Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Rampage V Edition 10 + Rx Vega Liquid Grey / Black screen problems

    After being busy with AMD for more then 2 months i am not sure if it will or can be fixed
    I got a very difficult problem with the RX Vega Liquid that is causing random grey / black screens
    i have tried a lot to find out what could cause it, but i have bin unable to fix it .. i only found a temporary fix that works and that is locking the HBM2 memory .
    I know it really sounds like that the graphics card is defective but i have tried 3 different Vega cards and they all gave the same problem, and amd is not able to recreate the issue .. but they don't got the same main-board that i have .. (i have also tested the Vega card in an Maximus VIII with a 6700K and worked without problems)

    There are more people with the same problem on the forum that i created there.
    I made a really detailed problem description on the forum there, i hope you guys could take a look.

    https://community.amd.com/thread/223844


    My question , is it possible for Asus to test a RX Vega 64 Liquid on this particular main-board to find out if it gives to same issue's that i got ??

    Rampage V edition 10 Bios version (currently on 1801) also tested on version 1701 and 1503.
    Rx Vega 64 liquid uses Vbios 016.001.001.000.008774 i have also tested an older vbios with the first vega card i had 016.001.001.000.008734 but it gave the same problems.
    Last edited by Hivemind; 02-26-2018 at 10:06 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,440

    Just suggestions for experimentation....have you set the PCIe slot to Gen 3 instead of auto...somewhere in advanced tab if I remember correct?

    Have you tried playing with power plan PCIe link state power management?

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Just suggestions for experimentation....have you set the PCIe slot to Gen 3 instead of auto...somewhere in advanced tab if I remember correct?

    Have you tried playing with power plan PCIe link state power management?
    I got PCIe link state power management disabled , and PCIe is always on gen3 it doesn't switch and setting it manually on gen 3 didn't change a thing..
    I am still testing but it seems that it has something to do with either the latest update of windows 10 (February 13, 2018—KB4074588 (OS Build 16299.248) and maybe AMD Adrenaline 18.2.3 but it seems to run stable now .. so maybe i made this post 3 days too early .. will keep testing it i will report back if it is more then a week stable.

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,440

    Any luck isolating this Hivemind?

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Any luck isolating this Hivemind?
    Sadly no, the problem is still here and i just can't get it fixed yet.
    I also made a reply on the AMD forums that i started some months ago, i'm testing another Dp Cable.. maybe this helps .. i know my previous Fury card worked flawless so it hardly can be the Cable but i'll test it anyway got nothing to lose

    i'll post my findings .. i have to be sure it works so i can't say it after 1 day..
    Last edited by Hivemind; 04-01-2018 at 08:23 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Still not stable crashed after a week, and crashed @ low gpu load..
    but i don't think it has anything to do with the main-board anymore .. it just has to be the Gpu driver
    Last edited by Hivemind; 04-09-2018 at 09:09 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •