Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Gamefirst IV problem? Also how to lower ping?

    Hi guys! I just bought an ROG laptop a month ago and i never touched Gamefirst IV. However, I have around 80-120 ping (keeps jumping) on ethernet connection. So i decided to try to open it but it cant. When i click it or run as administrator, nothing happens. Any advise on how to fix this and lessen ping? (Im pretty bad with computers)

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    hi, need additional information.



    laptop model?
    what's your ISP (internet service provider) speed?
    any other people using the internet along with you?
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    1. How do you check this? (Bad at computers)
    2. Sky
    3. Nobody else

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    Quote Originally Posted by Filtea View Post
    1. How do you check this? (Bad at computers)
    look at the laptop's butt. look for something that looks like a model number.


    2. Sky
    uhh, well, the important part is the speed.

    go here: http://beta.speedtest.net/
    hit that big GO button,
    then tell me the download and upload speed.
    and the PING value too

    3. Nobody else
    most good.
    we're getting there.
    Last edited by haihane; 10-20-2017 at 09:01 AM. Reason: need moar information
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    1.Not sure which is the model so here.
    Model:GL553V
    Intel model:7265NGW

    2. 11 mbps and 13 ping

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    Quote Originally Posted by Filtea View Post
    1.Not sure which is the model so here.
    Model:GL553V
    Intel model:7265NGW
    there you go. GL553V. that's a pretty lookin laptop.


    2. 11 mbps and 13 ping
    speed looks good. which means:


    step 3. get that Gamefirst IV working again.
    i need you go follow these steps:
    - on windows 10, go to Start -> Settings -> Apps & Features -> Find "gamefirst IV" -> uninstall it
    - download this thing called CCleaner, use the Free Download option. proceed to install it
    - once you get it running, there's a Broom like icon and 4 boxes icon (Registry). let's start with Registry
    - Registry Cleaner -> Tick checkboxes on all options available -> Hit "scan for issues".
    - once done, and some the lists populates itself. the entries may look like these: application paths issue blahblahs, invalid firewall rule blahs. don't mind 'em. hit that "Fix selected issues"
    - Say no to backup changes to registry (or Yes if you really want to feel safe /shrugs).
    - Hit "fix all selected issues" -> Close the popup window.

    now.. the broom thing in CCleaner. i had forgotten the default settings of that one, as mine is heavily customized. okay. we'll try to make do without using that broom for now.

    please restart your PC, just to make sure.


    try installing Gamefirst IV again. found you the direct link here -> clicky me <-
    source here.


    i hope this works. :/
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Ok we need to get to work with the broom. It didn't change anything. Ping is still 86 ms

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    okay. but did you install the new Gamefirst IV after restarting? you did, right?
    damn.
    what happens when you click the Gamefirst IV icon?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	65 
Size:	39.0 KB 
ID:	68206
    you can't find it here?


    if the registry cleaning didn't work, i doubt sweeping useless files with CCleaner would help much.
    i may have to call in reinforcements.
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Gamefirst works now but still 82 ping. HELP ME

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    Quote Originally Posted by Filtea View Post
    Gamefirst works now but still 82 ping. HELP ME
    well, that's a good start (gamefirst working), now let's get onto the next problem.


    ping being 82, <-

    what's your expected ping value? how do you usually tell?
    and what games do you play?
    are you familiar with Gamefirst IV controls? like how to add in a program for packet prioritization ?
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •