Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    165

    Question Anyone know how to get Miracast on an AMD platform?

    I have a LG tv. It allows for something called Miracast, where I can essentially duplicate my screen on to the TV wirelessly without the need for a HDMI cable.

    However this only works for Intel Widi platforms at the moment and thus my laptop only (laptop is intel). Any one know how to make Miracast work on Windows 10 with the AMD platform?

    http://www.lg.com/uk/support/microsites/tv/smartshare-screen-share

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    165

    Solved: Apparently you have to have the Wifi adapters Enabled to stream via Miracast.

    IT's amazing as to how I am streaming a 8K video from the pc to the TV without any visible lag or stuttering and *wirelessly!!!* I just found out about this feature today and still am shocked at how amazing this is lol. Magical stuff.

  3. #3
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    294
    Posts
    7,412

    8K? That sounds too good to be true. Is it really streaming at native 8K or upscaling? What is the framerate?
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    165

    I'm playing this video right here, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ChOhcHD8fBA I right clicked and clicked "stats for nerds" and it says "current / optimal res 7680 X 4320 @30 / 7680 x 4320 @30"

    Not sure if that means 8K or not but it's playing 8k on the pc so I assumed 8k on tv?

  5. #5
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    294
    Posts
    7,412

    Oh, not necessarily. It could be downscaling or using a lossy compression algorithm to reduce bandwidth. If it looks good I'd say don't worry about it. If you really want to dig in you might have to review the miracast spec since like you said it's more "magic" and doesn't provide tuning options to the user.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    165

    Yea it seems weird it's saying it could play 8k, the TV is 4K, so I think maybe it's down scaling.

    The monitor is the asus pg348q, which is a UHD, so 4k..?

    so most likely down scaling but looks good haha

    upset that i've had this tv for 2 years almost and i just found out about this today, ah.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    982

    4K is max currently, link, ~mid 2017 there was a jump from max 1080p to 4K, link.

    Comes in handy for sure .
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •