Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Lightbulb Asus Strix O8g gtx 1070 - idle 50 celsius

    Hello there, I have a issue with my 1,5 year old gtx 1070 asus. When I start my computer my graphic card reaches 50 celsius in 1 hour ( idle - fans are not working I know that under 60 celsius automaticly fans closing )

    The problem is 1 year ago it was under 40 celsius when idle. I cleaned my case, using h100i v2 cpu cooler, 4 fans case, still im getting 50 celsius idle.

    Im using dual monitor 1080p both 75Hz. and using latest driver. What can I do ? By the way in RE7 kinda games temps reaching 75 celsius and more.
    Last edited by etorphine; 04-03-2018 at 12:30 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    By the way clocks 139/800 mhz always. Somehow, corsair link corsair utility engine and some other programs triggerng it from time to time but i cant close them because i need them.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    You may need to set a manual fan curve in whatever software you use for your Video card, GPU Tweak, MSI After Burner, etc. (easiest solution)
    You could remove heatsink from Video card and change TIM but this may remove your warranty if it has a sticker on one of the screws (TIM hardens over time and does not work as well as when new) Tighten the 4 screws on heatsink around GPU die but again this may void warranty because it damages the sticker

    Software conflicts are more difficult to diagnose and cure, Corsair just released a new version of Utility Engine that incorporates Link, update all APP's, drivers, and Windows

    When updating APP's like Link, etc. uninstall old version and run CCleaner to clean registry then install new version sometimes helps
    Last edited by Menthol; 04-03-2018 at 01:55 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    You may need to set a manual fan curve in whatever software you use for your Video card, GPU Tweak, MSI After Burner, etc. (easiest solution)
    You could remove heatsink from Video card and change TIM but this may remove your warranty if it has a sticker on one of the screws (TIM hardens over time and does not work as well as when new) Tighten the 4 screws on heatsink around GPU die but again this may void warranty because it damages the sticker

    Software conflicts are more difficult to diagnose and cure, Corsair just released a new version of Utility Engine that incorporates Link, update all APP's, drivers, and Windows

    When updating APP's like Link, etc. uninstall old version and run CCleaner to clean registry then install new version sometimes helps
    Thanks for the answer. Firstly i dont want to use manual fan curve etc. because as far as i know this card is designed for working without fan curve under 40 celsius.
    And i hate fan noise also.

    Secondly, I cant remove heatsink and cant change tim because i dont have experience about this. All drivers and bios updated. I will update all other applciations and go back to older driver than i use c cleaner.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •