Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    21

    Question Should I install Intel RST or RSTe?

    Hi.

    First I would like to apologize if that question has already been asked; I did some research but I could not a specific answer.

    I've just acquired a Rampage VI Apex, and I don't know which Intel AHCI driver to install: the RST or the RSTe (enterprise)? (of both??)
    My main concerns are performance and stability; would any of them make a difference in this regard?

    My system drive is an Optane 900D, and I have an additional 950 Pro SSD + a traditional HDD. I won't do any RAID.

    Thank you very much for your help.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    73

    Hi. According Intel's guidance Windows 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 have native support for NVMe PCIe SSDs. Check out the doc below for more info (sec 2.1.3 deals with driver installation).

    https://www.intel.com/content/dam/su...Boot-Guide.pdf

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    If not setting up a raid array neither of these drivers are needed

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    21

    Thank you very much Stewart. That deals with my NVMe device.
    But actually I was wondering for my AHCI devices, i.e. my SSD and my HDD.
    *Thank you again.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    If not setting up a raid array neither of these drivers are needed
    I read several times that the Windows drivers do not perform as good as Intel's. Is this a wrong info?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    I would say any difference is so small it would be within tolerance and extremely difficult to prove, but you can test yourself to satisfy your curiosity,
    I recommend testing yourself, why take someone else word when you can prove to yourself on your system

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    21

    This is something I can definitely try and I'll make sure to report back if I do.*
    But meanwhile I thought I could benefit from others' knowledge and experience instead of figuring out myself. This is especially confusing since Asus proposes both RST and RSTe downloads..
    Thanks.*

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array skypine27 PC Specs
    skypine27 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5960x
    Graphics Card #1Titan X
    Graphics Card #2Titan X
    skypine27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    173

    I run 2 x SSDs in RAID0 for my Steam/Gaming drive. *Installing RST is required for Windows for this to work. *However, if I wasn't running that, I would not bother to install RST. *Its just one more thing to boot up (the little icon in the task bar takes a while to get the blue "check mark" symbol)

    *
    *CPU: Intel 7980XE @ 4.4ghz (by Core usage) w/ EK monoblock
    *Mobo: Asus Rampage VIE
    *RAM: 64GB DDR4 3000 G.Skill TridentZ
    *Graphics: Titan Xp w/EK block+backplate
    *Monitor: Dell Alienware AW3418DW @ 120hz
    *Storage OS: Samsung SM961 Pro (1TB) Windows 10
    *Storage Games Internal: 4TB 850 EVO RAID0
    *Storage Extermal: 32TB Raid0 (External USB 3.1 Box)
    *Case/PSU: Thermaltake V71 TG/RGB + 3 Rads (120mm, 360mm, 420mm) + Corsair AX1200i PSU

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array Inkar PC Specs
    Inkar PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7940X
    Memory (part number)[Trident Z] F4-3200C14Q-64GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti SC2 Black
    MonitorROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 2Tb
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC-280
    CaseCoolerMaster Cosmos C700P
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200W P2
    OS Windows 10 Fall Creators Update

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by soupiraille View Post
    This is something I can definitely try and I'll make sure to report back if I do.*
    But meanwhile I thought I could benefit from others' knowledge and experience instead of figuring out myself. This is especially confusing since Asus proposes both RST and RSTe downloads..
    Thanks.*
    I can tell you I use RST for a SATA raid 1 (2x HDDs). So, for SATA raids use RST.
    My guess is RSTe is used for NVMe (VROC) raid, but I can't tell for sure since I do not have 2 NVME drives to try it.
    Last edited by Inkar; 05-15-2018 at 02:56 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array birdman941 PC Specs
    birdman941 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsrock X299 Taichi XE
    Processori9 7900X (delidded)
    Memory (part number)64GB (4x16) Ballistix DDR4 2666 1.2V
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti SC2 hybrid
    Sound CardOnboard (Creative)
    MonitorLG - 27UD68 27" 4K
    Storage #14 x 280GB Intel Optane U.2 to M.2 in RAID0
    Storage #2Asus Hyper M.2 x 16 AIC
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i 280mm push/pull
    CaseEnermax Ostrog GT blue
    Power SupplyCorsair HX 1000i w/Blue braided cable set
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Red
    Mouse Corsair M65 PRO RGB
    Headset Turtle Beach Ear Force Stealth 450
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300
    Headset/Speakers Creative SoundBlasterX Katana
    OS Win10 Pro OEM
    Accessory #1 Asrock Thunderbolt 3 AIC
    Accessory #2 Rockit Cool X299 delid tool
    Accessory #3 COUGAR Armor-S Gaming Chair

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    RSTE is for VROC/Raid

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •