Raja is correct.

GO with 3200/14, save some money and tweak it to 4000MHz/13latency if you want to have some real fun, and are willing to put in the time. :D

swddeluxx
01-12-2018, 12:52 AM
You wont be able to achieve DDR4-4266 on this board. Better to aim for something between DDR4-3600 to DDR4-3866. Speeds over DDR4-4000 with two-DIMM kits are best suited to the Maximus X Apex. Even then, its better not to run over DDR4-4200, because you have to sacrifice performance.


Hmmm.... Raja@ASUS

Why are these memory settings there when the motherboard can not support them? :confused:

Request for YOUR comments please :rolleyes:

https://img17.dreamies.de/img/905/t/qmo0drwzxmr.jpg (https://www.dreamies.de/show.php?img=qmo0drwzxmr.jpg)

MarthaMay
01-12-2018, 01:00 AM
Hmmm.... Raja@ASUS

Why are these memory settings there when the motherboard can not support them? :confused:

Request for YOUR comments please :rolleyes:

https://img17.dreamies.de/img/905/t/qmo0drwzxmr.jpg (https://www.dreamies.de/show.php?img=qmo0drwzxmr.jpg)

If you don't want to hear from any other ROGers experiences with high speed memory and the Z370 series boards, then just PM Raja Direct.

That's the easiest way. :confused:

swddeluxx
01-12-2018, 01:21 AM
If you don't want to hear from any other ROGers experiences with high speed memory and the Z370 series boards, then just PM Raja Direct.

That's the easiest way. :confused:



Stop!, you misunderstood me.
Of course I want to listen all opinions but Raja answer would be important wil he is directly from Asus.

MarthaMay
01-12-2018, 01:32 AM
Stop!, you misunderstood me.
Of course I want to listen all opinions but Raja answer would be important wil he is directly from Asus.

I sowwy. :o

Menthol
01-12-2018, 02:36 AM
Because of the dividers, more speeds than are supported may appear, especially if you have a high speed kit installed, it may expose speeds you wouldn't normally see, it has been like this for a long time.
That does not mean that the board supports it. That doesn't necessarily mean that if you have a CPU with a very good IMC and you have enough skills that it cannot be done either.
I have a 2x8 16GN 4133 kit on my Hero, it struggles to run stably, or I struggle to run them stably, it takes a higher VCCIO and VCCSA voltage to get there than I prefer
And as Raja has stated many times a tuned 4000 mhz will out performs raw mhz every time
That doesn't mean you wasted money or the extra mhz your kit is rated for is wasted as it may mean it will be easier to reach the boards capabilites, or you may have an easier time running 4133 on your kit than I do on mine as that is the max rating on my kit

The voltages that may help reach the speed you want are
vCore usually needs a small bump
vdimm, 1.4 to 1.45 is safe, even 1.5v
VCCIO, 1.25 to 1.35v,
VCCSA, 1.275 to 1.35v

These voltages are going to make your CPU run much hotter so I hope you have the cooling to compensate

Break a leg bro, and don't cry when it frys

Menthol
01-12-2018, 04:11 AM
You got my curiosity up so I removed my 4266 kit from my Apex and stuck it on my Hero Wifi, all default bios settings, set XMP only didn't touch anything else and it booted right up

70453

You can see the voltages the board/CPU set, VCCIO and VCCSA required a very high voltage, I rebooted and it froze during post so this was in no way stable
I figured I would go all crazy and try 4400mhz, I knew it wasn't going to boot so I manually entered vDimm SA and IO to crazy high to give the board chance

70454

Non of these settings were tested except to boot and take a screen shot but in my mind it proves that the Hero's capabilities exceed manufacturers specifications if one has a capable CPU and Memory kit and have a little experience OCing and patience

I immediately turned the system off, reinstalled my 4133 RGB kit as I use this as my daily rig, I will leave the extreme settings for the extreme board "Apex" it is designed for this and it is not my daily system

If you try any of these settings and kill your CPU, Memory kit, or motherboard don't cry to me or ASUS,

Raja@ASUS
01-12-2018, 06:33 AM
The Hero uses t-topology, which favors 4-dimm configs (typically south of DDR4-4000, unless you get lucky). For most users, the stable 2-dimm operating range that will be unconditionally stable falls in the range quoted on the previous page. There is a big difference between booting up and being stable enough to deem operable for the masses.

Raja@ASUS
01-12-2018, 06:36 AM
Hmmm.... Raja@ASUS

Why are these memory settings there when the motherboard can not support them? :confused:

Request for YOUR comments please :rolleyes:

https://img17.dreamies.de/img/905/t/qmo0drwzxmr.jpg (https://www.dreamies.de/show.php?img=qmo0drwzxmr.jpg)

The ratios are simply part of the platform. Doesn't mean all of them have to work in every config. The question is odd. It's akin to assuming a CPU can do an unconditionally stable 8GHz just because a given ratio or BCLK range is available.

Meloman
01-12-2018, 05:19 PM
Thanks everyone, but I've tried early to set up DRAM frequency on 4133 MHz in BIOS - without good result.
My question to settings BIOS:
- XMP in BIOS - on or off?
- DRAM Frequency - set to 4113 MHz or lower.
- DRAM VOLTAGE - set to 1,40V?
- command rate set up to 1T or 2T or auto?
What else? How set up tCL (19), tRCD (19), tRP (19) and tRAS (39) in BIOS?
Can I use MemOK! button to solve my problem?

swddeluxx
01-23-2018, 11:55 AM
The ratios are simply part of the platform. Doesn't mean all of them have to work in every config. The question is odd. It's akin to assuming a CPU can do an unconditionally stable 8GHz just because a given ratio or BCLK range is available.

This is my second PC aktuell with Hero X Board without VRM sensor :( but very good 8700K oc chip and high Memory Speed (overclocked with Adaptive Vcore and full stable),
My next OC Step is 4266MHz Memory Speed

70874

Raja@ASUS
01-23-2018, 11:59 AM
You're better off with a 1T command rate and a lower operating frequency than chasing DDR4-4266.

swddeluxx
01-27-2018, 01:19 PM
You're better off with a 1T command rate and a lower operating frequency than chasing DDR4-4266.

This is my AIDA64 Scores aktuell with 4133 2T Memory Settings

70955


and with 1T is no Post possible with Hero Board, have you a little Tip to post with 1T Raja@ASUS ?

Raja@ASUS
01-27-2018, 02:52 PM
This is my AIDA64 Scores aktuell with 4133 2T Memory Settings

70955


and with 1T is no Post possible with Hero Board, have you a little Tip to post with 1T Raja@ASUS ?


Use a lower memory frequency, and then tune the timings for optimal performance.

swddeluxx
02-04-2018, 11:19 PM
Use a lower memory frequency, and then tune the timings for optimal performance.

as you say there is a little optimized Timings with lower memory frequency and 1T Command Rate

71326

https://valid.x86.fr/pnrz74

5.2 GHz - 5.0 GHz Uncore - 3800 MHz Memory ( 15-16-16-28-1T )

with Adaptive Overclock by 1.312Vcore *by heavy last* and 0.656Vcore im Idle.
1.41 Ram Voltage, interesting stuff is, by only:

1.05 VCCIO
1.1 VSA

Temps are from 23 - 60C maximal (with very heavy last), all is stable.

what du you say now Raja ? ;)

Silent Scone@ROG
02-05-2018, 08:16 AM
removed

Raja@ASUS
02-05-2018, 12:34 PM
as you say there is a little optimized Timings with lower memory frequency and 1T Command Rate

71326

https://valid.x86.fr/pnrz74

5.2 GHz - 5.0 GHz Uncore - 3800 MHz Memory ( 15-16-16-28-1T )

with Adaptive Overclock by 1.312Vcore *by heavy last* and 0.656Vcore im Idle.
1.41 Ram Voltage, interesting stuff is, by only:

1.05 VCCIO
1.1 VSA

Temps are from 23 - 60C maximal (with very heavy last), all is stable.

what du you say now Raja ? ;)


Tighten all the sub-timings, and be happy with the lower access latency ;)

swddeluxx
02-10-2018, 01:59 PM
4266 MHz Target is down :)

71471

https://valid.x86.fr/rg4mlb



my next target is 4300 Mhz ;)

Raja@ASUS
02-10-2018, 02:54 PM
Be sure to post up some hci memtest screenshots with a minimum of 500% coverage. Or you can try this for 500% coverage, too: https://www.karhusoftware.com/ramtest/

And, it's always good to state the voltage used for all memory associated rails.

swddeluxx
02-18-2018, 04:20 PM
For full stable with main 4266Mhz Memory Setup
I have set VCCIO 1.1V & VSA 1.150V in Bios
over 1000% coverage in Karhusoftware Ramtest :cool:

71727

now will test this Board with 4300 Ram Speed

Silent Scone@ROG
02-18-2018, 05:52 PM
Good result :)

Raja@ASUS
02-19-2018, 02:39 AM
For full stable with main 4266Mhz Memory Setup
I have set VCCIO 1.1V & VSA 1.150V in Bios
over 1000% coverage in Karhusoftware Ramtest :cool:

71727

now will test this Board with 4300 Ram Speed

Be sure to include the memory timing tabs of cpu-z in your screenshot next time. It's always wise to do so when you're showing memory stability results. And if you really want to be useful, you can include memtweakit, too. Without that info, you're setting yourself up for people to ask whether the result is genuine.