Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array KaptainKarl PC Specs
    KaptainKarl PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X CODE Z370
    Processori7 8700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4 3200MHZ 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080TI FTW3
    MonitorASUS ROG 3440x1440 w/ Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair 760T White
    Power SupplyEVGA 850w Supernova G2
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux Silent
    Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
    Headset Hyper X
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Logitech
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterMotorola

    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Slower boot time when setting RAM speed - Maximus X Code

    Hello all..I am new here and pretty new to Asus motherboards, but not to PC building..Here's my dilemma, maybe someone can educate me

    I just built a Maximus X Code system with an i7 8700k and 32gb of Corsair Vengeance 3200mhz RAM (additional specs in profile)..I am running the most current bios for this board (1003) and overall I have been happy with this build! So far, I have left everything in terms of speed, at default..But now I would like to overclock this puppy on a regular basis but found something odd..

    At default speeds, I get a boot time of roughly 20-22 seconds to desktop (starting when I press the power button)...However, when I manually set my RAM, and only my RAM, to 3200mhz, I get a boot time of 30-32 seconds..Same thing happens if I set it to the XMP profile...I did manage to get a stable 5.0ghz overclock, but the boot time did not improve and stayed the same.

    I would think that you would get a quicker boot time when overclocking, maybe not an extraordinary amount..perhaps a second or two..But certainly not a 10 second increase.

    Thanks for any help!

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,819

    Timing these things is such a bizarre way of measuring the performance of a system, don't really understand why you'd think it makes sense to do so.

    Overclocking isn't just you selecting a memory ratio, the motherboard needs to train the DRAM and pass a series of tests at POST to ensure the memory is stable. These routines likely do put a few seconds onto the boot time.

    Stop measuring performance this way.
    Last edited by Silent Scone@ASUS; 02-21-2018 at 08:23 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array jjxakergm PC Specs
    jjxakergm PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus IX Apex@MyMOD BIOS
    ProcessorIntel Core i3-8350k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080 Ti Gaming X
    MonitorDell u2713H
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 250GB
    Storage #2Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
    CPU CoolerDeepcool Captain 240 EX
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro M Tempered Glass
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME 750W Titanium
    Keyboard G.SKILL Ripjaws KM780 RGB
    Mouse Razer Lancehead TE
    Mouse Pad G.SKILL Ripjaws MP780
    Headset/Speakers Edifier R2800 + Supra ZAC Toslink Optical
    OS Win 10 RS4 x64@MyMod OS/ISO
    Network RouterAsus RT-N65U@Сustom FW "Project Padavan"

    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    KaptainKarl
    This is the standard disease of all boards from Asus. for example, MSI does not suffer from this.
    You will not do anything with it, it's a problem of the code in the BIOS all Asus LGA 1151...
    A long start should be once, not on a permanent basis.
    Last edited by jjxakergm; 02-21-2018 at 06:29 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    This exact thing is happening with my Maximus X Hero motherboard. I did not really notice it with 3200MHz ram, but when I swapped those to 3600MHz CL16 samsung b-die ram, the boot/post time increased dramatically. It probably takes 10 more seconds than before to even display the initial bios post screen and start thinking about booting from there.

  5. #5
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by jjxakergm View Post
    KaptainKarl
    This is the standard disease of all boards from Asus. for example, MSI does not suffer from this.
    You will not do anything with it, it's a problem of the code in the BIOS all Asus LGA 1151...
    A long start should be once, not on a permanent basis.
    You can override the dram training so that it only occurs once. To do so, enable the attempt fast boot settings in the dram timing section of uefi. However, bear in mind that there will be limited tolerance for temperature shifts if you do so. Might work okay on some rigs, but not on others. Depends on the configuration and how much signal margin the imc and memory has.


    Regarding msi, in the past our engineers found two of their boards setting a very high dram voltage to get through the POST training process. Stuff like that isn't visible to most forum users or reviewers, so they assume things are better. Just something to bear in mind when making comparisons at face value. What you can't see can sometimes be far uglier than a few seconds of POST time. Of course, most of the "but it POSTs faster" crowd probably wouldn't care. Logic doesn't work in these cases.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array KaptainKarl PC Specs
    KaptainKarl PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X CODE Z370
    Processori7 8700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4 3200MHZ 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080TI FTW3
    MonitorASUS ROG 3440x1440 w/ Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair 760T White
    Power SupplyEVGA 850w Supernova G2
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux Silent
    Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
    Headset Hyper X
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Logitech
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterMotorola

    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Thank you for the responses..I know 10 seconds isn't a lot in the grand scheme of things, but we all are on the quest for the fastest "fill in the blank"...I will give the DRAM fast boot setting a try if I can find it

  7. #7
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Resume from suspend to memory can work wonders for folks that need to be back at the desktop in record time. One to bear in mind if you're earning a lot by the second

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Deepcuts PC Specs
    Deepcuts PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X HERO BIOS 1901
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K @ 4.7Ghz 1.215V
    Memory (part number)CMR32GX4M4C3466C16 @ 3200Mhz 1.360V
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080Ti OC 11GB
    Sound CardCreative Omni 5.1 USB
    MonitorDell 24' S2417DG
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 960 nvme 500 GB
    Storage #2Seagate NAS 8TBx2
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseFractal Design Define R5 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi760
    Keyboard Razer DeathStalker Chroma
    Mouse Razer Abyssus
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterMikrotik

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    244

    Having some problems with the compatibility between my RAM and the motherboard, I noticed that BIOS will post slower when the motherboard will not like RAM timings.
    I would say if you have slower boot times with higher RAM speed set in BIOS, most likely your system is not stable.
    If your RAM in not in QVL, slim changes for a BIOS update that will fix it.
    My RAM is in QVL, but that means nothing these days for Asus

  9. #9
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    If the training is taking longer it is because the imc is attempting to retrain the dimms. You can make adjustments to help: SA, IO, sub-timings, dram boot voltage are the main contributors.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array KaptainKarl PC Specs
    KaptainKarl PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X CODE Z370
    Processori7 8700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4 3200MHZ 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080TI FTW3
    MonitorASUS ROG 3440x1440 w/ Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair 760T White
    Power SupplyEVGA 850w Supernova G2
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux Silent
    Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
    Headset Hyper X
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Logitech
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterMotorola

    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    You can override the dram training so that it only occurs once. To do so, enable the attempt fast boot settings in the dram timing section of uefi. However, bear in mind that there will be limited tolerance for temperature shifts if you do so. Might work okay on some rigs, but not on others. Depends on the configuration and how much signal margin the imc and memory has.
    This did the trick for me..I was able to clock my RAM to spec without any change to my boot time...Thank you!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •