Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array letrasenumeros PC Specs
    letrasenumeros PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus X Hero (UEFI 2301)
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD16GX4M2B3466C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512 GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H100i PRO
    CaseCorsair Graphite 600T
    Power SupplyCorsair HX750i
    Keyboard Razer Cyclosa
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite
    Headset/Speakers Logitech X-540 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Home x64
    Accessory #1 Samsung SH-S183L DVDW

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    17

    First cold boot always fails

    I am using the latest UEFI with default settings, except for setting XMP.
    After setting XMP, the first cold boot always fails. Then, at second cold boot everything is just fine.
    So I disabled the XMP option, setting the DRAM speed, voltage and timings manually. The problem persists.
    After some troubleshooting, I discovered that the problem occurs when setting the DRAM clock at 3.000MHz or higher.
    Any ideas how to solve this?


    Asus ROG Maximus X Hero (1301)
    Intel Core i7-8700K
    Corsair Dominator Platinum 3.466 C16 (CMD16GX4M2B3466C16)
    Asus ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070

  2. #2
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    If the system is passing on second attempt, you can try tuning SA/IO voltages. If that doesn't work, then you'll need to tune timings. As a last resort, you can try enabling fast boot (after successful POST) within the DRAM timing menu of UEFI.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array letrasenumeros PC Specs
    letrasenumeros PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus X Hero (UEFI 2301)
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD16GX4M2B3466C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512 GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H100i PRO
    CaseCorsair Graphite 600T
    Power SupplyCorsair HX750i
    Keyboard Razer Cyclosa
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite
    Headset/Speakers Logitech X-540 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Home x64
    Accessory #1 Samsung SH-S183L DVDW

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    If the system is passing on second attempt, you can try tuning SA/IO voltages. If that doesn't work, then you'll need to tune timings. As a last resort, you can try enabling fast boot (after successful POST) within the DRAM timing menu of UEFI.
    Thank you, Raja!
    Wich voltages ranges do you recommend?
    And what about the boot voltages menu?

  4. #4
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,454

    Because of the memory frequency, you shouldn't need more than 1.30V for the SA and IO. You'll need to experiment because these rails can be sensitive to changes (too much voltage can result in instability). For the BOOT voltages menu, you can try adding 50mV (0.05V) to DRAM Voltage, too.

    -Raja

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array letrasenumeros PC Specs
    letrasenumeros PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus X Hero (UEFI 2301)
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD16GX4M2B3466C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512 GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H100i PRO
    CaseCorsair Graphite 600T
    Power SupplyCorsair HX750i
    Keyboard Razer Cyclosa
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite
    Headset/Speakers Logitech X-540 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Home x64
    Accessory #1 Samsung SH-S183L DVDW

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Because of the memory frequency, you shouldn't need more than 1.30V for the SA and IO. You'll need to experiment because these rails can be sensitive to changes (too much voltage can result in instability). For the BOOT voltages menu, you can try adding 50mV (0.05V) to DRAM Voltage, too.

    -Raja
    I reduced the automatic voltages and it worked!
    After some more tunning I will post the results.
    Thank you!

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array letrasenumeros PC Specs
    letrasenumeros PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus X Hero (UEFI 2301)
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD16GX4M2B3466C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512 GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H100i PRO
    CaseCorsair Graphite 600T
    Power SupplyCorsair HX750i
    Keyboard Razer Cyclosa
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite
    Headset/Speakers Logitech X-540 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Home x64
    Accessory #1 Samsung SH-S183L DVDW

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    17

    The only voltage that I needed to tune was the CPU VCCIO as bellow.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	190.5 KB 
ID:	85013

    The first cold boot attempt would fail with any value above this.

    I´m comming back to this thread after all this time because I updated the BIOS to the version 2301. As the problem persists in the new version, I had to find out again this setting.

  7. #7
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    127
    Posts
    1,873

    Quote Originally Posted by letrasenumeros View Post
    The only voltage that I needed to tune was the CPU VCCIO as bellow.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	190.5 KB 
ID:	85013

    The first cold boot attempt would fail with any value above this.

    I´m comming back to this thread after all this time because I updated the BIOS to the version 2301. As the problem persists in the new version, I had to find out again this setting.
    Hello,

    Yes, an updated UEFI isn't likely going to solve the issue as what voltage is needed depends on the individual CPU.

    Best to make notes, or if the platform supports profiles across UEFI builds, make OC profiles.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •