Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    1x900P and two 1080s

    If I just install 1 900P 480 will i loose my 16x16 on my two gpus?

    I know newbie question, in theory im fine but in the back of my head i dont want to loose anything

    Already have a samsung, but was thinking about 900p as main boot and the samsung 2TB as an apps/games drive

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    You didn't list complete system details but I assume if you are running two gpu's at x16 you must have a CPU with 44 pcie lanes, you need to check your motherboard manual to see if you can add another pcie device without limiting your 2 GPU's, this may be motherboard specific is why more information is needed

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    7980 is the CPU and the RVIE

    I have two 1080s, and one samsung 2TB, but I want to run the 900P which of course take a PCI-E slot :P I want to know I can run all three PCI Cards at their full speeds, otherwise I wont give up an ounce of my GPUs x16s

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Did you check the manual for your board?

    It looks to me that you can place your pcie drive in the bottom X16 slot and do what you want

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	2 
Size:	152.8 KB 
ID:	72812

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    Im an idiot, the 900p is a 4x card so yeah 16+16=32 +4 = 36 :P im fine

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •