Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Request Help With 10G NIC On Extreme VI

    Hi everyone,

    I am having a problem with getting my 10G NIC on my Extreme VI motherboard to work with Windows.

    As a start, I am running Windows 10 (1703), and have both the Intel & 10G NICs enabled in the BIOS (latest BIOS). Windows 10 Device Manager recognizes the Intel NIC just fine; but no 10G adapter shows up. There is a "Ethernet Controller" listed under Other Devices, but it has a yellow question mark. Even after I install the 10G LAN drivers from the ASUS site, nothing changes.

    As a note, I also run the machine as a Hackintosh, and OSX recognizes the 10G NIC just fine --- it functions perfectly under High Sierra. Thus, I know that this is not a hardware problem.

    So, can any of you guys help me figure out what I need to do in order to get the 10G NIC working under Windows 10? I would really appreciate any help.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    165

    IS your lan cable attached to the lan port of the nic card?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by BigJob View Post
    IS your lan cable attached to the lan port of the nic card?
    yes

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    165


  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by BigJob View Post
    Thanks for the links -- I've already tried these, and no difference.

    Interestingly, I have also tried the ASUS 10G LAN card, and I cannot get that to work either (in Windows; with OSX, it works perfectly).

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    165

    SO you downloadeded these drivers too or which asus 10g lan card were you referring to? https://www.asus.com/Motherboard-Acc...Desk_Download/

    baffled that the Aquantia AQC-107 10G drivers didn't fix the issue.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    258

    I have the 10G working n Windows 10. I have installed the Aquantis drivers two ways. One is Windows update has them. Two from ASUS website. Both worked fine for me. I am running Windows 10 Pro Version 1709 Build 16229.248. I do not have the 1GB Nic enabled. Try disabling it in the BIOS and see. BTW the cables doesn't have to be connected to install the driver and or see the device working properly in Device Manager.
    Last edited by CharlieH; 03-02-2018 at 12:56 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    So, I got the ASUS C100C 10G board working in Windows --- and then it abruptly stopped working. Windows no longer recognizes it at all. I keep wondering if I should just junk this motherboard, but the C100C continues to function perfectly under OSX High Sierra on the Hackintosh side --- so again, I do not believe this to be a motherboard issue. Guess I am just out of ideas with this.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    165

    My next steps to try :

    0) Reinstall all the drivers
    1) Windows update to see if anything comes up
    2) Device Manager > Add New Hardware > Manually try and add the C100C
    3) Contact Windows Support via Live Chat & see if there's any thing else they can do

    Very strange.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    I have the same issue. I cant se the 10gb nic at all.
    Even when i enable the PXE Rom in bios there is no 10gb PXE boot option avalible or ROM post.

    I have tried multiple BIOS versions and resets of the bios.
    I think the Aquantia chip on my mobo is dead or something.

    Could someone else confirm that the pxe rom posts on the 10g nic?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •