Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Is my CPU working Normally ???

    Hi everyone.
    Yesterday i started using my new ROG strix GL702VI-WB74

    The thing that bothers me is that on my previous ROG which has CPU i7-4700HQ processor speed is always above 3.2 GHz and it never drops.

    This new computer with i7-7700HQ processor has different speed every second - it goes from 3.6 to 1 Ghz in the matter of secnds. It is never constant and it is changing all the time even when nothing is on.
    Is that normal???
    It really confuses me.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array MarshallR PC Specs
    MarshallR PC Specs
    MotherboardR5E10
    Processori7-5960X @ 3.95
    Memory (part number)HyperX 3300CL16 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1080 Ti OC
    Sound CardSupremeFX
    MonitorASUS PA328Q
    Storage #1SM951 NVMe (OS)
    Storage #2SM941 ACHI (Splash) / 8TB WD Red (Data) / 1TB Samsung 950 Pro (Games Store)
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken x62
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplySeasonic PD750W
    Keyboard G.Skill KM560 (MX Red)
    Mouse ROG Gladius (Gen1) & Sica (Gen1)
    Headset/Speakers Creative T20
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterRT-N16U (120M/10M)
    Accessory #1 2 meters RGB bling
    Accessory #2 iPhone 8Plus + AirPods
    MarshallR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    75

    It's very normal. It improves battery life. When the CPU isn't being used it aggressively lowers its clock speed and voltage to minimize power use. It's maximum clock speed for 1 core is 3.8, but its base frequency is 2.8GHz.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by MarshallR View Post
    It's very normal. It improves battery life. When the CPU isn't being used it aggressively lowers its clock speed and voltage to minimize power use. It's maximum clock speed for 1 core is 3.8, but its base frequency is 2.8GHz.
    Thanks, I thought so. But observing my previous computer where it never goes bellow 3.3 GHz confused me....
    Also it scared me that it can go from 3.8 to only 1.1GHz in the second.

    But ok, I am glad it is normal.
    Thanks.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Just one more question to be absolutelly sure - it is normal to go bellow base (2.8GHz) frequency also? That is actually what scared me - it can go down to 1 GHz.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    Quote Originally Posted by DuleTnT View Post
    Just one more question to be absolutelly sure - it is normal to go bellow base (2.8GHz) frequency also? That is actually what scared me - it can go down to 1 GHz.
    perhaps that's intel speedstep at work?
    as long as you run benchmark programs and they all (the cores) go up to 2.83 GHz, there should be nothing you ought to be worried about.

    High load = high clockspeed.
    low load = low clockspeed = save power = longer battery life = profit.

    in fact, if it doesn't downclock during idle, then you should be worried.
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Yes that is normal on new Intel systems, Speed Shift in action

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Great!
    Thank you guys.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    OK, I was relieved after this chat that everything is ok and normal, and then I went to turn on my computer and play some game....
    and this is what happened:
    Plenty ROG logos on screen freezed.
    I needed to force shut down and start computer again, then it came on normally. It happened twice today

    What the hell is that now?

    Here is the picture:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180417_220611.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	369.7 KB 
ID:	73323

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •