Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Is intel m.2 600P series are compatible with G752VL laptop?

    Hi Guys, I'm wondering I can use this type of SSD for my G752VL laptop, its 128GB m.2 nvme. I heard that samsung pro 950 are the ones working but I just want to know if this one works too because someone here in our area is selling it cheap. THanks!





    Product details:

    https://ark.intel.com/products/94917...3_0-x4-3D1-TLC.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array Gps3dx PC Specs
    Gps3dx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Current: G751JT | Retired: G55VW, G51JX
    MotherboardInc M.2 slot
    Storage #1Samsungs EVO 850 128GB
    Storage #21TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 (HTS721010A9E630)
    CPU CoolerMother Nature & Thermodynamics laws
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    Headset/Speakers Logitech T6060
    OS Cleaned installed Windows 10 HOME x64
    Accessory #1 Leap Motion

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    784

    looking on the spec of the ssd - which supports PCIe gen 3 x4 + NVME + m.2 (2280) -> I think that yes, it should work.
    be warn that intel got new SSD tech named "Optane" - which is fast & super expensive nowadays - and AFAIK is NOT compatible with any of ROG laptops to date.

    nontheless, I know from dealing with RAM sticks that even if you put a compatible stick & on paper is supports the SAME configuration as your previous working RAM sticks - there is still a possibility that it will NOT work !

    thus, it's better if you can try it before buying it - or get a promise for refund if item isn't compatible in retrospect.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    100
    Posts
    2,220

    Quote Originally Posted by aldwin1212 View Post
    Hi Guys, I'm wondering I can use this type of SSD for my G752VL laptop, its 128GB m.2 nvme. I heard that samsung pro 950 are the ones working but I just want to know if this one works too because someone here in our area is selling it cheap. THanks!
    Hi,

    Apologize that I haven't checked into this much on my end and know much more about it, but as Gps3dx mentioned, it's a good idea to have some options in case you run into any problems.

    Anyway, you may also want to check post #7 by Clintlgm at the thread below about some Intel M.2 SSD issues which again, haven't heard or checked definitively on my end if you want to look into it more.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-G703-GI-XS98K

    https://communities.intel.com/thread/125196

    Thanks.
    Last edited by cl-Albert; 06-13-2018 at 04:25 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by aldwin1212 View Post
    Hi Guys, I'm wondering I can use this type of SSD for my G752VL laptop, its 128GB m.2 nvme. I heard that samsung pro 950 are the ones working but I just want to know if this one works too because someone here in our area is selling it cheap. THanks!






    Product details:

    https://ark.intel.com/products/94917...3_0-x4-3D1-TLC.

    Guys I tried the m.2 ssd and it doesnt show up in the bios. But when I check it in intel rapid storage I can see it from there. Is there anything that I can do to activate this one? Thanks.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array Gps3dx PC Specs
    Gps3dx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Current: G751JT | Retired: G55VW, G51JX
    MotherboardInc M.2 slot
    Storage #1Samsungs EVO 850 128GB
    Storage #21TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 (HTS721010A9E630)
    CPU CoolerMother Nature & Thermodynamics laws
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    Headset/Speakers Logitech T6060
    OS Cleaned installed Windows 10 HOME x64
    Accessory #1 Leap Motion

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    784

    Quote Originally Posted by aldwin1212 View Post
    Guys I tried the m.2 ssd and it doesnt show up in the bios. But when I check it in intel rapid storage I can see it from there. Is there anything that I can do to activate this one? Thanks.
    there's a change you won't see it from UEFI(BIOS) and only at OS level.

    there are few guides/threads about NVME and m.2 SSDs for the G752 in this sub-forum - search for them.
    they expain how to load drivers when booting windows installation disk and after that when you boot into the OS.
    maybe the built-in NVME drivers of windows 10 is not good for that drive and you need to get intel's special drivers.

  6. #6
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Guys just an update! I tried to clone the exisitng sata hdd of my laptop using my desktop and hola! It works!! Intel 600p m.2 nvme ssd 128gb! After I cloned it it now shows up in the boot menu! Thanks for the help guys!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •