Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Crosshair vi Extreme no monitor in bios

    hey not sure if anyone else has been having and issue with this.

    after my initial install and bios setup, anytime i reboot to make a tweak in my bios my monitors wont turn on until the windows 10 login screen is there. i can see by the qcode that its loading the bios when i try but my monitors just wont come on.

    system is running fine other than i cant get into the bios.

    running 6004

    dual 1080Ti strix asus cards.

    any ideas?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    121

    Using DP or HDMI?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by blackbishop View Post
    using dp or hdmi?
    hdmi

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    121

    That may be it. I remember people had the same problem. Either it was other ports connected (DVI or DP?) and output priority problem or GPU init order. First you may try using second GPU or use DP. I'm not sure if in BIOS there were dedicated options for it. I remember when CMS was used it was different.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    My gpus are setup in sli. Should I try removing the bridge? I also tried booting with monitors plugged into random ports through the 2 cards. Even tried a DP to HDMI dongle and still nothing until windows login comes up. I need to check if my monitors even have a dvi port on them to try it that way. I don’t think they do though.*

    I also haven’t tried clearing cmos. Wasn’t sure if that would do anything in this case. *

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    121

    Could you remove one GPU (leave the one in top slot) and make sure you have output via HDMI? Then check BIOS if there are any GPU boot order options.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBishop View Post
    Could you remove one GPU (leave the one in top slot) and make sure you have output via HDMI? Then check BIOS if there are any GPU boot order options.
    yup. I can Try that.*

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Ok so that worked. I didn’t see any other settings I can change to make it stop happening. After I put the 2nd card back it was doing the same thing. Any ideas?

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array SaLSouL PC Specs
    SaLSouL PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700x
    Memory (part number)trident RGB CL16 3200mhz 32GB
    Graphics Card #1MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardAstro A50 Wireless
    MonitorPhillips BDM4037U 40" 4k UHD Monitor
    Storage #1samsung 850 pro raid 0
    Storage #2WD Black 1tb Raid 0
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCoolermaster Cosmos 2
    Power SupplyCorsair ax 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar RGB Pro
    Headset Astro A50 Gaming Wireless
    Mouse Pad corsair massive
    OS Win 10 x64 pro
    Network RouterAsus AC-3200
    SaLSouL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    220

    this worked for me it may help

    Quote Originally Posted by sallyboy13 View Post
    Ok so that worked. I didn’t see any other settings I can change to make it stop happening. After I put the 2nd card back it was doing the same thing. Any ideas?
    Ive has something similar to me happen.

    how I fixed it was

    Power off PC > at wall
    remove all monitor cables only DP,hdmi dvi. make sure none are plugged in.

    power on the PC (once only) let it search for an output you should get beep> power off pc at wall again.

    Plugin HDMI,DP,DVI and power on PC. it should now allow you to see the bios at boot.

    if the settings are lost during restart,

    Go into BIOS and navigate to boot settings > CSM compatibility> turn that on to ENABLE and reboot.

    I think the culprit is a monitor that doesn't support UEFI booting. ( just a theory)

    Hope that helps

    Sal

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Awesome.*

    I’ll give that a shot

    Thanks!*

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •