cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Fractal Design Gunmetal R6 i7-8700K Poseidon build.

Pimpskillet
Level 7
Well hello there! New to this forum, and new to this water cooling thing, but being as I am an electrician and have ran many miles worth of pipe in my days, and someone who has been building my own computers going back to the 90's, I figured I'd have a go at a custom loop. I spent a lot of time reading, and watching hours and hours of videos, downloading spec sheets on sizes of different parts, mounts, radiators, fittings, pumps and all that crap. I finally got something put together in my head and this is what I came up with.

There was some interference from who knows what, so beware of the random pops in the beginning of the video.

I'll save you all the boring stuff and just get down to what's inside.

i7-8700K
Poseidon 1080 Ti
G.Skill 64G 3000 c14 quad channel...(realized I could have gotten faster 2 channel because this MB doesn't support quad). 😞
Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Phantex CPU block
Alpha Cool 360 (top)+ 280 (front) 30mm x-flow rads
3 PWM 120 mm, 2 PWM 140mm Fractal Venturi series HP fans
3 140mm Fractal Venturi HF fans
EK RGB D5 Vario pump w/ acetal top
EK X3 250 RGB res
EVGA 850 T2 Titanium P.S.
XSPC 14mm / 10mm Black chrome fittings
XSPC 14mm tubing

I de-lided my 8700...

I added a T so I could run a drain line to a bulkhead fitting easily accessible when you remove the rear cover on the case,.

So I figured I could play around a little. And without touching the voltage's, I can get 2100 out of my Poseidon, and 5.2 out of my 8700k. Granted I'm still a noob at this over clocking thing, but I'm pretty happy so far. Prime 95 had my processor's highest core at a high temp of 84, so I dialed it back to 5100 with a 300 offset for the AVX instructions.... that being said I got a 10,357 3dMark score in Timespy, and I'm assuming it's not horrible?

https://www.3dmark.com/spy/3583677