Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array Village PC Specs
    Village PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair V Formula-Z
    ProcessorAMD FX-9590
    Graphics Card #1Radeon RX 480 8GB
    MonitorMSI Optix G24C
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H100i
    CaseThermaltake Commander G42 (Window)
    Power SupplyThermaltake Smart Pro RGB 750w Bronze Fully Modular
    Keyboard Gamdias Ares
    Mouse Gamdias Ourea
    Headset/Speakers Turtle Beach XO One
    OS Windows 10 64-bit

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Question Computer freeze but doesn't log it

    So I've been having this problem for a good month or so and it's been really pissing me off. My computer will randomly freeze and I have to completely turn it off by holding the power button (or pressing the reset button). I have literally checked everything: Reliability Monitor, Event Viewer, I went to run and typed in "perfmon/report", I reinstalled windows, I flashed my BIOS then reflashed it thinking maybe the one I used before could have somehow been corrupted. I cannot find any evidence of a log that reports my problem. It doesn't seem to matter what I'm doing (playing a game, watching youtube, transferring files, listening to spotify, etc). Also I'm not sure if this has something to do with it but my motherboard sometimes shows the QCODE 00 and won't boot then I have to take out the CMOS batter for like 30 seconds and put it back in. Also when the computer does freeze I can't push "Caps Lock" or "Num Lock", sometimes I'll be listening to Spotify and my music stops when the computer freeze's so I know the freeze is unrecoverable. I monitored my temps and nothing is overheating, I monitored my cpu, gpu and ram usage, nothing is spiking right before the computer freezes so its not a memory leak. One time it froze 9 times in a row with around 10-20 minutes passing before each freeze and other times I'll go a full 4-8 hour gaming session without a single freeze.

    Computer Specs:
    CPU: AMD FX-9590
    MOBO: Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z
    GPU: Radeon RX 480 8G Edition
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance Pro 4x4GB
    PSU: Thermaltake Smart Pro RGB 750w Bronze Fully Modular
    120GB SSD (Literally only holds Windows 10 and Drivers)
    500GB HDD
    700GB HDD
    1TB Exteranl HDD
    Last edited by Village; 04-26-2018 at 05:05 PM. Reason: Wrong version of RAM

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(3) SSD's - Samsung 960 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    1,002

    In my experience that's a RAM issue. Are you overclocking? Try running at stock speeds. Also try 1 or 2 sticks only.

  3. #3
    ROG Junior Member Array Village PC Specs
    Village PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair V Formula-Z
    ProcessorAMD FX-9590
    Graphics Card #1Radeon RX 480 8GB
    MonitorMSI Optix G24C
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H100i
    CaseThermaltake Commander G42 (Window)
    Power SupplyThermaltake Smart Pro RGB 750w Bronze Fully Modular
    Keyboard Gamdias Ares
    Mouse Gamdias Ourea
    Headset/Speakers Turtle Beach XO One
    OS Windows 10 64-bit

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by davemon50 View Post
    In my experience that's a RAM issue. Are you overclocking? Try running at stock speeds. Also try 1 or 2 sticks only.
    I am not overclocking anything but I will try with 2 sticks of ram cuz I still need my ram to play my games

  4. #4
    ROG Junior Member Array Village PC Specs
    Village PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair V Formula-Z
    ProcessorAMD FX-9590
    Graphics Card #1Radeon RX 480 8GB
    MonitorMSI Optix G24C
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H100i
    CaseThermaltake Commander G42 (Window)
    Power SupplyThermaltake Smart Pro RGB 750w Bronze Fully Modular
    Keyboard Gamdias Ares
    Mouse Gamdias Ourea
    Headset/Speakers Turtle Beach XO One
    OS Windows 10 64-bit

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by davemon50 View Post
    In my experience that's a RAM issue. Are you overclocking? Try running at stock speeds. Also try 1 or 2 sticks only.
    I ran the Windows Memory Diagnostics yesterday and it didn't detect any problems, another guy on Toms Hardware (I posted on there too) said that it could be my psu and another guy there said it could be caps on the motherboard or the mosfets.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •