Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    ROG Strix GL702VI freezes at startup!

    Hi.
    I noticed this problem first time few weeks ago when i bought new ROG Strix GL702VI WB74.

    I found some post online which saying that windows fast start up can cause that problem. So i turned it off. Problem disappeared, at least i thought it disappeared until it started freezing again yesterday and today.

    Simply when ROG logo should shows up at start I get plenty small logos over the screen and it freezes in that position.
    I need to force shut down. After that it comes on normally.

    So, obviously windows fast start up is not a culprit.

    This is how it looks:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180417_220611.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	369.7 KB 
ID:	73613

    After forcing shut down and start computer again it starts normally:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180417_220751.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	368.9 KB 
ID:	73614


    This doesn't happens often. In these few weeks happened maybe 5 or 6 times in total.... but still it doesn't look good.

    Any idea?

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Anyone ???????

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    204

    woah that first screen is a little scary. definitely a hardware issue. Does it only happen on cold boots? meaning the system itself has been off for hours and all the components are cold..

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by FastM View Post
    woah that first screen is a little scary. definitely a hardware issue. Does it only happen on cold boots? meaning the system itself has been off for hours and all the components are cold..
    Yes

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I'm having the same problem! Sometimes, like once out of ten times, that screen with multiple ROG logos shows up and it evolves to mirrored windows 10 login screens showing side by side.
    Some other times I get a normal startup screen and after the ROG icon fades the screen get black and a few seconds later even the screen backlight turns of. In the second case with the black screen I can still hear windows sounds but no image. Is there a way to fix this by myself or should I contact ASUS assistance?
    Thank you

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    120

    Quote Originally Posted by Considera View Post
    I'm having the same problem! Sometimes, like once out of ten times, that screen with multiple ROG logos shows up and it evolves to mirrored windows 10 login screens showing side by side.
    Some other times I get a normal startup screen and after the ROG icon fades the screen get black and a few seconds later even the screen backlight turns of. In the second case with the black screen I can still hear windows sounds but no image. Is there a way to fix this by myself or should I contact ASUS assistance?
    Thank you
    You have to contact ASUS. Don't hesitate to give ASUS a call or via online-chat.

    Have you installed latest BIOS?

    I've seen such problem when changed BIOS for desktop VGA card: initial voltages that breaktrhough circuit board are not enough (juuuust a liitle).

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Same problem here with ROG GL703VM.
    Contacted Asus and they told me to reinstall windows...
    Obviously it didnt fix anything

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    how did you solve your problem?

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    204

    I agree with McRoy, to me this is a problem with power delivery that “could” be fixed with a bios update but most likely a hardware defect.

    The way i see it, there is a bad connection somewhere that needs time to heat up (expand) before it fixes itself. Not sure if you can but If my laptop did that more then once it would be sent back immidiatly.*

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array FULLMETALJACKET7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    409

    Looks like bad VRAM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •