Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Z370 F XMP issue

    All,

    Posting here after almost reading every possible posts in this regard. Specs are

    Z370 F Gaming - bios 0612
    core i5 8400
    corasair 2 X 8gb -Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK8GX4M1A2666C16

    Ram has XMP profile of 2666 Mhz, earlier i had the ram installed in wrong slots and after changing it i was able to use XMP successfully without any issues for few days, but the issue started again today (cold boot) , regardless of whatever i do the system just dosent post if i change my RAM frequency.

    1. Enabling XMP results in failure posts in safe mode after few minutes
    2. Setting ram speed manually posts in safe mode
    3. tried single dimm alone still same
    4. ram works perfect with 2133 mhz (without XMP)
    5. Stress test on ram didnt return any issues.
    Edit:
    6. Tried switching back and forth between bios 0606 and 0612 as well

    Any help on this regard would be greatful, its driving me nuts
    Last edited by balagamer; 04-08-2018 at 08:12 AM.

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,830

    Set a manual VCCIO and VCCSA voltage of 1.2v see if the cold boot issues persist.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    Set a manual VCCIO and VCCSA voltage of 1.2v see if the cold boot issues persist.
    Just tried ,it's not getting past the yellow led in the mobo , but the odd thing is the xmp profile for 2666 mhz was set before and it was running fine ,even I played some nice games for hours in the past few days . Forget 2666 I can't even set anything above 2133 mhz where the post boot would stuck with yellow led.

    The rig is brand new ..

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Well , after hours of check with different keywords on Google , I was able to post successfully with just enabling xmp profile .

    Turns out there is an option called "mch full check " under "dram timing control" , dunno why on earth its burried under . Once it's disabled the xmp profile works just like that......

    Come on Asus!!!!! Don't be ridiculous in menu placements

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,830

    If the memory was unstable with MCH FC enabled, then disabling this option may not help in the long term. You may find the system will drop a DIMM and you won't notice.

  6. #6
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Hello

    As Silent Scone noted above disabling features that test for memory stability is not really a viable solution for memory related issues.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X Hero Z-370 ( Wifi ) bios -2103
    Processori9-9900 Ks @ 5.0 @ 1.23v @ manual vcore , De Lid + rockit cool copper ihs
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16 GB 3000 Mhz cl-14 @ 4000 Mhz cl-17-19-19-39 @1.4v 1.21v vccio/vcssa
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080 TI FE @ 1911 mhz @ 1.0v Curve
    Sound CardMotherboard Realtec , Driver 87.46
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , 27 inch 165 HZ , 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo 1 TB m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Samsung 970 evo 1 TB m.2 nvme ssd
    CPU CoolerGamermaxx L360 v2
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake Grand 750w RGB Platnuim
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnuim RGB
    Mouse Corsair Night Sword RGB
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth Large
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 THX 5.1
    OS Windows 10-1809 x64 Pro
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    267

    Quote Originally Posted by balagamer01 View Post
    Well , after hours of check with different keywords on Google , I was able to post successfully with just enabling xmp profile .

    Turns out there is an option called "mch full check " under "dram timing control" , dunno why on earth its burried under . Once it's disabled the xmp profile works just like that......

    Come on Asus!!!!! Don't be ridiculous in menu placements

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
    i have a solution if u scroll up from mch full check find "MAXIMUS TWEAK " TRY MODE 1 OR 2 my ram xmp only like mode 1

    if your failing memmory training and turn it off your ram is not stable man .

    the only time i turn MCH FULL CHECK OFF is when i over clock my ram and i run mem test 86 for 24 no errors

    so i would tell you run mem test 86 over night
    run hci mem test 1000 % coverage
    run asus real bench 8 hrs

    if you unstable ram in windows all the time u might get data lose and all kinda of errors man . hope this helps

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    If the memory was unstable with MCH FC enabled, then disabling this option may not help in the long term. You may find the system will drop a DIMM and you won't notice.
    Ran prime95 and aida system stability test targeting ram for few hours , it was fine . Ain't it enough ?

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    asus just released a new bios 0614 with change log showing improved memory compatibility !!!! let me give it a try and see how it goes

  10. #10
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by balagamer01 View Post
    Ran prime95 and aida system stability test targeting ram for few hours , it was fine . Ain't it enough ?

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

    No. Your system isn't stable enough to POST memory tests consistently. However, when it gets through POST, it's stable enough to pass Prime. By disabling the "MCH full check" option, you're bypassing the POST tests that find instability.

    -Raja

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •