Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 53
  1. #11
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Thanks.

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Thanks mcmarky, that’s be great if you could, ive tried following a few guides but they seem to miss steps or aren’t written in “plain English”. I’m currently running into a problem with Argus where it will crash once you open it up so if I could try speedfan or even fan xpert 4 that would be great.

    Raja, I’m on a MXH non wifi on bios 1003. I have 2x Noctua NF-A15 PWM both attached to CPUFAN header. 3x Phanteks PHF140MP 3pin case fans connected *to *headers 1, 2 and 3.*
    On the M8R I went through NF-F12s, IDcooling 120mm pwm fans and the NF-A15s, all with the same issue with step up and down times. Various different case fans with the same issue.

    The one thing I haven’t tried is booting into safe mode to see if there’s some service meddling with it so I will do that next time I’m home and report back.
    Last edited by andyc26; 03-06-2018 at 11:08 AM.

  3. #13
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Okay, let me know, please. Is Ai Suite installed on the system?

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Okay, let me know, please. Is Ai Suite installed on the system?
    Will do!

    And no, AISuite isn't installed nor has it been installed previously on this particular build. I was entirely using Q-fan within the BIOS to set fan profiles and step up/down times. Using Argus with 5 second average CPU temps has solved it for now.

    Manual fan curves wouldn't "override" step times would they? I just can't imagine I was unlucky enough to have two Maximus boards with inop fan step times, but then if it was a widespread BIOS issue more people would have reported it?

    Again, I love my Hero and my last three boards have been ASUS, but it's just a little issue I thought would be worth raising. Thank you for taking the time to look into this Raja! *

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Okay, let me know, please. Is Ai Suite installed on the system?
    Unfortunately I get the same fan behaviour in safe mode. Immediate response to any load. Tried it with step times of 12s this time too.

    Also the rear PH-F140MP is pwm FWIW, attached to CHA-FAN1.

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array Dave-G PC Specs
    Dave-G PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core-i5 8600K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB DDR4-3600
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX-980Ti 6GB
    MonitorDell S2719DGF 27" 1440p 155Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVMe
    Storage #2Western Digital WD Red 6TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseLian Li PC-V2000A Plus
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers Beyerdynamic DT990
    OS Windows 10
    Dave-G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    24

    Same issue here. No AI suite installed and using BIOS 1301. Using fan-headers CPU_FAN with Noctua NF-A15 PWM and CHA-FAN1 with Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM. Step-up/step-down setting is simply not working.

  7. #17
    New ROGer Array ---SK--- PC Specs
    ---SK--- PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero
    Processori5 - 8600K
    Memory (part number)16 GB Corsair 3600mhz
    Graphics Card #1GeForce 1070 Ti
    Sound CardOnboard
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    Power SupplyCorsair 850W
    Headset/Speakers Sennheiser HD 555 / Logitech Z 5500
    OS Windows 10 1803
    Network RouterEdgeRouter X
    ---SK---'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Same problem here bios 1301 no extra software installed i dont want any extra clutter in windows setup in q fan in bios. But step up and step down dont do anything. Noctua pwm fans here.

    it should just work in the bios without extra software! u must have some software/firmware engineers who can fix the problem right?
    Last edited by ---SK---; 05-22-2018 at 02:55 PM.

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array Dave-G PC Specs
    Dave-G PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core-i5 8600K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB DDR4-3600
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX-980Ti 6GB
    MonitorDell S2719DGF 27" 1440p 155Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVMe
    Storage #2Western Digital WD Red 6TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseLian Li PC-V2000A Plus
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers Beyerdynamic DT990
    OS Windows 10
    Dave-G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Okay, let me know, please. Is Ai Suite installed on the system?
    This problem is still not solved with bios 1401. Q-fan step up time does nothing as far as I can tell. I have no AI suite or any other application that control fan speed installed.

    It's very annoying that fan speeds go up and down because of a short spike in cpu temperature. I reported this before but doesn't seem Asus is listening/reading?

    Raja@ASUS can you please confirm that this is broken and do something about it?

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Vinny1001 PC Specs
    Vinny1001 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha
    ProcessorIntel Skylake 6700k 4.0GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 2x 8GB DDR4
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 1080 Ti
    MonitorBenQ XL2411
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro, 840 Pro, M.2 840 Evo
    Storage #22x 1TB WD Black
    CPU CoolerCorsair H60
    CaseCorsair Carbide 300R
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 Modular
    Mouse Swiftpoint The Z
    Headset Logitech G240
    Mouse Pad Swiftpoint The Z Mouse Pad
    Headset/Speakers 5.1 Logitech Surround Z506
    OS Windows 10 Pro, version 1703
    Network RouterAsus RT N66U

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    166

    Hey I have the same problems with the fans ramping up as described by many here. I'm on a Z170 though. No AI suite installed. I've set many different fan curves/timings on step up/down and it still seems to ramp up fairly fast when cpu temps quickly jump when opening Chrome or other simple programs.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,773

    I'm actually experiencing this same issue, but no different than my Hero VIII board.
    Last edited by NemesisChild; 06-22-2018 at 01:11 AM.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •