Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Question Ryzen 2700X + Crosshair VII Hero and some RAM issues.

    Hey guys,

    Since last Friday I'm a proud owner of both the Ryzen 2700X cpu and a Crosshair VII Hero mainboard. Everything runs quiet and smooth with one exception:

    My ram won't work with more than 2133 MHz.

    I'm using this RAM: G.skill F4-3200C16D-32GVK with 2x 16 GiB and 3200 MHz @ 16-18-18-38. However neither auto overclocking nor manual oc will get me even to 2400 MHz. My mainboard bios is up to date.

    Any thoughts? I already resetted my bios settings, added more voltage than specified and entered ludicrous slow timings, but there is no way to get the ram working with more than 2133 MHz. Using only one stick or changing the slots won't get my any further too.

    Regards
    Cloud

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Syaoran PC Specs
    Syaoran PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GP62 7RD
    MotherboardMSI MAG X570 Tomahawk WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5900X @ 4GHz
    Memory (part number)64GB (4X16GB) Crucial Ballistix RGB 3600C16
    Graphics Card #1Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    Graphics Card #2Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56
    MonitorSamsung 49" LC49HG900MNXZA 32:9
    Storage #11TB Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus NVMe
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda Pro 6TB
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer 2 420
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo SE (Green)
    Power SupplySilverStone Strider ST1200G
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair VOID Pro Wireless RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo HT-S7700
    OS Windows 11 Education x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AX86U
    Syaoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    264

    You should have done some reading here before buying any of the AM4 Crosshair boards. RAM compatibility is very hit and miss and that changes with each BIOS update. These boards require more voltage for your RAM to even consider being stable. Set your RAM Vboot to 1.4v and consider setting your RAM to that at a minimum as well. 32GB of RAM seems to be another issue. I haven't looked up your RAM but most high density sticks are dual rank, which will usually force you to use 2T over 1T for your RAM on any of the AM4 Crosshair boards.

    If that doesn't get you there. You are basically stuck waiting for a newer BIOS to see if that helps. The quick solution is to either exchange your RAM for something more commonly used, supported, and on the Asus QVL list or look to Gigabyte, MSI, or another board manufacture for a better experience.
    Syaoran

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    121

    F4-3200C16D-32GVK is dual rank hynix MFR which is double problem. Most likely you will have to spend some time with finding proper settings (procODT, RTT, DRAM voltage, SOC voltage and of course timings).

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Both statements up are not true for ryzen I have F4-3200C14D-32GTZ which is B-die and it works with 3200mhz cas 14 with good timings (with cmd 1T), AIDA64 read = write = copy 49.9GB/s with latency 70.5ns. with Hynix there could be problem but not as big as they mentioned up.

    I will use same RAM for C7H WIFI and 2700x not sure whether I will have any problems.

  5. #5
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by sbakic View Post
    Both statements up are not true for ryzen I have F4-3200C14D-32GTZ which is B-die and it works with 3200mhz cas 14 with good timings (with cmd 1T), AIDA64 read = write = copy 49.9GB/s with latency 70.5ns. with Hynix there could be problem but not as big as they mentioned up.

    I will use same RAM for C7H WIFI and 2700x not sure whether I will have any problems.
    I would appreciate if you could follow-up on this once you get around updating to the mentioned CPU/MB as I am looking at the same scenario (wanting to use 3200CL14 DIMMS for 32GB total, yet unsure which sticks to buy and how to best set them up for ideal performance).

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array neikosr0x PC Specs
    neikosr0x PC Specs
    Motherboardx570 Crosshair Dark Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 5900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 4000cl18 @ 3600 cl16
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3080
    MonitorSamsung G7
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 970 Plus
    Storage #2Western Digital SN850
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i RGB
    CasePhanteks P500A
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Corsair
    Headset JBL quantum 800
    Mouse Pad Asus ROG
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    cpu tweaked by it self?

    Well, dont know exactly why my cpu is boosting up to 4.741 even on all cores... and 4.45 most of the time when boosting.

    Also manage to get the RAM to work at 3600mhz

    16-16-16-16-35-58 2T 1.425v till now it seems stable.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos asdasdasdasd.jpg  


  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    222

    Quote Originally Posted by neikosr0x View Post
    Well, dont know exactly why my cpu is boosting up to 4.741 even on all cores... and 4.45 most of the time when boosting.

    Also manage to get the RAM to work at 3600mhz

    16-16-16-16-35-58 2T 1.425v till now it seems stable.
    You might have better performance with the memory at a lower clock. You should read this article: https://www.io-tech.fi/artikkelit/dd...-suorituskyky/

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array neikosr0x PC Specs
    neikosr0x PC Specs
    Motherboardx570 Crosshair Dark Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 5900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 4000cl18 @ 3600 cl16
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3080
    MonitorSamsung G7
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 970 Plus
    Storage #2Western Digital SN850
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i RGB
    CasePhanteks P500A
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Corsair
    Headset JBL quantum 800
    Mouse Pad Asus ROG
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by danjw View Post
    You might have better performance with the memory at a lower clock. You should read this article: https://www.io-tech.fi/artikkelit/dd...-suorituskyky/
    yeap. im still tweaking the memory i did manage to get it stable at last lol @3600.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 3600 6min Stable Decent speed.jpg  

    t2 3466 stock best.jpg  


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •