Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I need some help again! G73JH

    Unfortunately I had to trial and error things in regards of my Asus laptop from years ago (old post)*

    Recently things were running smooth and fantastic after replacing the graphics card for months. So I like to stream and record unfortunately streaming was bad because my i7 is 1.6ghz and I needed atleast 2.0 so I purchased a 2.0 i7 socket 2 *perfect fit* addter installing and reapplying everything accordingly my laptop no longer had a display

    Assuming maybe I missed a cable or two or something silly I undid everything retraced my steps and triple double checked no everything was fine *oven done this too much*

    So screw it I’ll go back to my old i7 and atleast deal with it working. Right.... no

    Nothing I’ll try to include a video

    Basic history and run down
    I purchased this laptop from someone and they assumed that they had burned out the motherboard so I replaced that

    Turns out graphics card was bad after trial and error and sadness from a Chinese seller on eBay *didnt refund me for a bad card that only worked temprarily like 2 days* shipped it back eBay dropped the ball another story for another day**

    Back to history
    Motherboard - replaced
    Graphics card replaced twice recent lasted much longer will contact seller for testing
    Speakers replaced
    Monitor and everything else is fine

    HOWEVER I DO NEED TO REPLACE THE CABLE I ZOOM IN ON IN THE VIDEO AT THE END PLEASE SOMEONE HELP 24 pin

    That is all any questions concerns please let me know I’ll try to post video here as well as the i7 I purchased and the graphical card

    https://youtu.be/bo7Mtit9fPY

    graphics card*** *https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F202109094337


    Cpu. * * * * * **https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F162893816397

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    300
    Posts
    7,446

    You should add your notebook model to this post. It's possible that this CPU isn't actually supported by the motherboard even if it fits. The motherboard has to have microcode to support it. If you have not already you should install the old chip and make sure you have the latest BIOS as that will possibly include the latest microcode. Unfortunately this is usually the case for desktop motherboards since the companies know people will use different CPUs in a desktop. That doesn't happen as much with laptops so there's no guarantee that they updated it to support different processors than the one that shipped with the machine.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    You should add your notebook model to this post. It's possible that this CPU isn't actually supported by the motherboard even if it fits. The motherboard has to have microcode to support it. If you have not already you should install the old chip and make sure you have the latest BIOS as that will possibly include the latest microcode. Unfortunately this is usually the case for desktop motherboards since the companies know people will use different CPUs in a desktop. That doesn't happen as much with laptops so there's no guarantee that they updated it to support different processors than the one that shipped with the machine.
    how do I add the model

    It’s

    Asus ROG G73JH
    *

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    300
    Posts
    7,446

    I don't know that will be much of an improvement and will definitely be a downgrade in many situations(streaming). The stock CPU is a quad core that can turbo boost up to 2.8 Ghz. You are trying to change to a dual core with a turbo boost of 3.33 Ghz. So your boost might be slightly higher but you are cutting your core count in half. Playing a game and running other tasks at the same time requires more cores, not less. So even if you get that CPU working it won't fix your streaming concern. Sorry.

    I still have a G73 lying around and I have to say that it's just a really old machine. None of the parts that would fit that era of motherboard offer a good value anymore. The fastest parts from 2009 pale in comparison to bottom tier new parts. You will be better off saving money and buying a newer used machine.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    I don't know that will be much of an improvement and will definitely be a downgrade in many situations(streaming). The stock CPU is a quad core that can turbo boost up to 2.8 Ghz. You are trying to change to a dual core with a turbo boost of 3.33 Ghz. So your boost might be slightly higher but you are cutting your core count in half. Playing a game and running other tasks at the same time requires more cores, not less. So even if you get that CPU working it won't fix your streaming concern. Sorry.

    I still have a G73 lying around and I have to say that it's just a really old machine. None of the parts that would fit that era of motherboard offer a good value anymore. The fastest parts from 2009 pale in comparison to bottom tier new parts. You will be better off saving money and buying a newer used machine.
    is like to update humbly as well as disagree just a bit

    The specifications are for streaming with the elgato software and indeed the intel selected WOULD have done the trick now the issue is the level of misinformation and almost lies when it comes to upgrading

    I need to get a clarksdale cpu and I’ve found one that will do everything I need it to do and wil update accordingly all clarkdales should be compatible from new information gathered but alas it will be trial and error

    Unfortunately overclocking doesn’t solve the issue as for some reason it needs to be at a certain point before any clicking is done

    Now ironically I managed to get some CPU’s confused and I had the WRONG cpu in *so at this time the Asus is running once again with the inferior original cpu*

    I’ll update after I attempt the proper cpu upgrade*

    I don’t like to give up a lot of people rather don’t continue there research and state false facts or outright give up technology *as of late including this asus can be upgraded with some ease, dedication, and minimum modifications*

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    sadness

    OK so commenting using the actual ASUS that's the good news the bad news is I bought a CPU and attempted the upgrade but alas the WRONG picture is uploaded to a CPU for sale i'm getting a full refund

    https://starmicroinc.net/intel-core-...80617003981ah/

    but this is my damn luck lol will update when I spend the extra $60 to get the proper (approved with seller picture of actual cpu)

    wish me luck

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •