Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 24 of 24
  1. #21
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    That is what a UEFI install looks like

  2. #22
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array will_s PC Specs
    will_s PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero X
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16-8GTZNC Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1Aorus 1080ti
    Sound Cardexternal Turtle Beach
    MonitorPredator 34"
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB m.2 (PCIE)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Pro
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 740 ATX Cube
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Gaming
    Headset Turtle Beach Elite Pro
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus
    Accessory #1 Fanatech CSW2
    Accessory #2 Fanatech V3's

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    174

    and I also now have windows boot manager and UEFI only under CSM enabled in BIOS

    But still the same boot time.......about 22 seconds and thats with only mouse and keyboard ( all other drives disconnected )

    Still I wanted a clean install


    edit: Just trying to improve boot speeds so disabled CSM and it booted. But sadly its about 10 seconds slower then with CSM enabled . Basically its 30 seconds v 20 seconds with GPT and MBR boottimes the same. Yet the cheaper Asrock boots in about 12 seconds. Must be some setting that is scewing things up...........when I first press the start button its about 11 seconds before the Asus splash screen appears
    Last edited by will_s; 04-13-2018 at 07:18 AM.

  3. #23
    ROG Junior Member Array ROG1 PC Specs
    ROG1 PC Specs
    MotherboardMAXIMUS VII HERO
    ProcessorI7 4770k
    Memory (part number)32gb vengeance pro x4 8 GB modules 2133mhz CMY16GX3M2A2133C11R
    Graphics Card #1Titan X
    MonitorAsus ROG swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Sandisk extreme II 250GB
    Storage #2Western digital 1TB
    CPU CoolerANTEC 650 kuhler
    CaseNZXT H440 red & black
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AX 760
    Mouse Corsair m60
    OS Windows 7 64bit

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Hmm.. after I installed win 10 on my M.2 i get boot loop like for 4 times everytime i clear cmos then it gets into windows 10. Mine takes along time to boot too...Mine stops the boot loop when I enable x4 mode in advanced on-board devices m.2

    I was told it is normal for m.2 installed as UEFI to not have UEFI clearly marked before it says windows boot manager, so I don't know in your case unfortunately for sure ,but mine i thought it would be something due to this

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array sdmf74 PC Specs
    sdmf74 PC Specs
    MotherboardMAXIMUS IX FORMULA
    ProcessorI7 7700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980TI K|NGP|N
    Sound CardON BOARD
    MonitorASUS PG279Q, BENQ XL2420TE, LG 55LM5800
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO M.2 512GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 850 PRO 512GB, SAMSUNG 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK VELOCITY RGB
    CaseCASELABS MERLIN SM8 (2 TONE)
    Power SupplyEVGA 1300G2 SUPERNOVA
    Keyboard WOOTING ONE, DUCKY ONE TKL RGB
    Mouse RAZER BASILISK
    Headset SENNHESIER G4ME ZERO
    Mouse Pad REFLEX LAB XXXL
    Headset/Speakers KLIPSCH PRO MEDIA 2.1
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC86U
    sdmf74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    285

    Quote Originally Posted by will_s View Post
    I am pretty sure thats what I did when I set it up a few months ago and this was the result




    should I not allow windows installation to makes these extra partitions ?

    btw: unless you select the pic you wont see the 476MB partition at the end
    Just stumbled across this thread and wanted to clear something up in case someone else lands here. That is actually NOT a UEFI
    installation in the pic as will_s stated correctly. Windows will create the 4 partitions either way & that is fine. The difference is with a UEFI install the partition with the green box will say "Healthy (EFI system Partition)" rather than "Healthy (logical drive)" or anything else.

    Also as mentioned before in disk management if you right click on the far left where it says disk 0 online & click properties, then click volumes it will say either "GUID Partition Table (GPT)" or MBR depending on the type of install.
    ASUS Maximus 9 Formula, Intel I7 7700k, EVGA GeForce GTX 980Ti K|ngP|n
    G Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB, EVGA supernova 1300G2, EK Velocity RGB, Samsung 960 pro 512gb(OS), Samsung 850 EVO 1tb(games), Samsung 850 Pro 512gb, Asus PG279Q 165HZ, BenQ 144hz, Windows 10 pro

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •