Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Crappy performance asus g74 sx

    I have noticed that my new g74sx is apparently performing worse than what I am reading in posts.

    I am only getting about 20-30 fps in arma2, and thats not even with everything maxed. I have seen some vids on youtube of people claiming 40-50 fps with everything maxed and with the maximum view distance possible.

    I am wondering if I did something wrong when installing this build - is any of the bloatware that comes on the cd essential to performance? I only installed a select few drivers I thought i needed. For instance I did not install the intel boost widget as I thought it only was a cosmetic thing and did not effect performance, is this true? This is a fresh windows 7 install. I also recently bought a SSD so that's not the bottleneck.
    Last edited by tyrspawn; 01-27-2012 at 12:20 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array fuzon1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    878

    Hi

    Take a look at my thread about the bloatware New notebook? Look here! (there is a guide which bloatware you "need" and don't need)

    Have you tried to use Throttlestop? Many of the G-series notebooks got that issue
    Last edited by fuzon1337; 01-27-2012 at 12:23 AM.
    Asus G73SW-91058V 3D
    - Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300
    - BIOS 205

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    2,916

    Quote Originally Posted by tyrspawn View Post
    I have noticed that my new g74sx is apparently performing worse than what I am reading in posts.

    I am only getting about 20-30 fps in arma2, and thats not even with everything maxed. I have seen some vids on youtube of people claiming 40-50 fps with everything maxed and with the maximum view distance possible.

    I am wondering if I did something wrong when installing this build - is any of the bloatware that comes on the cd essential to performance? I only installed a select few drivers I thought i needed. For instance I did not install the intel boost widget as I thought it only was a cosmetic thing and did not effect performance, is this true? This is a fresh windows 7 install. I also recently bought a SSD so that's not the bottleneck.
    You're correct that the Intel TB monitor is just a widget. And by definition, bloatware is not essential. The basic drivers are:

    Intel chipset
    Intel RST
    Intel MEI
    nVidia graphics
    Realtek audio
    Realtek cardreader
    Readtek LAN
    Atheros or Intel WLAN (and BT, if resent and needed)
    Fresco USB 3.0
    ATK Package

    Everything else is optional.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Here is my 3dmark:

    http://3dmark.com/3dm11/2630067

    And my cpuz:

    http://www.krauselabs.net/dump/krause-laptop.html

    And my asus driver installer, I am almost certain I am not missing anything:

    http://www.krauselabs.net/dump/installer.png

    dxdiag:

    http://www.krauselabs.net/dump/laptopdxdiag.txt

    I tried using throttlestop and did not see a performance difference. Saw a increase of 25 markpoints in 3dmark, but that barely seems outside the range of normal deviation. Although im not sure if I am using it correctly, there appears to be a debate as to what you need to click etc to get it to work as intended.

    I tried just opening it, checking those boxes in the OP, clicking turn on, just having it run in monitor mode etc. Nothing seeemed to increase performance
    Last edited by tyrspawn; 01-27-2012 at 01:38 AM.

  5. #5
    TeamROG Moderator Array ColonelS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    231

    Even in lowest settings are you getting low framerates?
    Click ->Republic of Gamers<- official Facebook page

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    I can get up to like 120 fps if i put it on the lowest settings possible, but there would be no reason playing the game at those settings

    I also was getting about 35 fps in one test, but in a forest environment i get 20-25 fps - seems about half of what it should be considering my settings
    Last edited by tyrspawn; 01-27-2012 at 01:53 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Here's a screenshot of TS doing a 32mb benchmark... are these numbers ok?

    http://www.krauselabs.net/dump/ts.png

    Doesn't it show all CPUs at 100%?

    edit: While it appears to be maxing in TS benchmark, none of my cores ar egoing past 30% when im running arma2. So... I dunno if this is a limitation of the game (doubt it) or my PC. >_<
    Last edited by tyrspawn; 01-27-2012 at 03:58 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    I have also low fps from the beginning of usage. At all games I see 10fps less than people playing on YouTube and any review that I saw. Tried clean install on Win7 64bit Enterprise and Win7 Professional 32bit (just in case)- results are the same: 20fps in Withcher 2 - ultra setting without only ubersapmling, and 20pfs in BG2 ultra settings. Strange is that after clean install first I didn't install Intel drivers and the game runs the same like when I install them .
    Even tried downgrade bios to 202 with no success. Will try clean install on Ultimate 64bit.
    Here are some screens: http://imageshack.us/g/29/bf320120127193447273.jpg/ and .csv from nvidiainspector playing Withcer 2 and BF3:
    NVIDIA_Inspector-MonitoringLog_2012-01-27_13_10_25-Withcer 2.csv - 22.1 KB
    NVIDIA_Inspector-MonitoringLog_2012-01-27_19_35_20-BF3.csv - 13.8 KB
    Last edited by codename47; 01-27-2012 at 08:56 PM.
    ASUS G74SX-TZ277D with 4x4GB Kingston

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •