Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Jumping PSU

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array wpwatkins PC Specs
    wpwatkins PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero IX
    ProcessorIntel i7-7700K
    Memory (part number)16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000 mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0 SC+ w/Back Plate
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0 SC+ w/Back Plate
    MonitorAOC 2757
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop D5 Pump, EK-EVO Water Block, 2 Thermaltake VGA Waterblocks, EK-SE 360 and EK-SE 240 rads
    CaseThermaltake Core V31
    Power SupplyCorsair CX750
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 5
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Jumping PSU

    I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right forum but here goes... I was filling my new water loop and left the 8 Pin 12v cable (for CPU) connected while I jumped the 24 pin. Does anyone know if that could damage the CPU? I have noticed higher temps since I expanded my loop to include my 2 GPU's. I'm running on an EK-SE 240 Slim and EK-SE 360 Slim. Should be more than enough to displace the heat generated.

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,586

    Shouldn't matter. That extra connection is only used when power is needed. It's not going to push any excess power through the board or CPU.

    Your higher temps are simply because you are dumping more heat into the loop. If you really think the rads are under performing you might have an air bubble. You could try tipping the case over in a different orientation.

    Also you may want to add a flow meter. Perhaps your pump is having issues or you have too much restriction for the pump to overcome.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array wpwatkins PC Specs
    wpwatkins PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero IX
    ProcessorIntel i7-7700K
    Memory (part number)16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000 mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0 SC+ w/Back Plate
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0 SC+ w/Back Plate
    MonitorAOC 2757
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop D5 Pump, EK-EVO Water Block, 2 Thermaltake VGA Waterblocks, EK-SE 360 and EK-SE 240 rads
    CaseThermaltake Core V31
    Power SupplyCorsair CX750
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 5
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Great thanks!

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    498
    Posts
    13,531

    If you left the 8 pin plugged in, the CPU will have been heating up as you filled the loop right...if it received cooling pretty quick, then I should imagine it's fine...if it was sat there with no cooling it wont have been happy...did the system shut down at any point?

    However, this will not have any bearing on temps...I mean, it's not a sign of a damaged CPU that you have higher CPU temps now...
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 05-02-2018 at 08:29 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array wpwatkins PC Specs
    wpwatkins PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero IX
    ProcessorIntel i7-7700K
    Memory (part number)16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000 mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0 SC+ w/Back Plate
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0 SC+ w/Back Plate
    MonitorAOC 2757
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop D5 Pump, EK-EVO Water Block, 2 Thermaltake VGA Waterblocks, EK-SE 360 and EK-SE 240 rads
    CaseThermaltake Core V31
    Power SupplyCorsair CX750
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 5
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I cycled the PSU on and off for seconds at a time until the loop was full, after the loop was full I let it run for a couple of minutes to get any big air bubbles out. The computer works fine with the exception of temps of a few C higher than before, which would be explained buy adding two GTX 980 Ti's to the loop.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •