Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Megalamaniac PC Specs
    Megalamaniac PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme/Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i9-7920x/Intel i7-6850k
    Memory (part number)32g TridentZ RGB F4-3600C16Q/32g TridentZ F4-3200C14Q
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080ti Strix/GTX 970
    Graphics Card #2GTX 1080ti Strix/GTX 970
    Graphics Card #3none/GTX 970
    Sound Cardnone/SB Recon3D PCIe
    Storage #12x Intel 700p 512g Raid 0/Samsung Evo 960 1Tb
    CaseThermaltake Core WP200/Coolermaster HAF 932
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi1500/Corsair AXi1200
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6 Pro, LT 6/Aquaero 5 Pro, LT 5

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Rampage 5 Edition 10 Won't Post Q-Code 00

    My system beens running pretty well, and just decided to stop posting.

    I've got an i7-6850k, 32g G-Skill Trident 3200 (4x8g) memory kit, a pair of GTX1080Ti Strix, and Corsair AXi 1500 PSU.

    It starts up with Q-Code 00 and just stays there. Everything appears to be powering up fine. Motherboard seems to be working OK. Cleared CMOS, and have switched between the Bios' 1701 and 1801.

    Could my CPU have died!? I've heard the 6850k's have a bad rep for doing this. The system pretty much froze up (not all at once though) while I was using it, and when I rebooted it it won't start to post.

    I won't be able to tear into it until the weekend, but would appreciate any suggestions.

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,411

    Are any of the onboard LEDs lighting up?

    Yes, 00 can be a dead CPU...though not always.

    Maybe try removing all power and battery from MB for a few hours...and reseating CPU when you have time...

  3. #3
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Try what Arne posted then reseating the CPU after.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Take your system out of the case and test it outside on top of the motherboard cardboard box.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Megalamaniac PC Specs
    Megalamaniac PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme/Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i9-7920x/Intel i7-6850k
    Memory (part number)32g TridentZ RGB F4-3600C16Q/32g TridentZ F4-3200C14Q
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080ti Strix/GTX 970
    Graphics Card #2GTX 1080ti Strix/GTX 970
    Graphics Card #3none/GTX 970
    Sound Cardnone/SB Recon3D PCIe
    Storage #12x Intel 700p 512g Raid 0/Samsung Evo 960 1Tb
    CaseThermaltake Core WP200/Coolermaster HAF 932
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi1500/Corsair AXi1200
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6 Pro, LT 6/Aquaero 5 Pro, LT 5

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    The CPU Q LED is lighting up red and staying lit. Typically, when I power on the system as soon as it lights the system will shutdown and start back up again. The PCI E 2 and 3 LED's are lit and PCI E 4 is flashing, and as mentioned the CPU Q LED lights up red and the Q -Code comes on 00 and that's as far as the system will boot.

    All the rest of the motherboard seems to be coming on. My Aquaero is coming on and running the fans and pumps. RGB Lighting is still doing it's thing.

    Got this sinking feeling.....

  6. #6
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,411

    I would RMA the CPU...sad to say...but it's quick with Intel

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Megalamaniac PC Specs
    Megalamaniac PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme/Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i9-7920x/Intel i7-6850k
    Memory (part number)32g TridentZ RGB F4-3600C16Q/32g TridentZ F4-3200C14Q
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080ti Strix/GTX 970
    Graphics Card #2GTX 1080ti Strix/GTX 970
    Graphics Card #3none/GTX 970
    Sound Cardnone/SB Recon3D PCIe
    Storage #12x Intel 700p 512g Raid 0/Samsung Evo 960 1Tb
    CaseThermaltake Core WP200/Coolermaster HAF 932
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi1500/Corsair AXi1200
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6 Pro, LT 6/Aquaero 5 Pro, LT 5

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    I would RMA the CPU...sad to say...but it's quick with Intel
    I think I'm going to go ahead and just upgrade to a i7-6950x, since I've been looking for an excuse. I'll RMA the i7-6850k and Ebay the replacement to offset some of the cost.

    I'll do some troubleshooting this weekend to be certain the CPU is the issue.

  8. #8
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,805

    I would reconsider plugging in a new CPU into that board till you can diagnose the problem.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array Megalamaniac PC Specs
    Megalamaniac PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme/Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i9-7920x/Intel i7-6850k
    Memory (part number)32g TridentZ RGB F4-3600C16Q/32g TridentZ F4-3200C14Q
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080ti Strix/GTX 970
    Graphics Card #2GTX 1080ti Strix/GTX 970
    Graphics Card #3none/GTX 970
    Sound Cardnone/SB Recon3D PCIe
    Storage #12x Intel 700p 512g Raid 0/Samsung Evo 960 1Tb
    CaseThermaltake Core WP200/Coolermaster HAF 932
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi1500/Corsair AXi1200
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6 Pro, LT 6/Aquaero 5 Pro, LT 5

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    I would reconsider plugging in a new CPU into that board till you can diagnose the problem.
    No, I don't plan onjust plugging in a new CPU. Although that said, after pulling the board and reseating the CPU, and firing it up outside the case. I not real sure where to go from there. I could use a few pointers.

    The way it froze up was a little wierd. Not all at once, and after waking it up.

    I've got spare PSU's to make sure that isn't the issue and spare graphic cards, but that's it when it comes to this build. I have a ton of spare 1366 stuff.

    I've been doing alot of thinking and if I do upgrade the CPU, it'll either be a used 6950 or 6900, but probably not. My ultimate goal over the next few months will be to upgrade to the x299 platform for the 1080ti's and replace the my Rampage III with the R5E10. I've got 3 GTX970's and a decent watercooling setup for that rig, which will be for my son to use. I think it's a better match up of hardware anyway.

    I'm also waiting to see what happens in a couple of months with the new graphic card releases.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •