Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array nightstrike PC Specs
    nightstrike PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Samsung NP-R580-JSB1US
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3866C18Q-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2Intel HD 530
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro MZ-V6P512
    Storage #2Western Digital WD6001FZWX
    CPU CoolerPhantek PH-TC12DX
    CaseCM Storm Trooper
    Power SupplySeasonic SSR-850TD
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    M8E with unsupported G.Skill

    Does anyone have any experience running two of the G.Skill F4-4000C19D-32GTZ 2x16GB kits for 64 gigs total at 4 GHz in an M8E? I want to try it, but I'm curious about the probability of success.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    If you want to try, then by all means try, the probability of success is pretty slim, 2 kits mixed may not work well together, double sided sticks are harder on the IMC then single sided sticks
    Good news is high speed memory modules work well at lower speeds

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array nightstrike PC Specs
    nightstrike PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Samsung NP-R580-JSB1US
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3866C18Q-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2Intel HD 530
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro MZ-V6P512
    Storage #2Western Digital WD6001FZWX
    CPU CoolerPhantek PH-TC12DX
    CaseCM Storm Trooper
    Power SupplySeasonic SSR-850TD
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Have you tried similar things before?

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array nightstrike PC Specs
    nightstrike PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Samsung NP-R580-JSB1US
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3866C18Q-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2Intel HD 530
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro MZ-V6P512
    Storage #2Western Digital WD6001FZWX
    CPU CoolerPhantek PH-TC12DX
    CaseCM Storm Trooper
    Power SupplySeasonic SSR-850TD
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Well, took a gamble, order placed

  5. #5
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    As above, best bet will be to tune that in manually. If you're willing to do that then you'll likely get some good results. However, that frequency will be tough.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array claudej PC Specs
    claudej PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Gene
    ProcessorIntel 7700K
    Memory (part number)2*8GB G.SKILL RipJaws IV
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte RTX 2060 OC
    Sound CardGraphic Card
    MonitorLG 65E7V
    Storage #1Intel 660P 2.0TB M.2 SSD
    Storage #2HGST Ultrastar ISE 4Kn 12TB
    CPU CoolerArctic Freezer 11 LP
    CaseSilverstone SG04B-H mATX
    Power SupplyThermaltake London 550W
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Logitech Performance Mouse MX
    OS Windows 10 64bit
    Network RouterHuawei E5770
    Accessory #1 LG CH08LS10 Blu-Ray

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    69

    Is there any use, nowadays, for more than 16GB Ram ?
    I barely manage to fill 9-10GB of my 16GB, leaving everything open.
    so 64GB ?

  7. #7
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    Quote Originally Posted by claudej View Post
    Is there any use, nowadays, for more than 16GB Ram ?
    I barely manage to fill 9-10GB of my 16GB, leaving everything open.
    so 64GB ?
    Depends entirely on your usage model and workload. You'd be surprised for instance just how quickly you'd run out of memory working with raw panoramic images.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array nightstrike PC Specs
    nightstrike PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Samsung NP-R580-JSB1US
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3866C18Q-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2Intel HD 530
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro MZ-V6P512
    Storage #2Western Digital WD6001FZWX
    CPU CoolerPhantek PH-TC12DX
    CaseCM Storm Trooper
    Power SupplySeasonic SSR-850TD
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Quote Originally Posted by claudej View Post
    Is there any use, nowadays, for more than 16GB Ram ?
    I barely manage to fill 9-10GB of my 16GB, leaving everything open.
    so 64GB ?
    Certainly. I want to use more of the Asus MemCache, for instance.

    Status update:
    I am trying first with just 2 sticks of 16 each in the A2/B2 gray slots as per the manual recommendation. They boot normally at DDR4 speeds. XMP doesn't work at all. I can manually set it to 3 GHz and boot. When I set it to 3400, it got completely stuck such that even the Safe Boot button won't bring it out of hiding.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array nightstrike PC Specs
    nightstrike PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Samsung NP-R580-JSB1US
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3866C18Q-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2Intel HD 530
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro MZ-V6P512
    Storage #2Western Digital WD6001FZWX
    CPU CoolerPhantek PH-TC12DX
    CaseCM Storm Trooper
    Power SupplySeasonic SSR-850TD
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    So I think I'm going to have to give up on this. Even with a full BIOS reset and my original memory, I can't get the onboard video to work anymore, so something went wrong. I never got consistent booting even at 3 GHz and 2 sticks, which should have been trivial to do. I'd happily hack on this further, but my window of opportunity is closing for a return, and I have to go on travel.

    I'll probably wind up buying F4-3400C16Q-64GTZ, which is on the QVL. Maybe I can overclock that.

  10. #10
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    Shame, but you were forwarned. There will be a slight penalty to stability when overclocking high speed kits using the onboard video.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •