Page 2 of 16 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 159
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    982

    NP . As OP has grown now, at top where it states last update to OP I'll also place what has occurred in last update.

    P95 & Y-Cruncher I know there are Linux versions. I've added the P95 links to OP. Y-Cruncher link takes you to homepage of SW where there is link for Linux version. Statuscore, RTC, etc are not supported within Linux . Is such a shame apps are not ported to Linux, I'd jump from WinOS if they would occur. I have had rigs with multiple OS and plan to load up Linux on PR+C7H very soon.

    As of HWINFO v5.83-3435 "Core Quality" is being shown. Perf #0 being best and highest worst.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Best CORE.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	693.1 KB 
ID:	73788

    Matches with CPO test app data, link to CPO test.
    Last edited by gupsterg; 05-11-2018 at 09:05 AM.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    P95 & Y-Cruncher I know there are Linux versions. I've added the P95 links to OP. Y-Cruncher link takes you to homepage of SW where there is link for Linux version.link to CPO test.
    Thanks. P95 is called mprime on linux. I've been using it (latest version: 29.4b8) for my stress testing. I saw the note about version 28.1. Is that still the currently recommended version?

    When is y-cruncher suggested to be used, and for how long?

    There is also Google's stressapptest which I read was the most recommended test (by Raja@ASUS, I think) for memory: https://github.com/stressapptest/stressapptest Would be good to know if the recommendation still stands.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    982

    Yes I use GSAT, great app for testing RAM. As you can run it on unstable CPU setup (loosely speaking) it really seems to isolate RAM well.

    Y-Cruncher can create high peak temps, loading of CPU is similar to P95. If you can pass ~1-2hrs you have reasonable stability IMO. I usually run it 4-8hrs. I like it as it does varying loads within the tests.

    I find on my wall power meter 28.10 Build 1, rig uses ~10% more power than later versions. The Stilt has advised to use this version, his forte is such things .
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    The commentaries of how/when/why and how long a given testing software is used is even more useful than (already useful) software lists. The input from experience is much appreciated.

    What peak temps are acceptable on the 2700X and where is the danger zone? And aside from steady peak temps under load, I was surprised at sharp (10C up to 20C increases) spikes in temps with this CPU from idle at low/burst loads.

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jackwolfskins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Hi i need some advice on my 2700x if i use PE3 boost voltages are up to 1.56v is this normal behavior or can i run the system like this?

    I realy like having it bosting to 4350 it doesnt do that with PE2 also my cooling is realy good on full load i never get over 68cº .
    -= CROSSHAIR VIII HERO =-
    ASUS STRIX 2080 Super OC
    AMD R7 3800X
    GSKILL TRIDENT Z 3200 CL14 RGB
    SAMSUNG 960 EVO 250GB
    CORSAIR RM650i

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    982

    Quote Originally Posted by gorpo View Post
    The commentaries of how/when/why and how long a given testing software is used is even more useful than (already useful) software lists. The input from experience is much appreciated.

    What peak temps are acceptable on the 2700X and where is the danger zone? And aside from steady peak temps under load, I was surprised at sharp (10C up to 20C increases) spikes in temps with this CPU from idle at low/burst loads.
    NP , sorry for delayed response .

    Offically peak temps no idea, The Stilt mentions a 85C limit at stock settings, recently added quote in Performance Enhancer section in OP from The Stilt's Ryzen thread. I have also queried him so will update ASAP.

    The sharp temp increases, bounces are all normal on Ryzen. I added below in FAQ section a little while back:-
    Q: Why do I see CPU temperature bounce?
    A: Ryzen has ~20 on die temperature sensors, some rotating goes on and highest value is shown.
    I may add below image in OP and expand info on temps soon.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	806e1139_AMD-Ryzen-Slide-11.jpeg 
Views:	1 
Size:	256.7 KB 
ID:	74053

    Quote Originally Posted by Jackwolfskins View Post
    Hi i need some advice on my 2700x if i use PE3 boost voltages are up to 1.56v is this normal behavior or can i run the system like this?

    I realy like having it bosting to 4350 it doesnt do that with PE2 also my cooling is realy good on full load i never get over 68cº .
    That would be normal for PE3.

    You see the CPU SMU is using FIT to assess set voltage (see link to Ryzen Technical thread in OP) . As to if this is appropriate for long term use I have no idea. PE 1/2 should be more reasonable for voltages.

    Currently I run a 4.1GHz in PState 0, using VID of 1.318V. RAM is set to 3466MHz The Stilt preset, SOC: 0.968V, VDIMM: 1.37V. All of this setup IMO is sweet for performance and well with in "spec" to not cause long term issues from voltages, etc IMO. This setup loses me some single core performance but gains me multicore and does shave away the larger peaks of CPU temp/voltages seen at default setup.

    Below left side is UEFI defaults but PE set to Default with RAM 3400MHz The Stilt 3466MHz timings and right is 4.1GHz ACB, 3466MHz The Stilt. I will do a like RAM MHz compare ASAP, but I doubt the 66MHz difference would affect anything in this context.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CB15 stock vs 4.1GHz.jpg 
Views:	32 
Size:	384.3 KB 
ID:	74054

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Y-Cruncher stock vs 4.1GHz.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	489.9 KB 
ID:	74055
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  7. #17
    Banned Array YourMainDude PC Specs
    YourMainDude PC Specs
    MotherboardCrossfire VII Hero
    ProcessorAM4 2700
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX KHX3000C15/16GX
    Graphics Card #1RX 580 (Polaris 20) Strix 08C
    MonitorAsus ProArt PA248
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Various 850 Pros + WD Velociraptor
    CPU CoolerWraith Spire LED
    CaseDefine R6
    Power SupplySupernova 850 T2
    Keyboard G810
    Mouse Asus Glad II Origin
    Headset Steelseries Arctis 5
    Mouse Pad Razer Firefly
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion II
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterTP Link C5400
    Accessory #1 Orbi Pro back-bone

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Why two ?

    Why is there two ATA/ATAPI devices on this mobo, with one being forced into a Microsoft only driver?
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Crosshair VII Hero.jpg  


  8. #18
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array bigtop1967 PC Specs
    bigtop1967 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4266C19D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1XFX Raadeon RX 580 8GB Black Edition
    Monitor2 x Acer CB241HQK
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 NVME
    Storage #22 x SanDisk Ultra II
    CPU CoolerCoolMaster Masterliquid 240
    CaseAero 500
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850
    Mouse Microsoft Mobile Wireless 4000
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS
    bigtop1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    91

    Quote Originally Posted by YourMainDude View Post
    Why is there two ATA/ATAPI devices on this mobo, with one being forced into a Microsoft only driver?
    Not sure - mine isn't like this - I have 2 Standard SATA AHCI Controller listed

    My first port of call would be to check the SATA settings in the bios, make sure they are both set to the same thing.

    There should be 2 controllers though...

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Hey everyone,

    Is it normal for a 30-35 second boot time? Windows loads up very quickly, but BIOS on the other hand seems to take forever. It takes 15-20 seconds to post the graphic card, and another 10-15 seconds to show the BIOS splash screen. Otherwise, the system hasn't shown any instabilities so far, but I feel the system can load up BIOS/post much faster. Any info would be appreciated.

    Crosshair Hero VII Wifi (0601 Bios)
    Ryzen 2700x
    16gb Gskill @ 3200mhz
    M.2 NVME Samsung 960 Evo (Win 10)
    GTX 1060 3gb

    Thanks!

  10. #20
    Banned Array YourMainDude PC Specs
    YourMainDude PC Specs
    MotherboardCrossfire VII Hero
    ProcessorAM4 2700
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX KHX3000C15/16GX
    Graphics Card #1RX 580 (Polaris 20) Strix 08C
    MonitorAsus ProArt PA248
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Various 850 Pros + WD Velociraptor
    CPU CoolerWraith Spire LED
    CaseDefine R6
    Power SupplySupernova 850 T2
    Keyboard G810
    Mouse Asus Glad II Origin
    Headset Steelseries Arctis 5
    Mouse Pad Razer Firefly
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion II
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterTP Link C5400
    Accessory #1 Orbi Pro back-bone

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by OnepunchGus View Post
    Hey everyone,

    Is it normal for a 30-35 second boot time? Windows loads up very quickly, but BIOS on the other hand seems to take forever. It takes 15-20 seconds to post the graphic card, and another 10-15 seconds to show the BIOS splash screen. Otherwise, the system hasn't shown any instabilities so far, but I feel the system can load up BIOS/post much faster. Any info would be appreciated.

    Crosshair Hero VII Wifi (0601 Bios)
    Ryzen 2700x
    16gb Gskill @ 3200mhz
    M.2 NVME Samsung 960 Evo (Win 10)
    GTX 1060 3gb

    Thanks!
    I'm running a 960 Pro Nvme and seeing the same 30-35 with a reasonable amount of services loading at cold start. I presume the slow boot strap is due to Asus being prudent on all POST conditions. It 's about 10 seconds longer than what I was accustomed to on my retired Intel 6800K machine but in the bigger scheme of things - what's 10 more seconds compared to what we once endured with traditional HDD's? I'm willing to bet we'll see an improvement in boot time with a BIOS update down-the-road.

    I will say this though, the resume from Sleep and Hibernate is greased lighting on this board.

Page 2 of 16 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •