Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Angry Boot problem after oc.

    Hello guys!!!

    I followed the tutorial of der8auer to overcloke my 8700K, I do everything as he says in his video and everything works in a stable and well, the problem comes when I start the pc in cold that happens what you see in the video.

    der8auer video:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CoUtA7DKXhU&t=660s


    my pc fail boot:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZwWPbFp1rY


    Any one can help me again please???

    my pc using:
    asus rog maximus x hero wifi ac
    8700K
    RL corsair h115i

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    Hi elopezam1

    Basically this means your system is not quite stable.

    Every CPU and every system is different so while videos like der8auer's are a good guide...they are just that, a guide. You have to maybe reduce the multiplier one or two...maybe raise the voltage a bit...in the end there are no recipes you have to do a bit of experimenting to find what is best for your particular setup...

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Hi elopezam1

    Basically this means your system is not quite stable.

    Every CPU and every system is different so while videos like der8auer's are a good guide...they are just that, a guide. You have to maybe reduce the multiplier one or two...maybe raise the voltage a bit...in the end there are no recipes you have to do a bit of experimenting to find what is best for your particular setup...
    it's not because it's unstable, it's still happening by lowering the frequency (4.8Ghz) and raising the voltage (1.33v), I think it's some option that I've played in the bios but I do not know which.

    besides, it always happens when I turn it on cold the first time, once it freezes and I force the shutdown, when restarting it starts me without problems.
    Last edited by elopezam1; 02-15-2018 at 10:03 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(3) SSD's - Samsung 960 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    1,002

    You didn't state your complete system specs, it would help to get a complete overview of what you are doing. What about your memory and what clocking are you using? What about your power supply? Other accessories or components? If you are overclocking and you are getting "weirdness" during operation then yes it's unstable.
    Davemon50

  5. #5
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    Quote Originally Posted by elopezam1 View Post
    it's not because it's unstable
    If you set your system to F5 defaults in the BIOS...no OC...does it happen?

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Calle richet

    Quote Originally Posted by davemon50 View Post
    You didn't state your complete system specs, it would help to get a complete overview of what you are doing. What about your memory and what clocking are you using? What about your power supply? Other accessories or components? If you are overclocking and you are getting "weirdness" during operation then yes it's unstable.
    mi pc:
    asus rog maximus x hero wifi ac
    intel 8700k
    LR corsair h115i
    ram g.skill trident z rgb 3466mhz (work at 2800mhz, auto voltaje)
    power supply corsair rm850i
    graphics card 1080ti aourus waterforce
    audio card, sound blaster zxr
    2 monitors, 1 display port (1440p 27"), 1 hdmi (1080p 22")
    asus rog claymore keyboard
    mouse steel series sensei wireless.


    in my opinion by what I see I think it fits with the pc to start does not have enough voltage processor or something like that, but I tried to upload it and I still do the same, the first does not start.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    If you set your system to F5 defaults in the BIOS...no OC...does it happen?
    if restoring bios settings allways boot properly.

  8. #8
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    OK...now overclock the CPU only not the RAM...leave that at defaults...see if it happens.

    Also leave CPU at stock and OC RAM to rated settings...see if it happens...

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    thanks guys, I have managed to solve the problem, I had activated in erdp the S4 + S5 states, I left it alone in S5 and now it starts without problems.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •