cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Z370-E & 8700K—Locked at 800MHZ—Processor Throttled?

zaknafien117
Level 7
Hi all. I'm new to PC building and trying to work my way out of an issue with my processor performing well below expectations. For some reason, it appears to be locked at 800MHZ—which is apparent in the bios. I have made sure to check the Windows performance profile, cleared CMOS, and updated the bios, and I've tried a fresh Windows install with no change.

I have XMP set to Profile 1 but that's about as much as I've tinkered with the bios.

Here's a link to Speccy.
Here's a link to an HWMonitor readout after 20 minutes of a Prime95 default torture test.
Also, UserBenchmark results below.

Is there a motherboard setting or physical hardware element on the board that could be contributing to this?

Thanks in advance.

—————
UserBenchmarks: Game 50%, Desk 27%, Work 27%
CPU: Intel Core i7-8700K - 19.4%
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080-Ti - 132.1%
SSD: Micron_1100_MTFDDAK2T0TBN 2TB - 68.9%
SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 500GB - 66.4%
HDD: Hitachi HDN728080ALE604 8TB - 117.3%
RAM: G.SKILL F4 DDR4 3200 C16 4x8GB - 45.6%
MBD: Asus ROG STRIX Z370-E GAMING
8 REPLIES 8

Menthol
Level 14
Unless you have an LN2 switch on the motherboard that has been switched to the on position, return to retailer or RMA

Menthol wrote:
Unless you have an LN2 switch on the motherboard that has been switched to the on position, return to retailer or RMA

Ugh, okay. I was worried about that, but I'll look into a return. It's a Z370-E, and I don't see anything for LN2 on the board. Thanks for the response.

Menthol wrote: