Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    Can you list what exactly is connected to the rear IO and also internally.

    so drives etc and also whether they're in a RAID array of any kind and which M. slot etc.
    Rear IO : Ethernet, Razer Keyboard and Mouse.
    Internally : POwer ON/OFF for the case, ATX power, EATX 8 pin power supply.
    1 M2 SSD Samsung 960 EVO on slot 1 (also tried on the dimm2)
    GTX 1080 in the first PCIE x16 slot.

  2. #12
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,831

    Quote Originally Posted by sha33 View Post
    Rear IO : Ethernet, Razer Keyboard and Mouse.
    Internally : POwer ON/OFF for the case, ATX power, EATX 8 pin power supply.
    1 M2 SSD Samsung 960 EVO on slot 1 (also tried on the dimm2)
    GTX 1080 in the first PCIE x16 slot.

    A few users were having similar issues not too long ago, might be worth a try.


    http://www.overclock.net/forum/26395928-post819.html

    Try the settings here posted by Raja under DRAM Timing > IO Control.

    I'd suggest trying the first values at stock (without XMP). These are very much CPU specific so you can try adjusting them incrementally.

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    A few users were having similar issues not too long ago, might be worth a try.


    http://www.overclock.net/forum/26395928-post819.html

    Try the settings here posted by Raja under DRAM Timing > IO Control.

    I'd suggest trying the first values at stock (without XMP). These are very much CPU specific so you can try adjusting them incrementally.
    Thanks for the hint ! But no luck, still the same freeze, with and without XMP. I think the board has a problem.

  4. #14
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,831

    Quote Originally Posted by sha33 View Post
    Thanks for the hint ! But no luck, still the same freeze, with and without XMP. I think the board has a problem.

    Did you try adjusting the values incrementally?

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    Did you try adjusting the values incrementally?
    No, but it should run with default stock settings, you don't buy a 699$ board that don't run..
    I just tried with my aorus x299 gaming 9; it ran immediately with 8 sticks, on XMP. The R6E really has lots of problems, as i saw on this forum. I just returned the board to buy the aorus one.

    Thanks for your help everybody !

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Please read this, in the beginning of my setup I had the exactly same problem. And then I finally foud out what the problem was. >Don't auto launch GameFirst IV at startup!<
    It fixed for me. The problem is when it starts up too soon it limits some windows components(which it shouldn't do). Thats why everything gets super slow.
    In you situation you have to be quick before it gets slow. As soon as you log in immediatly kill the gamefirst app. After that you can manually lauch it and disable it at startup. It works normal when you lauch it manually when you reboot.

    I hope I helped your situation

    Edit: I see I responded too late and you returned the board already. It was only a software issue
    Can you still get it back?
    Last edited by akaash00; 04-30-2018 at 06:21 PM.

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by akaash00 View Post
    Please read this, in the beginning of my setup I had the exactly same problem. And then I finally foud out what the problem was. >Don't auto launch GameFirst IV at startup!<
    It fixed for me. The problem is when it starts up too soon it limits some windows components(which it shouldn't do). Thats why everything gets super slow.
    In you situation you have to be quick before it gets slow. As soon as you log in immediatly kill the gamefirst app. After that you can manually lauch it and disable it at startup. It works normal when you lauch it manually when you reboot.

    I hope I helped your situation

    Edit: I see I responded too late and you returned the board already. It was only a software issue
    Can you still get it back?
    Hi !

    Thanks for the hint but this software was already uninstalled ! It conflicted with the network for me, really slowed down the bandwidth of the Ethernet. And again, freezes don't happen only in windows, sometimes it froze when windows was loading... So this was not the solution, i think the board has a problem.

  8. #18
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,831

    Quote Originally Posted by sha33 View Post
    No, but it should run with default stock settings, you don't buy a 699$ board that don't run..
    I just tried with my aorus x299 gaming 9; it ran immediately with 8 sticks, on XMP. The R6E really has lots of problems, as i saw on this forum. I just returned the board to buy the aorus one.

    Thanks for your help everybody !

    Hi, no problem. Although had you done as I suggested it may have worked. CPU may have also needed reseating.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •