Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: RMA Worthwhile

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    RMA Worthwhile

    So a year into this I've got a launch day 1800x and C6H. They still give me regular failures to post or boot (most often seeming to post, getting to the splash screen then locking at what should be the handoff to OS with 0d qcode), and recently got WORSE (not directly timed with a BIOS update). 6004 and these further problems led me to break down and try some G.Skill FlareX from the QVl, but this STILL fails to reliably post at stock settings, adding the lovely tendency to every few days, under light load randomly hard reset (I haven't run this ram through a full memtest yet, so it's vaguely possible that it's defective, but the post issues aren't new).

    Should I just RMA the board at this point?
    Last edited by Bureaucromancer; 04-28-2018 at 01:55 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    135

    no buy a 2700x and sell your 1800x.... spend more time in the bios. this is amd computing on the cheap. you need to do some work to get it working right... mine has had its fair share of boot issues with the ram but i loved getting it to work right in the end. dont give up...good luck with it!
    AsusCrosshairVIHero - 2700x@4.30Ghz~1.373v
    32Gb G.Skill RGB Trident 16gb3466Mhz + 16gb4266Mhz DDR4@3466mhz
    Titan Xp
    1TbSamsung960EVO M.2 1TbSamsung850EVO SSD Seagate2TB/3Tb CorsairForceGt 64gb
    TTtoughpower1200w80
    Thermaltake Core X71 Tempered glass side panal

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Sad to read that some issues I have with the CH VII are also present with the ancestor CH VI. AFAIK I reduced the RAM speed and was able to get past the hangup accompanied by code 0d. It still is far from stable though..

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array VRBabe81 PC Specs
    VRBabe81 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VI Hero X370
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 Hybrid
    Monitor22" LG 1080p
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500gb
    Storage #2SEAGATE 2TB 7200RPM
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR H100i V2 AIO
    CaseFRACTAL DESIGN DEFINE R5 Titanium
    Power SupplyCORSAIR HX850W 80+ Platinum
    Keyboard MICROSOFT
    Mouse ALIENWARE
    Headset SONY H.ear On MDR-100ABN Pink
    Mouse Pad ALIENWARE
    OS MICROSOFT Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 OCULUS Rift With Touch
    VRBabe81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    66

    It's obvious that the board has severe issues like usb ports can't handle extension cables and onboard ethernet has speed problems too and cpu voltage is off so is dram. Only reason why I chose this board was for its usb 3.0 ports for vr and I can't even use them because they show up as usb 2.0 when I use extension cables. The crosshair vi hero has so many bugs that I think asus are using us as beta testers.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •