Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Help me to find issue with gpu or monitor

    Hi everyone
    Im running gtx 760 direct cu 2. Issue is when PC is ideal (no load on GPU) monitor works fine. But as soon as any game or valley benchmark starts monitor to blinking and horizontal artifacts lines starts to occur. btw it's a 1080p monitor

    I also tested PC connecting with 1080p TV screen with valley benchmark no problems whatsoever

    i feel like monitor is culprit. What do you guys think?
    I know 760 is very old now hehe..

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,799

    Which output? Have you tried changing the data cable?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Data cable ? Do you mean display cable it's HDMI

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array bfollowell PC Specs
    bfollowell PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-7700K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) F4-3200C16D-16GTZB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 OC edition 8GB 11Gbps ROG-STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-11GBPS
    Sound CardSound BlasterX AE-5
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q & ASUS VW246H
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO Series 500GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
    Storage #2Western Digital Black Series 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Hard Drive
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X61
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplyEVGA 750 G3
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech G602
    Headset Kingston HyperX Cloud Pro
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G​51 Surroun​d Sound 5.​1 Speaker ​System
    OS Windows 10 Home 64-bit
    Network RouterLinksys WRT3200ACM

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    64

    It sounds like you've already done a decent job of narrowing down your problem. While not 100%, if you try it on another display, and you can't reproduce the problem, then I'd say there's better than even odds that it's your display, especially if you used the same cable when you moved to the TV. If you have access to another monitor, not a TV, you could try that on your PC, but that's about the only thing I can see that you could do to help narrow your problem down even more.

    Good luck.

  5. #5
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    If everything is fine on the TV, then there's nothing wrong with the GTX 760. Test the HDMI cable the other way around in case one connector has a loose connection. If confirmed with another HDMI cable to eliminate that as the cause, then the monitor must be the issue. Alternatively, try connecting a different PC or laptop to the monitor to see if you can replicate the issue.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Red face Thank you

    Quote Originally Posted by MasterC@ASUS View Post
    If everything is fine on the TV, then there's nothing wrong with the GTX 760. Test the HDMI cable the other way around in case one connector has a loose connection. If confirmed with another HDMI cable to eliminate that as the cause, then the monitor must be the issue. Alternatively, try connecting a different PC or laptop to the monitor to see if you can replicate the issue.
    You were right MasterC there is no issue with 760 it was HDMI cable.

    My PC is 5 years old still rocking Rampage IV Black Edition and gtx 760 without any issue. Thank you for creating good hardware pass on greetings to engineering team and Raja.
    Hoping to buy 1070 in future

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    181

    Glad you got it figured out. Usually cables are the culprit but people disregard it thinking it is the actual unit.

  8. #8
    Administrator Array MasterC@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    1,492

    Glad it was just the cable, new graphics cards are quite expensive right now...

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Quote Originally Posted by MasterC@ASUS View Post
    Glad it was just the cable, new graphics cards are quite expensive right now...
    Yes that's why I'm waiting.. btw my seasonic psu stopped work there was loud bang after that pc was not starting... I hope psu haven't fried any other components

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    never mind got psu RMAed working again...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •