Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Random Shutdown/Turn off, Error Code 08 | ROG Crosshair VI Hero Motherboard

    Hello all,

    I need some help/advice with my motherboard. The issue I'm having is that my PC would randomly turn off itself with the MB giving an error code of 08. There doesn't seem to be anything specific that triggers it, it could be fine for days, weeks even, then it happens, sometime I barely get an hour out of it before it happens. I could be gaming, or just checking twitter and it could happen

    I've already tried updating and downgrading the BIOS with various versions. Some versions would cause the PC to freeze, with no error code (or more specifically the error code won't change). Other versions would give the error of 8.

    Other things you should know, when I was researching it, I saw a lot of people say that the normal code when everything is fine is AA, I don't think I've ever seen that. When everything is fine (or seems fine) I have a code of 24.

    Please help it's just about driving me crazy right now. Thank you

    PS EDIT: I read somewhere that turning off fast boot in windows can help, I tried that, both windows and on the BIOS. It didn't help.

    My specs are:

    Asus ROG Crosshair VI Hero Motherboard
    EVGA NVIDIA GTX GeForce 1080 SC
    16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200MHz Ram (2 x 8GB)
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800x CPU | Air cooled with an AM3+ Fan
    1 Hard Drive, 4TB Western Digital 7200RPM
    1 Blu-Drive, LG
    Dual Monitor 1 using VGA 1 using HDMI
    2 Webcams, 1 USB mic
    1 LAN Ethernet Connection, 1 WiFi connection via the USB
    PSU - Corsair RM1000x
    Last edited by Mr Haze; 03-21-2018 at 01:02 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    121

    Post your VRM (Digi+) settings from BIOS.
    I assume you did not change anything.
    You may try set current capability to 120% to start with.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Thanks for replying

    I would say yes they're unchanged, because I haven't changed much in the BIOS, and could see anything marked VRM (digi+)

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    121

    Just in case you want to check - those are my settings:

    CPU Load-line Calibration [Level 3]
    CPU Current Capability [120%]
    CPU VRM Switching Frequency [Manual]
    CPU Voltage Frequency [400]
    CPU Power Duty Control [T.Probe]
    CPU Power Phase Control [Power Phase Response]
    Manual Adjustment [Ultra Fast]
    CPU Power Thermal Control [120]
    VDDSOC Load-line Calibration [Level 3]
    VDDSOC Current Capability [120%]
    VDDSOC Switching Frequency [Manual]
    Fixed VDDSOC Switching Frequency(KHz) [400]
    VDDSOC Phase Control [Power Phase Response]
    Manual Adjustment [Ultra Fast]
    DRAM Current Capability [120%]
    DRAM Power Phase Control [Extreme]
    DRAM Switching Frequency [Manual]
    Fixed DRAM Switching Frequency(KHz) [400]

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Thanks Bishop, I'll try those.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •