Page 4 of 17 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 14 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 169
  1. #31
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array bigtop1967 PC Specs
    bigtop1967 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 3900X
    Memory (part number)Patriot Steel 4400CL19 @ 3733CL16
    Graphics Card #1XFX Radeon RX 580 8GB Black Edition
    Monitor2 x Acer CB241HQK
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200NP 480GB
    Storage #22 x SanDisk Ultra II
    CPU CoolerFractal Design S36 AIO
    CaseThermaltake Green Riing Core X5 EATX PC Gaming Cube
    Power SupplyEVGA G3 Gold
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 RGB MK.2 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Cherry mx brown
    Mouse Microsoft Mobile Wireless 4000
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS
    bigtop1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    95

    Quote Originally Posted by akarabamba View Post
    Do we know when we can wait for better RAM compatibility?We bought a top product for it's category and we still waiting for many things half a year after launch.Why?When someone gives his money for a premium product he waits for good support also.Am i wrong?
    I have the Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB DDR4-3466MHz (CMR16GX4M2C3466C16).I don't think that my RAM kit is not so popular/good or something.And not only for that kit.We still waiting for better RAM compatibility in general.Also as many other people said we waiting for new AGESA.
    Do your job please.
    This was posted the other day on OCN: Please note that this came from Elmor who is a hardware engineer, but he (kindly) does pass our problems on to the relevant people. This is all the information he has just now. There are many reports of problems with version 1004 so they are waiting for the next code release from AMD to avoid the bugs.


    BIOS/AGESA update

    There are issues with the newer AGESA versions which requires additional patching, QVL and user advisories. The current plan is to base next release on 1.0.0.6 which is not yet available from AMD/AMI. Hopefully it will be ready end of September or early October.

    SIO/Fan issues summary

    - Caused by software accessing the SIO for temp/voltage/fan readings
    - AIDA64/AiSuite/CPU-Z/HWInfo/SIV are all affected to various degrees
    - Without any monitoring software running, the fans should work as expected
    - The fix is to let the monitoring software rely on an ACPI WMI BIOS interface for safe access
    - The current ACPI WMI implementation still has issues, I'm waiting for a fully working beta BIOS
    - After a fully working BIOS with ACPI WMI is released, all monitoring software is required to use the new interface
    - If a monitoring software is not using the new interface, it will still cause issues

  2. #32
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    994

    Quote Originally Posted by akarabamba View Post
    Do we know when we can wait for better RAM compatibility?We bought a top product for it's category and we still waiting for many things half a year after launch.Why?When someone gives his money for a premium product he waits for good support also.Am i wrong?
    I have the Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB DDR4-3466MHz (CMR16GX4M2C3466C16).I don't think that my RAM kit is not so popular/good or something.And not only for that kit.We still waiting for better RAM compatibility in general.Also as many other people said we waiting for new AGESA.
    Do your job please.
    CMR16GX4M2C3466C16 AFAIK is 2x 8GB Single sided/rank Samsung B die RAM. If you can't get 3466MHz it is your settings/CPU IMC holding you back and not the motherboard/UEFI.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  3. #33
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    CMR16GX4M2C3466C16 AFAIK is 2x 8GB Single sided/rank Samsung B die RAM. If you can't get 3466MHz it is your settings/CPU IMC holding you back and not the motherboard/UEFI.
    Are you sure?My settings are all at default.I'm using the 2700x with the board but i haven't overclocked it or something.
    I tried everything i could with no luck.I have tried DOCP with both of preloaded memory profiles at 3466 and my pc can't even boot.When i use DOCP (3466) and all the other settings at default my pc can boot but it's not stable and i'm getting random blue screens.And i have the same result (pc can boot but getting blue screens) when i'm giving the following RAM timings manually.
    CAS - 16
    RCD - 18
    RP - 18
    RAS - 36
    RC - 54
    FAW - 39
    RRDS - 7
    RRDL - 9

    Only when i'm running at 3200 i dont have any kind of problem.If you know something and you can help me,please enlighten me.
    Last edited by akarabamba; 09-09-2018 at 04:03 PM.

  4. #34
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    994

    In post 3 is a section containing useful links, use Thaiphoon Burner to confirm you have Samsung B Die RAM IC.

    From you stating the board does not post when attempting 3466MHz you need to tweak ProcODT and perhaps some other settings.

    F4-3200C14D-16GTZ on UEFI 0601 doing 3466MHz

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4.075 1.287 0.968 1.37 0.687 HCI PASS 540% room 19.9C.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	666.1 KB 
ID:	75658

    F4-3200C14D-16GVK on UEFI 0601 doing 3466MHz

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	HCI end pass 250% 4.1 1.318 0.968 3466S 1.37 0.687 53.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	641.0 KB 
ID:	75659

    I can also show you screen shots of those RAM kits on UEFI 0702 and 0804. Besides HCI passes I have also P95 / RealBench / Y-Cruncher, etc.

    Here is another screen shot but of Crosshair VI Hero doing 3466MHz using F4-3200C14D-16GVK with same 2700X as used on Crosshair VII Hero.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	HCI 4.1 1.318 0.987 1.37 0.687 PASS 200%.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	656.1 KB 
ID:	75660

    IMO depending on CPU IMC >2933MHz you will need to tweak settings like ProcODT, CAD Bus, DRAM timings, etc.

    I would load The Stilt 3466MHz timings, then set SOC manually at 1.05V, pick RAM frequency 3333MHz, see if board post, if it does not change ProcODT. Try 48 or 53.3 or 60 and see which allows post and report back .
    Last edited by gupsterg; 09-09-2018 at 06:11 PM.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  5. #35
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Screenshot from Thaiphoon Burner about my RAM kit
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ram.png 
Views:	1 
Size:	40.3 KB 
ID:	75678

    I tried with Stilt's 3466MHz timings as you said with every possible combination of :SOC auto and manually* at 1.05V, RAM frequency 3333MHz/3466MHz, ProcODT auto/48/53.3/60 and the result was the same.Couldn't even boot to OS.
    Then i tried with Ryzen DRAM calculator timings.With the timings i got from it my PC could boot to OS but it was again unstable with blue screens.I tried the alternative timings also.
    Also i tried all the above under AI Overclock Tuner: DOCP/Auto and manual.

    Ryzen DRAM Calculator timings
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.png 
Views:	1 
Size:	63.2 KB 
ID:	75679

    * When i try to give manual SOC Voltage i'm getting a "VDDSOC Voltage Override" sub menu.Is there where i give the SOC voltage,right?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1(1).jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	443.9 KB 
ID:	75680

  6. #36
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    994

    Yes you have Samsung B die RAM IC on dimms, it is single sided/rank configuration, so you have the most favoured RAM IC and configuration.

    Yes when you change "CPU SOC Voltage mode" to "Manual mode" you will gain the submenu and you enter voltage within it. If you place a USB memory stick in a port and press F12, a screenshot will be saved for you on it.

    It seems to me from the experimentation with the RTT settings that they aided you. Regardless of which RTT setting the RZQ x will equal resistance value below (Note all RTT settings do not have all Ω).

    RZQ 1 240Ω
    RZQ 2 120Ω
    RZQ 3 80Ω
    RZQ 4 60Ω
    RZQ 5 48Ω
    RZQ 6 40Ω
    RZQ 7 34Ω

    Some of the timings seem to me too tight and others loose in the screenshot of calculator. Perhaps leave RTTnom/wr [Auto] and try RTTpark RZQ 4. CAD Bus of 20 maybe too low, but then again I've seen some lower it, I myself lose stability on 3 sets of 2x8GB RAM I have used on 2700X/C7H.

    IIRC there is also 3266MHz, are you able to gain that with stability at POST and OS? I would be systematic in your approach to gain RAM MHz. As you can see in post 1 I went for 3200MHz first to gain experience and moved forward from there.

    As you can tell there are a plethora of settings which could help you stabilise your setup (ProcODT, RTT, VTT, etc). So do make notes, try and change only a setting and see how it affects the system. As you see which one setting improves stability, you may find combining a few nails the target RAM MHz.

    I always aim to get SOC/VDIMM/ProcODT, etc correct for target RAM MHz before going for tightened timings.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  7. #37
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I'm tired with try and error all the time.If i knew that i must be an expert at RAM timings to run my RAM kit properly i could bought a lower budget board.But i will keep it in mind for the next time.As i said again,when i'm buying something top for it's category i'm expecting good support as well.I'm not posting this a week after launch but near half a year.And you can't say that i'm expecting everything ready 'n' go from ASUS.I tried,and i tried a lot.
    Anyway...thanks for trying to help me.

  8. #38
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    994

    I am sorry to read you have given up. There are plenty of reasons why the C7H is a better purchase than another motherboard, if you can not see those then again I am sorry for you.

    I have 10 sticks of Samsung B die here, I can not get 3533MHz stable. As far as I am concerned it is not the board or UEFI, nor lack of knowing what settings to tweak, but purely the CPU IMC is weaker than some others have.

    Overclocking is never "guaranteed" by manufacturer, may that be ASUS or AMD and or any other. Hopefully a later release of UEFI will gain you want you want easier, but I do not know, sorry.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  9. #39
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    I have been trying everything to set my memory to any of the profiles provided but nothing is stable. System will just stay locked or not boot.

    Been running the memory at default since i got it and it will be a waste if i do get what i paid for. Could someone please help me out. Tyvm

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mem.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	282.5 KB 
ID:	75808

  10. #40
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    994

    Sorry at the time of me reading your post the forum is not allowing me to see enlarged images :/ . If I have read it correctly you are using 16GB dimm, dual sided/rank. Even though they are Samsung B die the presets within Extreme Tweaker > DRAM Timings Control > Memory presets are for single rank/sided dimms (ie 8GB).

    Please can you confirm the Part Number in Thaiphoon Burner?
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

Page 4 of 17 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 14 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •