Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    STRIX X470-F Help - CPU Voltage / RAM

    System Specs

    [LIST][*]Win 10[*]Ryzen 2700X[*]ROG Strix X470-F (BIOS version 4008 - about to update to 4010)
    • GSkill 32GB (2x16GB) 3200 CL14 (F4-3200C14D-32GTZR)
    • Samsung 960 Pro 1TB



    System was up and running fine and managed to get it to do 4GHz (Manual or Auto) with Manual Core Voltage @ 1.225v.
    RAM was fine also at 3200MHz, 14-14-14-34 @ 1.35v.

    Tried tweaking some settings then it didn't POST. Had to remove the CMOS battery and tried with the previously working BIOS profile that was saved and it doesn't work anymore.

    1. Can't get the system to POST at anything higher than 2800MHz on the RAM. MemTest86 threw some errors after running overnight but want to test the sticks separately as well. Could the motherboard or CPU be causing MemTest to throw errors?

    2. CPU-Z and HWInfo shows that the CPU is pulling 1.35-1.4v even when it's "Manual" set to 1.225v in the BIOS. Any idea what could cause this or what other settings I should adjust to make it stay at the voltage I set? It was staying at 1.225v yesterday no problem.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array Craigo1986 PC Specs
    Craigo1986 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG X370-f gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 2700x @ 3.9ghz turbo to 4.4Ghz
    Memory (part number)Corsair vengance RGB 3200Mhz 2 x 8Gb
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC edition
    MonitorPanasonic Viera tv
    Storage #1Samsung Ssd 250gb
    Storage #2Seagate barracuda 1Tb sata 3
    CPU CoolerGamemax Iceberg twin closes water cooler
    CaseGamemax
    Power SupplyCorsair 850watt PSU
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    I'm also running the 2700x but on the x370-f mb and to start with I couldn't get it to run full stop. I had to clear the CMOS and start again. I found that if I use auto oc or manual or any docp profile the pc wouldn't boot full stop and would cause error after error. only way I can get it to work and be stable is by leaving oc on default setting and then change the memory frequency to desired setting. if I then change timings again the system becomes very unstable and won't boot. i'm not sure wether this is because i'm running the x370 mb and there needs to be more updates etc.. but at the minute i'm running my corsair 3000Mhz RGB at 3200Mhz on auto settings with CPU speed of 3.3Ghz at idle and when turbo kicks in 4.2Ghz across all cores.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Thanks for the quick response.

    You might need to wait for a BIOS update.

    When I first got the X470-F, it had some other version (I forget the number) and it didn't like my RAM settings either. Updated to 4008 which let it load up at 3200 CL14 with no issue. Then it started acting up.

    I just updated to 4010 which seems to have done the trick for the CPU pulling more voltage than it should based on my Manual setting unless having it reset everything similar to clearing CMOS helped resolve that.

    I'll give test out the RAM at 3200 while leaving the timings and everything else on Auto and report back.

    I have mostly everything on Auto too, except for the various voltages that I set to something static so that they don't fluctuate. Also have things like the Load Line Calibration at Level 5 etc also to keep things the voltages from bouncing around.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array Craigo1986 PC Specs
    Craigo1986 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG X370-f gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 2700x @ 3.9ghz turbo to 4.4Ghz
    Memory (part number)Corsair vengance RGB 3200Mhz 2 x 8Gb
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC edition
    MonitorPanasonic Viera tv
    Storage #1Samsung Ssd 250gb
    Storage #2Seagate barracuda 1Tb sata 3
    CPU CoolerGamemax Iceberg twin closes water cooler
    CaseGamemax
    Power SupplyCorsair 850watt PSU
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Yes i expect there to be new bios before too long after reading reviews and what amd said about speeds on the old boards im suprised that i was getting 4.2 under load occasionally hitting 4.3ghz. Also the cpu has really made a difference to my gpu as well i have already had a 10-15 fps increase already and my old ryzen 7 1700 was clocked at 3.9ghz. Ive not veen brave enough to mess about with voltages yet... but i imagine if i tweak them i would get more out of cpu.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Still no luck after a bunch of tweaking of things at Auto.

    Actually had better luck with the OC on Manual, but leaving everything else on Auto besides the Memory Frequency and timings. Worked my way down and it's somewhat stable at 2933MHz but had 1 bad boot so it might not really be stable.

    Tried feeding it more DRAM voltage at 1.385v but that didn't work so backed down to 1.35v.

    Will have to MemTest it again overnight - moved it from slot A2/B2 to A1/B1 to see if it might be bad slots on the motherboard.

    Edit: Yup, 2933 wasn't stable either, locked up my computer pretty quick and then I had to back it down to 2866 which is working for now.
    Last edited by iDShaDoW; 04-22-2018 at 08:42 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    So no idea but I have the RAM at 3333MHz CL14 @ 1.35v right now but not stress tested.

    MemTest ran for like 7 hours in slots A1/B1 with no errors.
    Moved them back to A2/B2 (manual recommends these slots for Dual channel). 4 hours of MemTest with no errors.

    Figured I'd randomly try moving speeds up but bumped voltages to SOC 1.1v and DRAM 1.36v. Moved frequencies up 1 notch at a time and it didn't like 3400 - had to pop the CMOS battery and backed down to 3333MHz.

    Then figured I'd back down the voltage to DRAM 1.35v - no problems.
    Started backing down SOC voltage a bit a time and settled on 1.025v.

    Same exact voltages I had working a couple days ago with no real changes to anything else but now it wants to cooperate... was scratching my head all day getting annoyed yesterday that it didn't want to do higher than 2800MHz with these settings.

    Now wondering if I shoud load up the Ryzen DRAM calculator tool and use the suggestions for everything besides the 14-14-14-34 1T.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Just an update but I've still been messing around. Somehow caused the system to not like something and it did it again where it doesn't like anything I throw at it over 2800MHz on the RAM.

    Noticed that CPU-Z / HWInfo showed that it was pulling Core Voltage @ 1.4-1.45v even though I told it to do otherwise in the BIOS.

    Had to unplug the computer and pop the CMOS battery and once I booted it up it would take the previous good values of 3333MHz CL14 @ 1.35v and Core Voltage @ 1.225v and confirmed in HWInfo.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    After quite some time testing, mostly with the ram timings I got some nice results
    Here some findings for me, maybe it helps someone

    Asus Strix X470-F
    Ryzen 2700X
    Noctua NH-D15 SE-AM4
    Nvidia GTX 1080

    Crucial Ballistix Elite 4x8GB DDR4-3466 - BLE2K8G4D34AEEAK
    XMP 3466 16-18-18-36

    I got it stable on 3333 mhz 16-17-16-16-32-54
    pretty happy with it considering im using 4 dimms
    Tested Prime custom 512-4096 with 26000MB ram for 120 minutes (0 errors)

    Important settings for me:
    - keep soc voltage as low as possible for best stability, at 3266, I needed to go up to 1.05
    - keep ram voltage a low as possible for best stability, at 3333, I needed to go up to 1.35
    - RTT NOM RZQ/7, RTT WR OFF, RTT PARK RZQ/5 >> most stable off all combinations I tried and least cold boot problems
    - proc odt 53 most stable
    - Geardown helps with stabilty
    - I could use almost all the values from the ryzen calculator, to tighten secondary and tertaire timings except:
    -> Trdrd scl needs to be 4!
    -> Trdrd scl needs to be 4!
    -> Trrcd 17
    - CLDO_VDDP set it back to auto
    -> But if you gonna tweak this, dont forget to do hard resets (also after bios goes to save mode and you load your previous correct profile!)
    -> For stable 3400 mhz attempt might need to tweak this, have mory hole at 3466 I think, but its such a pita..

    - when I was changing ram settings, every time the MB has boot issues or boots to safemode, I need to clear reset the cmos !!
    (touch it with screw driver, dont need to remove battery), else even previous stable settings would not be stable !!

    Ai Tweaker settings:
    using boost options, and vcore as low as possible for highest boost (boost highest under 40 degrees)
    Vcore can go a noth lower, but at 1.31125 it can very rarely lockup on idle.
    - ai tweaker auto
    - core ratio auto
    - performance enhance level 2
    - tpu 2
    - soc voltage 1.05
    - vcore 1.3250
    - LLC 2
    - pbo enabled
    - pbo scalar 10

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	timings.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	94.7 KB 
ID:	73848


    Some updated Benchmarks
    cb15 multi 1873
    cb15 single 180
    Aida latency 65.2
    FM Timespy Total 7943
    FM Timespy GFX 7708
    FM Timespy CPU 9689
    Last edited by Orb79; 05-17-2018 at 07:58 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array AniChatt PC Specs
    AniChatt PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ThinkPad X270 i7 7500U
    MotherboardAsus Strix X470-F BIOS 5843
    ProcessorR5 5600X Stock
    Memory (part number)FlareX 3200MHz 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
    MonitorBenQ EW2480
    Storage #1960EVO NVMe 250GB
    Storage #2MX500 SATA 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseNZXT S340 Razer
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 850W Gold
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
    Mouse Corsair Harpoon
    OS Windows 10 20H2
    AniChatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    283

    Guys I am also a owner of X470-F and opened a general discussion thread for this mobo here,

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?102858

    I would request you to post your issues in this thread I have just opened for all X470-F users. Posting in a single bigger thread helps to grab attention and easier to report to Asus.
    Please post your current status here so that we all can have a healthy and meaningful discussion which will help each other.

  10. #10
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    hello, I would like to try more than 3600MHz ram speed. Do you know how to achieve to download a beta bios better than 4011 for x470-f gaming please ? Now testin Viper 4133 rgb rams.

    Thx

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •