Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    230

    Maximus X Hero / 8700k Multi Core Enhancement not working?

    Hi Everyone,

    I'm posting my question here since I've been trying to get in contact with the Australian ASUS technical support for 13 days and they are just ignoring me and have closed my ticket without answering my questions.

    I have an ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero (WiFi AC) Motherboard with BIOS version 1003 (latest) and an Intel 8700k CPU.

    My understanding of Multi-Core Enhancement is that it should be turbo boosting all cores in my 8700k to 4.7Ghz (max turbo frequency) even under full load when running things like Cinebench or Realbench. However with MCE enabled, it appears that I am still only seeing Intel's default turbo speeds of 4.4Ghz idle and 4.3Ghz full load.

    Has ASUS changed the way MCE works in the latest BIOS because of instability issues or is there a problem with my motherboard/BIOS?

    Thanks in advance for any assistance.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    230

    82 views and no replies? Can someone from ASUS at least chime in with some advice here?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Velcade PC Specs
    Velcade PC Specs
    MotherboardROG MAXIMUS X HERO (WI-FI AC) ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
    ProcessorIntel - Core i7-8700K 5.0GHz 6-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)G.Skill - Trident Z RGB 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 Memory
    Graphics Card #1GeForce GTX 1080 STRIX-GTX1080-A8G-GAMING
    MonitorPG279Q ROG Swift
    Storage #1Crucial - MX500 2TB 2.5" Solid State Drive
    Storage #2Western Digital - Gold 4TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
    CPU CoolerFractal Design - Celsius S36 87.6 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler
    CaseFractal Design - Define R6 Gunmetal TG ATX Mid Tower Case
    Power SupplyEVGA - SuperNOVA G3 850W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply
    Headset Sennheiser HD650
    OS Microsoft - Windows 10 Home OEM 64-bit
    Network RouterRT-N66U
    Accessory #1 Blue Yeti Microphone
    Velcade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Let's get a little more detail on your system...

    How is your power management settings in Windows? I would recommend you set it to performance, this will prevent your system from underclocking your CPU.

    Alternately have you tried to manually OC your system to 4.7Ghz?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array no1yak PC Specs
    no1yak PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X I Wi-Fi/ Hero IX
    Processori 8700K / i7 7700K both de-lidded @ 5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16D / Corsair 2400 LPX
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1070 SC ACX3 / Evga 1060 SC
    Sound CardEssence One DAC Muses edition
    MonitorEizo CG275W
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe / 950 Pro
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 860 M.2 + 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NHu-14S on both boards
    CaseCorsair 450D / Corsair 230T
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2
    Keyboard Cherry MX6
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 + Senn HD650 + HD 600
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1903

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    120

    Amazing , total lack of system info and you expect people on this forum to be-able to answer your questions. Take screen shots of you Bios settings so we can see what you are trying to do. To get a screen shot use F12 in the bios and save to a USB stick and then upload to your reply. None of us are mind readers.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Zammin,
    Patience my friend. Don't pay attention to views as most are people looking for either personal knowledge, or to troubleshoot there own PC
    It's always possible there were changes in new bios that affect operation in unexpected ways, is your bios on all default settings (F5)? If you've made any changes it may have changed how it functions
    Also the CPU speed is constantly changing at an extremely fast rate so you may not always be able to see the changes in software

    Full detailed specs, monitoring software, and test scenario, and bios screen shots do help when troubleshooting from a distance

    You have a very good motherboard (one of the best) and I am sure you can get it operating in top form and be very happy, let's take it slowly and get it correct

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    230

    First of all thank you all for your responses. I appreciate the assistance.

    Quote Originally Posted by Velcade View Post
    Let's get a little more detail on your system...

    How is your power management settings in Windows? I would recommend you set it to performance, this will prevent your system from underclocking your CPU.

    Alternately have you tried to manually OC your system to 4.7Ghz?
    I apologise for not providing more information.. I thought the motherboard and CPU were the main things since MCE appears to work out of the box on default settings for everyone else as far as I have seen. I am using High Performance as my power plan in windows. I have applied a manual overclock because MCE would not work for me, so this may sound pointless but I am still concerned about why it would not work. I spent a lot of time searching google and could not find one instance of MCE not working as it should (running the 8700k at 4.7Ghz).

    Here are my system specs if this helps:

    ASUS Maximus X Hero (WiFi AC) Motherboard w/ BIOS 1003 (Latest)
    Intel 8700k CPU
    G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 16GB
    Corsair H115i CPU cooler
    Intel 600P 256GB M.2 NVME Boot drive
    ASUS Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC GPU
    Seasonic 1050W PSU
    3x 1TB HDD
    Samsung 1TB 850 EVO SSD

    Quote Originally Posted by no1yak View Post
    Amazing , total lack of system info and you expect people on this forum to be-able to answer your questions. Take screen shots of you Bios settings so we can see what you are trying to do. To get a screen shot use F12 in the bios and save to a USB stick and then upload to your reply. None of us are mind readers.
    I apologise if I came across as rude, I honestly was not intending to, so please be a little more respectful to me. I am entirely new here but I don't normally post to forums about PC issues since I normally seek advice from tech support in the first instance but as I mentioned dealing with ASUS has been incredibly frustrating.

    As mentioned above I gave the information I thought was necessary and expected if additional information was required, people would ask. Which they have. Although a screenshot of my BIOS would probably not be of much use since I am currently using a manual overclock as mentioned above, so MCE is disabled. However I did this only because MCE was not working out of the box. When I was trying to use MCE my BIOS settings were just the optimised defaults which sets MCE to auto. I also tried enabling and disabling it and my clock speeds remained the same 4.3Ghz when monitoring them under full loads like cinebench, prime 95 and realbench.

    In this video here they are using the same motherboard and CPU as me and you can see that with MCE enabled it is running at 4.7Ghz under full load in cinebench (7:10): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0juO5KuwBX4

    In this video Jay also talks about this on a strix motherboard: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zi-zU2p2ykc

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Zammin,
    Patience my friend. Don't pay attention to views as most are people looking for either personal knowledge, or to troubleshoot there own PC
    It's always possible there were changes in new bios that affect operation in unexpected ways, is your bios on all default settings (F5)? If you've made any changes it may have changed how it functions
    Also the CPU speed is constantly changing at an extremely fast rate so you may not always be able to see the changes in software

    Full detailed specs, monitoring software, and test scenario, and bios screen shots do help when troubleshooting from a distance

    You have a very good motherboard (one of the best) and I am sure you can get it operating in top form and be very happy, let's take it slowly and get it correct
    Thanks, I believe I have provided this information above, except for the BIOS screenshots which if you guys still want me to take screenshots of the BIOS's default settings I can do that, but I figured it's pretty self explanatory with what I explained above.

    The monitoring software I generally use is core temp, CPUID and MSI afterburner.
    Last edited by Zammin; 03-24-2018 at 12:10 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    230

    I've just seen a new BIOS got released (1101), I think I will try updating and seeing if that changes anything.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    230

    Okay I have an update on this.

    I tried the new BIOS. MCE is still doing nothing. Here is the system at idle and under full load (cinebench) with the BIOS set to optimised defaults (MCE enabled/auto).

    Idle:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Optimised Defaults Idle.PNG 
Views:	5 
Size:	186.3 KB 
ID:	72536

    100% Load:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Optimised Defaults 100% Load.png 
Views:	6 
Size:	167.8 KB 
ID:	72537

    Looks like Intel default speeds to me...

    I have been talking to the US ASUS tech support and so far it has been incredibly frustrating as they don't seem to understand MCE.. I even linked them the same videos I posted above which show that MCE runs the 8700k at 4.7Ghz in Cinebench 100% load on the exact same motherboard I have. These are the responses I got from them:

    "For Multi Core Enhancement feature in the BIOS, it's a feature which will synchronize the VCORE of all cores. If disabled, it will follow the stock setting which Intel turbo rule things like 39 on one core 35 on the other 3 or 38 on two cores and 35 on 2 or 36 on all four."

    "Regarding the MCE I just want to verify if have you performed any overclocking? Because upon checking if the MCE is set auto this item will allow you maximize the overclocking performance. If you set it to disable this item allows you to set to default core ratio settings."

    "For the MCE, the maximum turbo is 4.7Ghz but it only achieve in some situations like light loads and single thread applications. Otherwise, during heavy loads with all threads, it will run at 4.4/4.3Ghz.

    See below for example: "
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Intel default speeds.png 
Views:	75 
Size:	80.8 KB 
ID:	72538

    The image above that they provided me is just a table of Intel default speeds... They still have not answered the question I am asking over and over again which is "Why is MCE not working?". Enabling or disabling it sees the same speeds on my system but everyone else gets 4.7Ghz. No matter how many times I say this they just don't seem to understand.

    Can any of you guys help me? Is this enough information? Can someone else with the same motherboard try loading optimised defaults and tell me if you get 4.7Ghz with MCE in Cinebench?
    Last edited by Zammin; 03-25-2018 at 04:05 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Have you tried monitoring the core speeds using, HWinfo, AIDA64, or an app where you can monitor all cores separately at the same time so you can view the different speed of each core if left on defaults? I don't think you can see it in CPU-Z
    Which version of Cinebench are you using

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X Hero Z-370 ( Wifi ) bios -2102
    Processori7-8700k @ 5.1 @ 1.34v @ manual vcore , De Lid + rockit cool copper ihs
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16 GB 3000 Mhz cl-14 @ 4000 Mhz cl-17-19-19-39 @1.4v 1.21v vccio/vcssa
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080 TI FE @ 1911 mhz @ 0.975v Curve - Driver 431.36
    Sound CardMotherboard Realtec , Driver 87.46
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , 27 inch 165 HZ , 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Intel 600P , 512gb m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Kingston Hyper X furry 240gb ssd
    CPU CoolerThermalright true black 120 + 2 x 120mm push pull ( pump died rma )
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake Grand 750w RGB Platnuim
    Keyboard Logictec G510s
    Mouse Logictec G700s Wireless
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth Large
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z-5300 THX 5.1
    OS Windows 10-1809 x64 Pro
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    237

    Quote Originally Posted by Zammin View Post
    Hi Everyone,

    I'm posting my question here since I've been trying to get in contact with the Australian ASUS technical support for 13 days and they are just ignoring me and have closed my ticket without answering my questions.

    I have an ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero (WiFi AC) Motherboard with BIOS version 1003 (latest) and an Intel 8700k CPU.

    My understanding of Multi-Core Enhancement is that it should be turbo boosting all cores in my 8700k to 4.7Ghz (max turbo frequency) even under full load when running things like Cinebench or Realbench. However with MCE enabled, it appears that I am still only seeing Intel's default turbo speeds of 4.4Ghz idle and 4.3Ghz full load.

    Has ASUS changed the way MCE works in the latest BIOS because of instability issues or is there a problem with my motherboard/BIOS?

    Thanks in advance for any assistance.
    i noticed this as well i re did a reformat of windowss since my pci x riser cable was making my 1080ti stay in pci x 16 @ 8 x 3.0 vs 16 x 3.0 anywaysi fixed that issue as i run a vertical gpu .

    played around in bios left evrything defult no over clocking ( thats the first lol ) and selected xmp to on it asked me to enhance i said yes rebooted still droped down to 4.3 ghz wtf ?? all these you tube video of jayz 2 cents having multy core ehnacment on and it doesnt work ??

    fix : turn sync all cores to = sync all cores , not per core
    maybee since bios 805 om x hero multy core doesnt do that u have to do it manualy .

    after that it works just fine unless u like per core boosts

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •