Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Asus Maximus X Hero overclock issue

    Hi guys,

    I'm new to OC and I followed the guide here:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CoUt...21040719801727
    I'm able to archived 5Ghz@1.37V LLC 5 stable in Prime26.6 and Realbench 8 hours stress test, but I'm having problem when I try to cold boot my pc. It will always stuck on ROG splash screen until I press the reset button and it will boot(warm boot).
    I found the temporary solution which is enable the CPU SVID support but it rises my vcore by a lot.
    Is there any other solution for this issue?

    Spec:
    8700K delided
    Maximus X hero
    16gb 3200mhz RAM
    Samsung 960 evo 250gb
    750W gold psu

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Use adaptive voltage, which requires SVID to be enabled

  3. #3
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Use adaptive voltage, which requires SVID to be enabled
    If I use adaptive mode instead of manual, my voltage should set to 1.37 too?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Yes, set SVID Behavior to Best Case Scenario, SVID to Auto or Enabled, LLC 5 or 6 and enter the same voltage that works in manual mode in Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage, Offset Voltage Auto, this should get you real close

  5. #5
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Yes, set SVID Behavior to Best Case Scenario, SVID to Auto or Enabled, LLC 5 or 6 and enter the same voltage that works in manual mode in Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage, Offset Voltage Auto, this should get you real close
    Ok, I will try it and see how it goes. Thanks for the help

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array XYchromosone PC Specs
    XYchromosone PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)DELL Inspiron 15 5559 + HP Pavilion dv6 3032tx
    MotherboardASUS Maximux XI Extreme [BIOS 1105]
    Processori9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengance RGB 16GB CMR16GX4M2C3466C16 V4.31
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Gaming GTX1080Ti 11GB
    MonitorAOC AG271QG 27" 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro NVMe 1TB M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Floe Riing 360 Premium AIO
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard RAZER Blackwidow X Tournament Chroma
    Mouse RAZER Lancehead [ambidextrous] Chroma
    Headset Sennheiser RS165 Wireless
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 + UbuntuStudio 18.04
    Network RouterASUS DSL-AC68U on ADSL2+, Technicolor DJA0230TLS Gateway NETGEAR CABLE ADAPTER CM450
    XYchromosone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    149

    Quote Originally Posted by Js4uuu View Post
    Ok, I will try it and see how it goes. Thanks for the help
    did you get a chance to try it? how did it all go?

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Yes, set SVID Behavior to Best Case Scenario, SVID to Auto or Enabled, LLC 5 or 6 and enter the same voltage that works in manual mode in Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage, Offset Voltage Auto, this should get you real close
    I have exactly the same problem as OP, i did every step from that video, ended up with 4,8ghz 1,22v LLC6, did exactly what you said here, cold boot is fixed but vcore is much higher then it should be, it goes as high as 1,48v, it's exactly the same as i would enable svid support alone.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Any other suggestions?

  9. #9
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,799

    double post

  10. #10
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,799

    If using adaptive you may need to use a negative offset to get closer to the desired voltage, as it is not possible to set a value lower than the minimum VID for a given ratio.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •