Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Divinedark

Strange new build issue

Hello all. I really hope you guys can help me out, cause I'm stumped...

Long story short: I'm an experienced pc builder, but just now making the jump to the current generation of 1366 systems. The system is as follows:

CPU: i7 950
    Ram: Corsair Dominator CL8
    Power Supply: XFX Black 850W
    GPU: EVGA GTX580
    Cooler: Thermaltake Frio setup Push/Pull

Problem: From a powered down state... If I hit the power button the machine comes to life, but the DRAM QLED lights solid red and the CPU QLED flashes red. Nothing comes up on the screen. If I hold the reset button (usually 2 seconds) till the CPU led stops blinking and release it the machine will boot fine.

Note: I did not plug the 4pin to the bottom right of the CPU socket in, as it says it's if you're running SLI. I'm running single card currently. I did plug it in to see if it made any difference, and it did not.

I just don't get it... I figured I set one of the vast number of features of this board up improperly.

P.S. - the first screen that shows after the "Hit DELETE" ROG screen is a marvell screen that says it's looking for bootable drives and can't find em. I can't get that to go away either.

Hope you all can help.

Cheers,
    TH

ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array martin_metal_88's Avatar

AZsus board always said they can;t find a bootable device for some reason...If you have a working HDD with windows on it don't worry it will boot. Try todouble check all your power cable and the front input cable to make sure you didn't mix anything. Also make sure you didn't mess up USB and FireWire cable. That would be final for your board. Then try memory each stick at a time ( maybe do it out of the case so it's more easy ). Or you could try re-seat the CPU and the cooler. You can also clearCmos to see if it's not just a bios option that is messed up for the power on button.
    Keep us up to date.
    Martin_metal_88