Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array masterac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    150

    looking for ram that work on the zenith ( out of the box)

    asus list of ram is from october 2017, they don't even bother to keep it updated, i am looking for a kit of 64, that is higher than 3000mhz, if it doesnt i can go lower to 2933, so anyone got some idea ?

    thx

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    64GB CL14 3200 4x16 what I searched and bought. That should be Samsung B, but might still require little tweaking to get the at least some of the cost out of them, heck seems to be even more expensive now.

    Oh and in BIOS Command rate 2T for stability (also disable AMD's geardown mode) and that is how the memory is tested anyway.
    Last edited by Wobbler; 04-28-2018 at 10:39 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array masterac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    150

    Quote Originally Posted by Wobbler View Post
    64GB CL14 3200 4x16 what I searched and bought. That should be Samsung B, but might still require little tweaking to get the at least some of the cost out of them, heck seems to be even more expensive now.

    Oh and in BIOS Command rate 2T for stability (also disable AMD's geardown mode) and that is how the memory is tested anyway.

    can you be more precise, whats the brand, what option in the bios are you talking about

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Any brand you can get/cheapest/good warranty reputation as long as it's 4 sticks("easy for memory controller") and CL14 3200Mhz (Samsung B memory modules for "better" support). Should not be too many to choose from.

    and let's see.. in BIOS
    ->extreme tweaker->Dram timing control->scroll down...-> Gear Down Mode = off -> Cmd2T=2T

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array masterac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    150

    Quote Originally Posted by Wobbler View Post
    Any brand you can get/cheapest/good warranty reputation as long as it's 4 sticks("easy for memory controller") and CL14 3200Mhz (Samsung B memory modules for "better" support). Should not be too many to choose from.

    and let's see.. in BIOS
    ->extreme tweaker->Dram timing control->scroll down...-> Gear Down Mode = off -> Cmd2T=2T
    this is where you wrong, not any ram can work on this board, i know for a fact because i have 64g that can go up to 3600mhz, samsung die...and still i get bsod.

    i will reformulate my question if you didn't understand the first time

    WHAT is the brand YOU are using, spec and all ?
    its not a trick question, at this point i don't care if i don't get some ram that work at 3600 ( maximum of the board, i just want something in the 64 area, that WORK.

    if you don't get bsod, get a setup stable in any game ,software and all, thats what i am after, is it a state secret ? why can't you it precisely ?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    F4-3600C17Q-64GTZR would be 4x16GB. Each dimm would be dual rank/sided, you'd be using 4 channels. For that RAM configuration officially 2400MHz is what Threadripper supports.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sTR4 stock RAM speeds.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	63.7 KB 
ID:	73707

    IMO it's sorta not surprising 3600MHz is not working on [Auto] / "out of the box" for you, it is 50% OC taking official supported speed of RAM config in use.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Cory29 PC Specs
    Cory29 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Zenith extreme x399
    Processor1950x
    Memory (part number)G Skill F4-3200C16-8GTZ - 64gb
    Graphics Card #1GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 980 Ti WF
    Monitorcintiq 22hd touch
    Storage #1Sam SSD 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU Coolerxspc block - D5 - 3x120 slim rad
    CaseView 71 (doesn't fit board)
    Power SupplyEVGA supernova 1000G3
    Keyboard K95

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    131

    I have 8 x G-skill F4-3200C16-8GTZ (duel rank)
    only stable oc at 2933 .. i am able to boot beyond but some scenarios cause crashes (maybe my settings but I have been unable to be stable beyond 2933)
    with only 2 sticks 16 gb I can hit the 3200

    **16gb sticks seem to be even more touchy on this board -- xmp settings do not convert over as easily as you would expect you still need manually adjust voltages and stuff
    ** I haven't played with more then 2 sticks but I was stuck at 2133 with what I had
    (don't remember the model # but it was gskill it was months ago)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •