Results 1 to 9 of 9

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Asus ROG X99 RAMPAGE V EXTREME/U3.1 doesn't POST, code b0

    Hi,

    I'm now on my third X99 mobo, after my previous Asrock board couldn't deal with my RAM and my first one died. System doesn't post, hanging on Qcode b0. I'm assuming it's b0 as the 6 doesn't have the top 'bar' but I could be wrong. Code b0 means "runtime set virtual address MAP begin" whatever that means.

    Specs are as follows:

    CPU: i7 5820k
    RAM: 4x4GB Corsair CMK16GX4M4A2800C16, which the manual states as being compatible

    I'm at this point assuming my Gigabyte X99 board fried my CPU when it died but I'm kind of hoping I'm just missing something. Have already tried positioning the RAM in multiple positions, reseating the CPU, clearing the CMOS etc.
    Am I doing something wrong, or is the board DOA?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array MikeAdu PC Specs
    MikeAdu PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme/U3.1/3701 BIOS
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960X @strap 100/4,0/3.5 1,15V both/1.92V input
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M4B3333C16 (two sets,64Gb,8 slots)
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080 Ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #3Asus GTX 1080 Ti Turbo
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung T260HD
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO waterblock,1x360mm + 2x240mm + 2x120mm radiators
    CaseCorsair T760 White
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Logitech G19S
    Mouse Logitech G700S
    Headset Logitech G35
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
    OS Windows 10 64bit/Windows 8.1 64bit/Windows 7 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    245

    Hi.
    There are four red LEDes on the motherboard,which one is ON?

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeAdu View Post
    Hi.
    There are four red LEDes on the motherboard,which one is ON?
    Do you mean the LEDs near the start and reset buttons? I won't be able to check until later today, but last time I tried booting the bottom light (the fourth one) was on.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array MikeAdu PC Specs
    MikeAdu PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme/U3.1/3701 BIOS
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960X @strap 100/4,0/3.5 1,15V both/1.92V input
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M4B3333C16 (two sets,64Gb,8 slots)
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080 Ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #3Asus GTX 1080 Ti Turbo
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung T260HD
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO waterblock,1x360mm + 2x240mm + 2x120mm radiators
    CaseCorsair T760 White
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Logitech G19S
    Mouse Logitech G700S
    Headset Logitech G35
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
    OS Windows 10 64bit/Windows 8.1 64bit/Windows 7 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    245

    These LEDes:

    What is ON?

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    It's the third LED. (DRAM)

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array MikeAdu PC Specs
    MikeAdu PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme/U3.1/3701 BIOS
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960X @strap 100/4,0/3.5 1,15V both/1.92V input
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M4B3333C16 (two sets,64Gb,8 slots)
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080 Ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #3Asus GTX 1080 Ti Turbo
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung T260HD
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO waterblock,1x360mm + 2x240mm + 2x120mm radiators
    CaseCorsair T760 White
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Logitech G19S
    Mouse Logitech G700S
    Headset Logitech G35
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
    OS Windows 10 64bit/Windows 8.1 64bit/Windows 7 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    245

    Hi.
    Try these steps.
    1.Clear CMOS.
    2.Press MEM OK! button.
    See if it help and let me know.

    Mike.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Did that a few times, both with all 4 DIMM's and just 1 in A1. MemOk makes the DRAM LED flash the same red color for a while, then it just goes into a bootloop doing that over and over.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    78

    Quote Originally Posted by fugalism View Post
    Did that a few times, both with all 4 DIMM's and just 1 in A1. MemOk makes the DRAM LED flash the same red color for a while, then it just goes into a bootloop doing that over and over.
    Have you tried 1 dimm in another slot.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array MikeAdu PC Specs
    MikeAdu PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme/U3.1/3701 BIOS
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960X @strap 100/4,0/3.5 1,15V both/1.92V input
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M4B3333C16 (two sets,64Gb,8 slots)
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080 Ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #3Asus GTX 1080 Ti Turbo
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung T260HD
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO waterblock,1x360mm + 2x240mm + 2x120mm radiators
    CaseCorsair T760 White
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Logitech G19S
    Mouse Logitech G700S
    Headset Logitech G35
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
    OS Windows 10 64bit/Windows 8.1 64bit/Windows 7 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    245

    What is your BIOS version?Maybe you could reflash it with 3701 version using USB flashback(by inserting BIOS USB to rear USB port)?If that do not work,try this:
    Can you put everything out of case,place motherboard on some surface,reseat CPU,put RAM sticks and connect PSU.Try to boot it.
    Let me know.
    P.S. If you have some different RAM,you could try it.

    Mike.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •