Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array elucid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    8700k overclocking and my cinebench score - where to go from here?

    Attained a 1602 score at 5.0Ghz (1.290v). Ram is stock at 2133Mhz (16gb) because my system doesn't like the XMP configuration (go figure). AVX offset is set to 3. I basically followed der8auer's guide and everything is rock solid.

    * https://imgur.com/a/EaJZW

    * https://valid.x86.fr/g93j8w - CPUZ validator.


    I don't really like the temps I'm getting running IBT and Realbench (mid 70's on avg) so I'll likely dial the OC down. I just needed to see what my CPU was capable of whilst not delidding on an AIO 280mm. Moreover, my case (enthoo evolv atx) isn't really ideal for airflow.. I'm just thankful I reside in an area where it doesn't get that hot during this time of year.

    So the question is, should I delid even If I have absolutely no experience in this? Or should I dial the OC down?


    Some other questions -

    1. Now that I hit a stable clock, can I re-enable cpu svid support or should I leave it disabled?
    2. Regarding my motherboard temp reading in HWiNFO64, temp2 is showing 56c and PCH is 50c - is that normal? Is my disabling SVID support conflicting and giving me wrong readings here? Sorry for being ignorant, I'm rather new at overclocking.

    Thanks for your help!

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array elucid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Crickets. Nice to know this board can be so helpful

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array jpmboy PC Specs
    jpmboy PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex
    Processor7980XE
    Memory (part number)G.SKill 3600c15 (2x)2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Titan V
    Graphics Card #2Titan V
    MonitorROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 900P
    Storage #24TB Raid 10
    CPU CoolerCustom Water
    Power SupplyAX1500i
    Keyboard Ducky
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    Headset Ultimate Ears Custom IEMs
    OS Win 10/Win7 Pro
    jpmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    1. whether or not you enable CPU SVID depends on the voltage control method you used. Setting this to Auto is best since it works with manual override or adaptive/offset.
    2. You need air flow over the PCH heatsink. CPu SVID will have no impact on the on-board DTS reports (temperature)
    3. 8700K does best delidded, but even at stock the IPC is so good the performance is "very snappy".
    4. leaving ram at default will dampen performance significantly.

    Get additional help here: http://www.overclock.net/forum/6-int...rt-thread.html

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    Stress tests are, of course the hardest thing you'll run on your CPU normally. So, if you are mid 70s at 5.0 I'd say that was OK....for everyday use or gaming you won't be anywhere near that...

    Delid is simple...do you have the disposable cash for a new CPU? Yeah...go for it...get a delid tool...be careful...easy enough to do...

    If not don't...because you void warranty and it's easy enough to bork too!

    Easiest performance increase would be getting your RAM to run at rated specs...what's up there? You mixed kits or something?

    I don't have that platform so the svid thing I have no idea...wrt enabling disabling

    However that won't be affecting your temp readings

    Unfortunately having no definite label makes things harder but 56 looks like VRM temp maybe? and 50 for PCH is pretty normal in a case.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array elucid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    calle trento

    Thanks for the responses, lads.

    Regarding my ram kit, no - i'm not mixing ram. I'm using the g.skill trident z rgb 2x8gb @ 3200 (cl 16).

    Perhaps XMP is a little wonky because I'm using an older bios version though. Maybe I should've tried upping the voltage. Again, I'll do some more tests when I get home from work.

    I'll keep you gents posted. Thank you again for the reassurance regarding the mobo temps.

  6. #6
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    If XMP is not working maybe try setting the RAM up manually...3200 should not be much of an ask for that CPU...

    Have you tried each stick individually on the correct slot? just to make sure both are good...

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array elucid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    My ram kit is fine as it passed all tests. I should've mentioned prior to posting but the XMP profile works (it's just that I get a double post during cold startups). What's a safe voltage for these kits anyway?



    Regarding my OC'd 8700k now.

    I've adjusted my current settings.

    LLC - 6
    AVX Offset - 0
    4.8ghz (non de-lidded) at 1.210v

    Max temps were 59c running IBT (5 times) and 72c running realbench. Idle I'm at 25c.


    http://i.imgur.com/QI209SS.jpg

    At stated before - I was able to hit 5.0Ghz stable at 1.290v with an avx offset of 3 - I just didn't like the temps, nor the fact that I was using an avx offset. For myself, using an avx offset is cheating.. I'm sure I could achieve 5.0Ghz with a 0 avx offset at 1.35v, but I have no plans on de-lidding (at least not yet) so I'm completely fine with my current settings/temps. Moreover, the 200mhz difference is very negligible in the real world.

    Is using an LLC of 6 too high for this voltage? Should I drop it to 4-5? Sorry for all the questions.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array jpmboy PC Specs
    jpmboy PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex
    Processor7980XE
    Memory (part number)G.SKill 3600c15 (2x)2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Titan V
    Graphics Card #2Titan V
    MonitorROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 900P
    Storage #24TB Raid 10
    CPU CoolerCustom Water
    Power SupplyAX1500i
    Keyboard Ducky
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    Headset Ultimate Ears Custom IEMs
    OS Win 10/Win7 Pro
    jpmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    the voltage "ceiling" on ram kits is actually based on the CPU (and is set by Intel, not the ram mfr), coffee lake is fine at 1.4 to 1.45V VDIMM. To clear XMP you really need to CLRCMOS to remove all xmp programming. After that, just enter the xmp timings and voltage manually. AVX is trhere so you can run a higher clock for 99% of the time, and down clock when AVX is in the stack. Server class cpus have done this, without any user control for a long time.. and it really necessary for high core count x-class cpus.
    However.. "smoke 'em if you got 'em". :P

    did you read the guides in the link provided? Use LLC 5.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array meankeys PC Specs
    meankeys PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex / Maximus IX APEX / Rampage V EX V10
    Processor7920X / 5960X / 6950X / 7700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z - 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #3ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 OC
    Monitor3 X ASUS V248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCool Express SS
    Power SupplyThermaltake Tough Power Grand 1200W
    Keyboard Cyberus
    Headset Tittan
    OS Win 7 64bit
    Network RouterASUS
    meankeys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    104
    Posts
    1,553

    LLCX add voltage under loads so if you rolled back to 4.8mhz roll back the LLC until you become unstable then bump it up a notch. you don't need the extra voltage if your not pushing it.

  10. #10
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    Quote Originally Posted by elucid View Post
    it's just that I get a double post during cold startups
    That is perfectly normal for these boards...just part of RAM training, as I understand it, at certain settings. Nothing to worry about..not a malfunction.

    AVX offset isn't cheating...it's sensible management. It's like saying a guy working in a field is cheating, putting on a hat when the sun comes out...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •